So Dreamy

Everyone knows I love Maybelline’s Dream Mousse Blush.  Today while I was browsing at Target waiting for my prescription I saw that Rimmel had something called 8 HR Mousse Blush.  They had a few colors, but the one that caught  my eye was #005 Frozen Cherry.  It looked almost like an exact dupe for my Dream Mousse in #25 Rose Petal.

From left to right : Maybelline Dream Mouse in Rose Petal and Rimmel 8HR Mousse Blush in Frozen Cherry

Seems the lighting in the store was a little off, but when I got it home and popped it open I loved it all the same!  One thing I noticed right away was that it wasn’t shimmery.  The Dream Mouse leaves just a  hint of shimmer.  Sometimes I just want a plain matte face.  The Rimmel 8HR Blush was nice and matte on my swatch.

The Dream Mousse is obviously whipped-y and mousse like, but the Rimmel is more like a thick gel.  Not what I think of when I think mousse.  More pudding like.  I like these types of blushes MUCH better then powders because I hate being over powdered.  My skin just isn’t suited for layers of powder, which is why I tend to shy away from an all mineral makeup face.

From left to right : Rimmel 8Hr Mousse Blush and Maybelline Dream Mousse Blush

While the color wasn’t what I thought it would be, I do love it.  It’s a bit deeper, more of a clear color rather then the dusty of the rose.  I put it on when I was home from Target this morning at about 9:30 and it’s now just after 3:00, so that’s not quite six hours, but it’s almost exactly like I applied it.  The color hasn’t faded and it’s still matte and smooth.  To be honest, I’m not surprised, I really like Rimmel products.  I expected what I got out of this product, a good long lasting blush.

Overall :

6 Responses to “So Dreamy”

  1. Ooh I can’t wait to try this out! I love Rimmel too, it’s sort of an underdog. No one really talks about it. The color is really pretty!

  2. Me too! The liners are amazing! I have a bunch of old ones that I love and are discontinued :o(

  3. I liked the dream matte blush, too, although I hated the foundation. Possibly because I don’t get on with mousse foundations, although I’ve only tried two, I didn’t like either of them.

    I have a Rimmel eyeshadow mousse which looks like the same consistency as your blush, but I’m not so keen on it. It’s like a shimmery white which isn’t as pigmented as I hoped (shimmery whites never are though) and doesn’t apply very well =S

    • I have not SEEN the eyeshadow mousses. Mice? What’s the plural of mousse?

      I like the mousse foundation, but it’s not something I wear everyday. Everyday I’m on an ‘illuminating’ kick wearing a ton of tinted moisturizers. Cause it’s like 100 out, yo.

  4. Haha, I couldn’t cope in that weather, I HATE it hot. I think the plural of mousse is mousse? I’ve never heard anyone say “I bought some chocolate mousseses”

    I didn’t buy them, but ages ago in a copy of Cosmopolitan they gave away a triple free sample, a sachet of the foundation, the blush and the eyeshadow.