Morgana Minerals – A Review

Ordering

I’ve been back and forth to the Morgana Mineral’s website for a while. Initially I was turned off by the black background, in general I tend to find websites like that hard to read, and so I just don’t read them.  It was fairly easy to navigate and I didn’t have to search for my cart.  I was on a different site earlier trying to place an order and could NEVER find the “view cart” button or anything like that on the ordering pages, so I skipped it and closed the page.  On the Morgana site you’ll always find your ‘casket’ in the upper left hand corner along with a subtotal.  A lot of sites do that and I love it, I know when to stop adding things!!

After watching this video on how she makes her lipsticks, I knew I wanted to order one to try them out.  I happen to know that those lipstick molds are not cheap, and I like that I can trust she makes her own product.

She sells a large selection of other items as well.  Lots of other makeup and hair dye (although I order mine from the UK now) as well as brushes and few private label things such as gel liners and blushes.

All of her shadows have a bunch of ordering options from samples to larger sized jars and refills.

I ended up ordering:

Lipstick samples of Azalea, Gargoyle, and Shrieking Violet

A full sized tube of Cauldron –  A matte black with silver hologram sparkle. The sparkle looks silver, but changes colors depending on light angles. Hints of green glitter reflect in this picture.

Mineral shadows in :

Skeletons in Your Closet- This color appears purple, sometimes silvery green or pink-lilac depending on the angle.

Transylvania Twist – When used with a good shadow base this is a brilliant purple with an underlayment of black. Without a base or fixative, it is almost black with a hint of purple.

Shipping

My order arrived well packaged in a flat rate mailing box.  I always prefer to get things in a box, I know the envelopes have a tendency to crush and no one likes getting a bunch of broken jars.  I ordered on October 30th and my order arrived on November 9.  I was surprised it arrived so quickly, there was a notice on her site stating :

I am in the process of putting together the Christmas & Pirate Collections.

Orders may take 5-15 business days to ship during November & December.

I was willing to wait if it means I might be able to order something piratey soon.  My items were packaged in the same glittery spider web bag I’d gotten from Meow so I was really happy to get another one.  I can use these buggers year round!  There were no other samples included, which I admit I was hoping for.

There is a minimum order requirement of 20$.  Shipping is free on orders over 50$, all others are about 5$ or less.  There is no additional shipping and handling fee.

The Packaging


The lipstick arrived in a lovely silver tube.  It wasn’t sealed or anything like that but when I twisted it up I could tell it was brand new.  For some reason I have this irrational fear someone else has used anything that isn’t sealed.  The only issue I had was that it wasn’t in the tube straight and it scraped along the inside of the barrel when I twisted it and now it’s got a funny gauge.  In the grand scheme of things, it’s no big deal.

The shadows were both in clear jars, the bottom containing a label with all the product info.  I always appreciate when all the info is included, such as shade name, volume, ingredients, etc etc.  They each weighed about 9grams and the average empty jar with a sifter is about 7grams so that’s nearly 2 grams of product.

The samples were basically little smudges of lipstick in a baggie, which is actually what I expected.  I’m not sure how I’m going to apply them, but I’ll figure something out.

The Colors and Formula

I love this lipstick.  There is no debate it’s the most unique black lipstick I’ve ever owned.  And it actually IS well pigmented that I only did need one swipe over my lips for coverage, although I went over them a few times cause of the sparkles!!  Even then it was NOT thick and cakey, it remained moist and I loved it.  After a while some weird stuff started happening and I had to do the old lollipop (after applying lipstick, take your index finger and pop it in your mouth, then pull it out. The excess lipstick will come off on your finger rather than your teeth) trick to remove some color that had accumulated.  I had to do it a few times as I wore it, but curiously my lips never lost any color or opacity.  Odd?  Yes, but it didn’t stop me from ordering another tube.

I am really on the brink of calling this the perfect black lipstick.  Far superior to another brand I recently reviewed and VEGAN.

Of course the shadow colors I ordered were both purples.  I like them both very much.  I tend to order mostly purples, so I can’t really say for certain theses are the most unique colors I own, but I’m wearing the brighter of the two, Transylvania Twist right now and it’s beautiful.

The formula of these shadows is one of my favorites.  The ingredients for Skeleton in Your Closet are : Mica, Carnauba Wax, Tin Oxide, Silica, Polyester-3, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Carbon Black.  I love the wax.  I have no idea why, it’s just a personal preference.  That’s not to say I don’t like all of the incredible formula’s that MM companies blend!  But I tend to like the buttery finished of the wax coated sericite blend.

The Conclusion

Would I order from Morgana Mineral’s again?  Yes, in fact I paused half way through this review and did just that.

  • Even with her ‘delayed’ shipping it was a very reasonable wait.
  • The lipsticks are a-MAY-zing.
  • She has a wide variety of shadow colors to chose from that would suit anyone.  Don’t let the Goth image of the shop fool you.
  • Her prices are right about where I am comfortable with.  Nothing seems too extreme.

One major major bonus I love about this shop is the following:

Sale items – If within 14 days of your purchase date, an item from that order drops in price, let us know and we will issue a store credit for the difference. Just e-mail us your previous order # and the item description. We will then send you a code to use on your next order. I haven’t seen another mineral makeup site that offers this service. Please note, that we do not issue price satisfaction credits to your credit card, Paypal, or other payment method. This guarantee only applies to products from Morgana Minerals. Discount codes are good for the period stated only. Discount codes do not apply to previous orders or orders placed after the code’s expiration. Some codes can only be used once per customer.

I cannot tell you how many times I’ve ordered something and then had it so on sale THE NEXT DAY.  This is a true example of great customer service.

Order between now and November 15th and you can get 15% off your order with the code ‘Fresco’ courtesy of Fresco Phyrra!!
Overall: /5

More From Morgana

Mini Haul

25 Responses to “Morgana Minerals – A Review”

  1. I’ve only ordered some of the cream shadows and gel liners, but I placed two orders. One was for an item that wouldn’t be in stock until the next week, and I was completely fine with waiting. Melissa contacted me and asked if I’d like some of my items sent immediately, or if I wanted to wait, and I told her – I can wait for them all, no worries whatsoever. When she did send them, she combined the orders into one shipment and refunded my shipping costs since that put me over $50 for one order. Everything was in great shape. I was very pleased.

    I’ve been tentatively planning on ordering some of the new cream shadows, and possibly some from the new collections coming out, but honestly, it may have to wait until January for financial reasons. But I’m very very happy with her customer service!

  2. aww I got all excited and put together an order, but the coupon doesn’t work!

    But I can’t wait to order from Morgana. She lives just north of me too, so I know my order will get here soon!
    The colors are so interesting.

  3. I’ve been wanting their Medusa lipstick for a while now!

  4. I’ve been wanting to order some lipsticks from Morgana Minerals for a good while. Cauldron looks so cool! I can see the greenish reflects you described.

    Try a small lip brush or taklon concealer brush (even a Q-tip works in a pinch) to get the lipstick samples out of those baggies. Aromaleigh sends their l/s samples like that, and the brush method has always worked for me.

  5. I really REALLY love Morgana’s lipsticks.
    Cauldron is a great black.
    For the lipstick samples, I always use a lip brush to apply them.
    I’m so happy you like them!

    Her eye shadows are great, too!

    • I really really really love this lipstick. It’s SO much better then the Lime Crime crap. And I know it’s hand made. And it’s not made from unicorns.

      Win all around!

      • Lol, even though I enjoy unicorns, (because who doesn’t enjoy the thought of a large beast that can impale you and toss you through the air if you annoy them), this stuff is full of win. It is hand made, Melissa takes requests, she answers emails and is incredibly sweet. ❤ Full of win.

  6. Yes, the customer service is one of the best I’ve received! She answered in a couple hours which is hard to expect when you’re on the other side of the world and she answered clearly, kindly, exactly what I expected to hear (for example I asked why bulk orders may be cancelled and she answered without hesitation and with a kind tone, something you may not expect from other companies). I will definitely order from her, especially since the review has revealed the quality of her products! Thanks for the coupon as well.

    • I love that there is a real person behind small companies. There is no comparison for customer service. I recently had to contact MAC and I was stuck in an endless loop of phone messages and then a really bad online ‘chat’.

  7. Morgana has been on my ever-increasing list of companies to try every since Phyrra mentioned them on her blog. I’ve just been ordering a lot of samples from Aromaleigh recently, since Miss K is big on limited edition collections, and I don’t want to miss out on finding good colors, I think I might have to wait until after the holidays to place an order from there.

  8. Awesome! I’ve been wanting to try Morgana’s lipsticks after reading Phyrra’s blog, and I absolutely LOVE Nightshade and Medusa. Licorice seems like a very nice matte black. I think the organza bags are such a cute touch, too, and I’m glad she’s also selling them separately.

  9. I’ve been wanting to try their lipsticks for a while, though their international shipping policies are a bit ridiculous 😦