So Beautiful – Sobe Haul

After my astounding success with my first SoBe Botanical order I went back and placed a few more, for a few custom blended things.  I was just as pleased and amazed at the new items I tried.

When I placed this order I asked for two of my items to be either scented for flavored with Earl Grey.  Lex sent me a little article about photosensitivity in some common essential oils.  Basically she wanted to make sure I had all the info I would need regarding the product I was ordering.  It wasn’t anything she needed to do, she supplied it very thoughtfully.

Pit Stop! in Earl Grey

After reading the article I went ahead and ordered this Deodorant in Earl Grey.  I’m one of those people who don’t use antiperspirant, only a natural deodorant.  (People always ask with sort of an odd look on their face, but trust me, I don’t sweat much at all, and I prefer not to slather myself in chemicals if I can help it.)  I’ve been using this every day since I got it and it’s awesome.  It’s better then a lot of the big counter products I’ve used (I had, at one point, a stick a month Hermes habit).  I’m pretty sure from now on I’ll use this exclusively.

Sugar Lips Exfoliating Lip Scrub in Earl Grey

It’s really dry here.  I live sort of by the ocean, sort of by the mountains, sort of by the dessert.  The So Cal landscape is a complicated place.  After doing so much research on lipsticks I really sort of got myself addicted to lip scrubs.  I loved the one I was using, but it was hard to get (Sephora isn’t selling it anymore) and the way I was going through it was getting expensive.  I thought I’d give this a try.  So far I’ve been loving it.  I use it in the morning, right out of the shower and then apply a balm and my lips stay smooth and soft.  If I skip a day, I can tell.  You really don’t use as much of this to be effective, so this tube is probably going to last a while.

Da Balm Halloween Balms

I told you I was going to order more.  All in all I got four more blacks, two in Cherry and two in Bubblegum, and one purple in Grape.  Three of the black ones are going to end up in some special people’s Christmas Stockings 🙂  The purple was just as amazing and pigmented as the black and it’s amazing.

Pink Compact Lip Gloss

I ordered the color Heavenly in the flavor Watermelon.  I love it, it’s a really simply gloss, great for everyday and the flavor is yummy.  The little compact is really sturdy and adorable and fits easily in both my big purse and the smaller bags I use on nights out.

What is go great about her products is that she custom labels everything.  Each item is labeled for exactly what it is, being a custom item.  So the Balms aren’t just Balms, they are Batty Bubblegum Balms.  Because she sells so many things with so many options I can only imagine it’s quite a feat to keep things so well organized but I for one appreciated it entirely.

Also in my order she included a 1 ounce roller of her Essential Oil Perfume in Amber.  I wouldn’t have thought of it as a scent I would like, it’s really very earthy.  But it’s light and almost romantic and reminds me of a Ren Fest.  So I’m hooked.  It reminds me of BPAL although you get quite a bit more.  I will be purchasing a few of these, probably in Bergamot and Clove, although she also has a TON of blends as well, I just prefer single notes.

I had asked if I could try some of her brighter MineralEyez shades if she planned on including samples.  She was kind enough to send me a rainbow of samples!!

She sent :

  • Dahlia
  • Red
  • Mango Tango
  • Forged
  • Sublime
  • Grass
  • Under the Mistletoe
  • Azure
  • Stiletto
  • Girls Just Wanna Blush

I just stopped to look at her Etsy listings and she has some amazing new Holiday colors listed.  Zen Fire, Gingerbread, and Sugar Plum Fairy are going to have to come home to me.

Again, it was all packaged really nicely and everything arrived in great condition.  I’m already looking forward to placing another order from her when I can!!

14 Responses to “So Beautiful – Sobe Haul”

  1. I’m so happy you posted this. I’ve wanted to try out Sobe’s stuff since your first review, and hearing about the other products makes me sad about being nervous on spending. =P

    I’m happy you bought and liked the purple Halloween Balm because that’s the one I wanted. I wanted to be sure it would be well pigmented like the black (by which I am a bit intimidated), and you seem to have a good review on it. Now, I just have to pick which flavor (I was thinking Pumpkin, but I’m not sure).

    I was also gonna buy one of her VitaSticks lipsticks and one of her cheek/lip stains, but now I may get the Sugar Scrub instead of the stain. I use the Smashbox lip scrub, and it’s just a bit messy and doesn’t work 100% well at getting the dead skin flakes off of my lips.

    Maybe I’ll start purchasing from them in a few days. I’ve spent too much this week, but I’m really interested in their stuff.

    • I think they are really worth the money. Some companies seem so amazing and I’ve been really let down, but SoBe, both the products and the customer service is amazing.

      If you do have questions, convo Lex. She’s really open and very helpful, I’m sure she’ll answer all the questions you have, I’ve found her to be really honest.

      If you do order, let me know what you got and how you liked it!!

  2. I’m really happy with the Sobe products I’ve tried so far! It’s great to hear you went back for more and were pleased :>

    I’m on and off again with deodorant/antiperspirant combos. I HATE the metallic feeling under my arms. I was using The Body Bakery’s deodorant for a while, but when it gets really hot here in Florida, I do sweat. So while I didn’t stink, I would have wetness.

    • I think you’ll like this deodorant. I love that I can get it in a million scents, I was getting really tired of the strong or fruit scents most companies make now.

  3. I can’t wait to try Sobe! I’m glad you like the lip scrub, that was one of my favorites to try. I like how its in a tube, instead of a jar. Is it easy to use? Does it fall apart? (I imagine a scrub in a tube falling apart, but I’m not sure how to explain it!)

    There are sooo many flavor choices, its hard to choose!

    Have you used the blush yet? It looks gorgeous!

    • It’s very easy to use, it’s very thick and mine stays together really well. It’s more like a thick balm with scrubbies in it.

      I have used the blush! It’s really pretty, BRIGHT, and clear. Stayed on forever.

  4. I’m eyeing that lip scrub. Aniseed flavour, they say…

    I’ve been after a great lip conditioner (preferably colourless) for a while. Is their balm any good? Having the lip-ring means I exfoliate my lips less, so I could use a good treatment.

    • Can you take your ring out? Do that and exfoliate like crazy.

      I would try the scrub and after you exfoliate just brush the sugar off and leave the balm on. It’s AMAZING.

      Yes, all of her stuff is AMAZING. I’ve only used the colored balms, but everything I’ve ever gotten from her is really quality.

      My FAVORITE balm, though, for my really dry lips is from EOS.
      http://www.evolutionofsmooth.com/products_lip_sphere.html

  5. I ordered some stuff from her after your first review last month. It has not come in yet. But I am super excited to get it! 🙂

  6. I’m with you on the deodorant thing. Your body sweats to cool itself down, which is natural. Aluminum in deodorants (lymph nodes) have been linked to Alzheimer’s. I’m not crazy about the sweat, but I let nature happen. I use a crystal or the liquid crystal. At least I sweat without smelling funky!

    I love the idea of a lip scrub in a tube. The only lip scrubs I’ve used are the B Never ones and the BeFine exfoliator.

    I really like the lipstick that you previously reviewed. The black one was absolutely gorgeous! I wish I was a reader back then!

  7. That’s it, I’m sold. I was tempted after the first review you posted, but now I’m totally sold.

    I’ve put my order in for the lip scrub, lip gloss in ‘Envy’ and a jar of her ‘Lime Light’ eyeshadow.

  8. Maude Lynn Bones December 11, 2009 at 1:14 am

    I just ordered one of the Halloween lip balms yesterday. I wanted to get more, but with Christmas around the corner I have to budget what I spend on myself. I’m glad to see the rest of her products seem to be as awesome as the balms there was definitely more products that piqued my interests. Those shadows look excellent.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sobe Botanicals – A Review « Gothique - December 29, 2009

    […] So Beautiful […]