In the Shadows

If you follow my blog, I’m sure you caught on that I recently did a bit of a major destash.  I sold all of my MAC loose shadows as well as all of my NYX depots, and most of my Urban Decay palettes.  Many of the other small miscellaneous shadows and palettes I traded away.  I made the choice to move away from commercial shadows as much as I can and focus on loose minerals.  I know they are not for everyone, but they suit me perfectly.  There are a wide variety of honest and super creative companies blending amazing products that I think are far supieror to a lot of the 14$+ shadows you get at the cosmetic counters.

That’s not saying I won’t occasionally slip and get a big name product.  The eyeshadow I’ve been wearing the most has been my MAC Young Punk.  Occasionally something will tempt me, but I also have an extensive raw mica supply as well as enough blending mediums (wax coated micas, matte bases, etc) that if I see a color I really want, chances are I can make it myself.  I DO have a fancy degree in art and a keen eye for color.

I thought I’d share with you a few pictures.  This is my mineral makeup shadow stash.  In the big box are all my ‘original’ shadows, blushes, face powders, and my personal G2 blended shadow stacks.  In the one pink box are all the ‘dupes’ of straight micas I bought that were just repacked and falsely or misleadingly labeled etc etc.  In the other is my carry stash of mica samples.  These are the little samples in baggies left after I’ve either blended in my base, mixed something new all together, or gave some away.  I keep it around so that every time I order I can do a quick check to make sure I didn’t just run into a new repackager.

For an amazing list of companies you can trust, please read Phyrra’s post.

If you have doubts about a company, there are several things you can do to avoid a repackager.  The Mineral Makeup Mutiny is a great place to check first for a list of known offenders as well as a comprehensive checklist of things to look for.

From an artist perspective, buying from a repackager is akin to paying for a forgery.  Companies take the time to create original and quality products, repackagers just stuff some mica in a jar and say they are fabulous and talented for making it. To me, personally, it’s not a matter of paying more for something that you could have gotten for pennies, although that in istelf is incredibly offensive and technically a scam.  It’s the fact that it’s artistic plagerism.  It sullies the entire (ever growing) mineral makeup community.  One bad seller insults the dozens of companies striving to make something new.

I personally prefer mineral shadows for a few reasons:

  • I can be sure they are vegan.
  • I can be sure they do NOT contain crazy additives or carcinogenic preservatives.
  • I’m not supporting a big name company that may or may not have unfair trade practices.
  • I can get an amazing range of colors, shades, styles, and finishes.
  • Applied properly, there is no way to tell the difference between my mineral shadow or a 30$ shade from Dior.
7 Responses to “In the Shadows”

  1. YAY! That’s so awesome. I’m slowly turning to more harm reductionist beliefs, but it’s hard for me to go all the way vegan all the time.

    I completely agree with you. I love to support small businesses.

    I’ve gotten more compliments on my mineral makeup than I ever did on my MAC (though I still love MAC).

    Thank you for linking to me, by the way 😉

    • It’s a slow process, and hard to do in all honesty. You really have to look at yourself and make some tough choices.

      And your welcome, your list is awesome!

  2. Oooh *drools* I love looking at other people’s collections! I have sold or given away most of my ‘normal’ makeup too. I did keep my Urban Decay though…still love those! I think you get such pretty, complex colors from mineral makeup that you cannot get from a pressed shadow. I honestly don’t even like MAC that much (blasphemy!).

    Also, I think its great you will be donated money to the NMCRS!

    • I wasn’t using them, and it felt like I was just hoarding them, so they deserved better homes!!

      For a while I was running out and getting everything I saw posted or heard about, and I wasn’t even using them, so I had a bit of an issue with that as well.

      I’m trying to be more responsible both environmentally and monetarily.

      The NMCRS is near and dear to my heart!

  3. I can’t stop loving MAC. I try, and fail repeatedly. I think I need to get a few more mineral e/s and see if I can learn to like them — the Spell site you linked looks promising, as their packaging appeals even if the navigation is horrendous.

    So Orglamix is big on suing? Didn’t know that. I have a sample of their e/s from a Little Black Box and it’s just a white, so I use it for the inner corners sometimes and that’s it.

    • I like some MAC things. The Dazzleglasses, the Mineralize line, some lipsticks. But the eyeshadows have really never been anything special for me. Even the Fluidline which I thought was amazing isn’t holding it’s own againt the Wet and Wild liner I recently reviewed.

      LOL, yeah, Orglamix has their britches in a twist.

  4. Your collection brings out the Gollum in me: I wants it!

    To me it’s inspirational that you’re letting go of the big brands… I’m pretty suire you won’t regret it with that collection and the ability to make stuff yourself!