Where to Start?

In the past week I’ve gotten over a dozen requests about what I might suggest when placing someone’s first order with TKB Trading. There are, of course, a few other places to get raw mica from, but this specific company had been pushed into the ‘lime’ light.  Considering I have personally ordered from them half a dozen times I have no problems giving a few suggestions.  Keep in mind, I am a mineral makeup novice.  I don’t claim to be a mixing or formulating whiz, but I do have enough knowledge to point you in the right direction to start.

The minimum amount required to order from TKB is 20$.  You will be able to get a LOT of different products from just that first 20$.

My suggestions are :

1- Mica

The site sells over 200 different colored mica with different effects.  Pick a couple of samples you really like.  Unless noted the samples will come in a generous sized baggie that will easily fill about three 5gram jars.  The sparkles and glitters usually only come with a teaspoon, but that’s still really generous of an amount.

2 – A Base

Mica is absolutely fine to use directly as mica for eyeshadow.  You can use it wet or on top of a base.  But to get more wear, more blendability and more even color I would suggest one of their premade bases to blend in.  My personal favorite I use in the shadows I make for myself is Sericite Mica coated with Carnauba Wax.  Some of their bases use silk powders that are not vegan.  I’ve found this coated product makes for a really nice smooth shadow.  You don’t need much, you’ll have to personally experiment with how much you want in your shadow, but I go with about 1:4 ratio.  So one part base per four parts mica.  You could add a few other things to continue to improve your shadows (never kaolin, though) but this is a good start.  I would recommend a sample bag at least.

3 – Jars

You could quite happily work out of your little baggies for a while, but I always seem to get so much fly away and they tend to spill and make a mess no matter how careful I am working with them.  A set of jars makes it easier for you to have a little set of ‘working’ colors, so you don’t have to keep playing with the bags.  I personally prefer the stacking jars, they keep all my color families etc etc in one place and take up less room.  I get the premade set of 4, which is actually 12 jars in three stacks.  You can have separate stacks of glosses and shadows and even blushes.

4 – Gloss Base

My favorite base right now is Versagel ME 750. It’s a lot like MAC Lipglass in consistency.  It’s rather easy to work with on it’s own, but you can always add a few drops of oil in to thin the viscosity.  Personally I use sweet almond or avocado. You can use my tutorial, found here, to make your own endless sets of Lipglass.

Since you’re basically getting this all for yourself and home use, there isn’t much need for fancy spoons or mixers yet.  You can use what you have on hand to measure and be careful to blend well.  Always disinfect your tools with alcohol before you use them and clean them before moving between colors.

So after you have your jars and bases, etc etc, you can fill the rest of your order with more mica.  Good luck!

20 Responses to “Where to Start?”

  1. TKB has wonderful products! I love the Silica Microspheres to mix in with foundation and highlighters, makes everything apply smoothly and lasts all day. I also really like the “More Details” link on all the micas, you can see which ones have Carmine.

    • I was going to suggest the Silica, but so many people were asking about eye shadows specifically and I didn’t want to overwhelm.

      One little bag of Silica costs a minuscule fraction of what MUFE High Def Finishing powder does and it’s the same thing!!

  2. Buy the base to make lipgloss sounds fun…I’ve always just used cheap clear glosses to make mine…I’ve ordered from this company in the past because i use the different mica’s to make nail polishes.

  3. Thanks so much for this! ^^ I want to make a gloss someday (green! *-*) so it’s good to know where to buy the base and see your tutorial! ^^

  4. Thank you so much for this post! This is quite helpful =)

  5. Thank you for this, i’ve just made an order with them because i want to try out making my own stuff and this is really useful!

  6. I’ve actually been mulling over this for two weeks! I don’t wear eyeshadow, but I’m addicted to lip products so it should be fun mixing some up.

    After choosing lip liquids over mica, I couldn’t decide between which colors to get. Now that I’ve seen how pigmented your gloss from the tutorial came out, I think micas are back on the table again… it’s so difficult to choose when there’s so much variety!

    • I love the mica. It gives a depth of color the liquids can’t.

      I made a ton today that I am going to post tomorrow, so maybe you can take a peek and get some ideas!! I went a little crazy and went all out, BUT you can layer them over normal lipsticks as well, so I really think they are worth the effort!!

  7. Wow, thank you so much for posting this!

  8. This is an awesome post, and thank you so much for linking up your tutorials and information on kaolin clay. I kept trying to put together a TKB order and getting overwhelmed, but this makes it seem pretty straightforward.

  9. So glad you mention disinfecting tools with alcohol!

  10. Jill Duncan-Jack November 8, 2011 at 5:42 pm

    I receive my huge order from TKB today. How exciting! I played for hours mixing and perfecting colors. Eye shadows today…Lip gloss tomorrow. Thanks so much for your advice on this, I would have never known where to start without you!
    Jillie

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Mineral Makeup Mutiny | Sparkle and Glitter - November 9, 2009

    […] post “Where to Start“ is an excellent primer for those of us who have realised that actually, it could be quite […]

  2. drift closely » A Very Happy UnBirthday Giveaway - April 20, 2010

    […] her journal is the fact that she shares ideas openly, whether it be some tips on making your own eyeshadows, lip glosses, or sewing up a pair of knickers. 😉 I truly believe in encouraging people to make […]