Le Gothique

To celebrate the launch of my own domain, LeGothique.com, I’m giving away a 20$ Fyrinnae gift certificate!!

Just comment below to enter.

Tell me what your New Year’s Resolutions are!!

A winner will be drawn at random on January 2nd!

———–Comments are closed, thanks to all who entered!!———–

Please comment only once!!

68 Responses to “Le Gothique”

  1. I normally don’t make resolutions, but considering I’ll be moving out in May, I suppose my resolution can be a combined ‘stop buying so many eye shadows’ and ‘save money for moving.’ Also I have to be super focused on school since it’s my last semester and the previous one seriously burnt me out. I can do it!!

  2. My new years resolution is to get fitter and in the procces shed a few pounds. I’ve allready started and have a six month membership the the universitys gym and I’ve been going there with my partner three times a week for two weeks now and I’ve complitely hooked up now. It’s amazing to realise that I really like going to the gym and the wonderfull serene feeling you have after the work out.

  3. Squee!

    My New Year Resolutions are:

    1. To finish my senior art projects on time. Seriously.

    2. To have a successful senior show.

    3. To not get behind on my classes while completing aforementioned resolutions.

    4. To find some source of income after I graduate.

    5. To try and not “let go of myself”, regardless of how tough things get– for the past couple of years, I end each semester looking kinda haggardly…thin, disheveled, and makeup-less. I don’t want to keep doing that. I *need* to establish a good routine now, when I’m young, because things willonly get more complicated.

    6. To get my groove back, get out from the cave I’ve made myself, and go a hottie-huntin’!

    Congrats on your new domain name!

  4. I don’t really make resolutions, but I’ve been trying to procrastinate less.

    Cheers to the new domain – your blog is definitely one of my favorite makeup blogs!

  5. Well, the classic I want to lose weight, of course. Plus I’m going to start putting more money in my savings account for when I strike out on my own. Unless of course Fyrinnae comes out with yet another new line… damn geek boys.

  6. I always make New Years resolutions and yet I rarely follow through with them. This year, though, I am convinced will be different! My New Year’s resolution is to be far more organized with my time and to better manage the chaotic schedule I tend to set for myself.

  7. My New Year’s resolutions are to:
    1. focus on being healthy–watching what I eat and drinking lots of water. and…
    2. knit an entire sweater!
    Happy New Year!

  8. My job is demanding and I’ve been neglecting my health, so mostly to exercise and eat right. If I lose weight in the meantime then great. Also taking care of myself and not getting lazy with skincare. Oh, and adding to my makeup collection. 😀

  9. My goal this year is to promote my jewelry more and to maybe have my work published again !

  10. I hope this year my resolutions stick
    1. Become even more dedicated to my school activities/academics
    2. Sign up for various scholarships/internships.
    3.Do more volunteer work.
    4. Find a career field that I will be dedicated to.
    5. Remodel my room.
    Ha they sound kind of pageant-like. oh yes and world peace haha.

  11. I tend to hate making resolutions, but there are a few things I’d like to do in the new year:

    1. Stop slacking in regards to studying in an attempt to actually pull off several 4.0 terms (not that my current average is shabby at all, but it would be nice to graduate with honors).
    2. Stop slacking in regards to my appearance. I find it to very easy to go the “lazy college student” route when classes start up again, and devolve into jeans, tees, and no makeup, but I really hate doing that.
    3. Find a foundation that I love.
    4. Crochet more! I’ve obviously already been working on this one, but I have a ton of stash yarn that I want to use up.
    5. I’d say “read more”, but frankly, I probably do more of that than I should already. So maybe I should read more books with literary merit? xD

  12. woohoo!

    I think my only resolution is to pay off my credit card so I can start to save money to move back to my homecity (1mill+ ppl, so not a “town”:)

    I just wanna be “home!”

    Oh yeah! And to wash my face before bed. My poor pillow cases will never forgive me.

  13. Congrats on your new domain!!

    My New Year’s Resolution’s are:
    -Find a job, or continue with school
    -Try to workout as much as possible
    -Finish redoing a dollhouse my grandpa made before I was born
    -Create new things using my new sewing machine
    -Stay positive throughout the year

  14. Congrats on the domain name!
    My resolution is to really try to get fit and healthy. I don’t want to say lose weight or diet because that would be setting myself up for failure. But I would like to walk up a flight of stairs without feeling like I might pass out!

  15. Congrats on the new website! I’ve been reading your blog for a couple of weeks now, but I think I’ve been a bit too shy to comment.

    My New Year’s resolution is to go back to work (I’m a sahm) and get my family’s debt paid off! The faster I do that the faster I’m back at home with my baby!

  16. commenting! And congratulations on your domain!

  17. My resolutions are:

    1) Take more pictures! I’ve got a great camera, but I’ve barely touched it in the past year.
    2) Get accepted to grad school.
    3) Comment on more blogs.
    4) Figure out how to style hair on a daily basis.

    This past year has been a very long year, with all sorts of ups and downs. I hope this next year will be easier.

  18. Congrats on the new domain, your blog has pretty much been my bible for Mineral Makeup the past few months. =)

    My new years resolutions are:

    To choose quality over quantity wherever I can.
    To have a much more pure beauty regieme.
    To loose half a stone of fat.
    To pass the mathmatics part of my course no matter what.

  19. wow, nifty giveaway! I could definitely use that!

    My new year’s resolutions are:

    to keep practicing at makeup application, and continue to get better and better,
    to continue posting in my blog regularly
    to start exercising for, like, 10 minutes a day! I need it =(
    and to have an AWESOME 2010 in college, at home, and hopefully soon at work.

    You have an awesome 2010 too!

  20. My only resolution this year is to graduate from university. After going on and off, part time, for 14 years, I am darn good and ready!

  21. Congratulations on your new domain!

    My New Year’s Resolutions are to take better care of myself and the people I care about, and to strive to be proud of the work I do as a teacher.

  22. Congrats on the move!

    No stringent New Year’s resolution here but to exercise as I did a year ago and to cut back on spending. 🙂

    Happy New Year!

  23. I don’t usually make resolutions, and when I do I don’t keep them for long. So I’ll make a simple one.. My New Year’s Resolution is to not be afraid to try new things.

  24. I don’t do much by way of resolutions, but I suppose mine would be to be a more outgoing, helpful person and be more responsible.

  25. i never make resolutions… but if i get that gift certificate my resolution will be to buy more fyrinnae :D.

    i could easily go broke on fyrinnae, i wish i had more than 2 eyes so i could wear more of their shadows.

  26. My resolution is to be the person I know I can be. She’s there somewhere inside!

  27. congratulations on the domain, and thanks for the giveaway!
    this year, i’m determined to go car-free, move across the country, and maybe-possibly-but-it’s-not-looking-good try to develop a little self-esteem.

  28. My new year’s resolution is to premier my blog! I’ve been working on it forever, and I know it’s finally ready.
    Otherwise, I want to take better care of my skin.

  29. 1. lose weight… yeah, yeah, it always comes up. BUT at least for the past 3 or 4 years it has been working slowly but surely
    2. do well in my studies
    3. read the books I have yet to read.. quite a long list
    4. launch my shop!
    5. do better in my own blog
    6. catch up with my friends
    7. make new friends (you might not understand this but there’s a whole story to it that i wouldn’t want to get into)
    8. continue to be happy and healthy, BE STRONG!

  30. I want to learn how to crochet. Other than that, I resolve to do my best this year!

  31. My New Year’s Resolution is to not procrastinate positive life changes for milestone dates.

    Actually, it’s to blog more frequently, which I’ve been trying to do over the past week. I seem to just be posting longer and longer things though, without that many more posts…

  32. I always make resolutions for the new year, but I hardly ever keep them… However, for 2010 I’m aiming for “Achievable” as a theme in my resolutions. 😛 Here’s what I’ve got so far:

    1. Keep a dream journal! I have the most fantastic (and detailed, apparently) dreams and nightmares almost every night, and sometimes I forget to write ’em down before they’re gone from my memory. 😦 I want to avoid that in this coming year.
    2. Work on building a public blog! I have a private journal that I update pretty infrequently, and a poetry blog that I update when I have material… but I want to bring both together, plus my love for makeup into a mishmash blog this coming year.
    3. Get a legitimate photography business going. This year, I’ve been doing random senior pictures for friends, and getting odd (unpaid) jobs doing family portraits, modeling portraits, etc. but have yet to establish a “solid” business. I want that to change.
    4. Buy the rest of the Kat Von D palettes! XD I got my first for Christmas and I love them.
    5. Eat healthier than the past year… snack less, exercise more.
    6. Attend more concerts by my favorite bands! I wasn’t able to as much as I wanted to this past year, but I’m making sure that I’m able to in 2010.

    What about you, Grey? You should make a post! And congratulations on the domain! 😀

  33. My new year’s resolutions:

    1. To exercise at least once a week.
    2. To be more patient.
    3. To save more money.
    4. To spend less time online and start keeping a journal again.
    5. To practice eyeshadow application some more.
    4. To eat less chocolate!

    🙂

  34. I think my biggest resolution is to get my drivers license. (I have a bit of behind-the-wheel anxiety, so I haven’t ever bothered, but that hasn’t really helped me get over the anxiety.)

  35. I’m not one to make many resolutions but I do have kind of a big one for this year. I would like to learn how to be at peace with myself and those around me…not to worry so much, to learn how to take a deep breath and be a bit more zen…not only for my sake but also because I am going to be someones mom for the first time in a few months…

  36. 1 – Love more.
    2 – Laugh more.
    3 – Cry less.

    Seems simple enough, aye?

  37. If I knew what the digital version of a Bundt cake was, I’d totally give you one right now! My resolutions are to get back into violin, start my own blog (the name still eludes me…), and to develop a makeup-centered science day camp itinerary for middle schoolers. Go science! Go sparkly things!

  38. my resolution is to do my full make up on a more everyday basis. talking all the fun eye looks and everything instead of only on special occasions! It really does give me a pick me up that I need!

  39. My new years resolution is to use/ingest less synthetic things and concentrate on using/eating more natural things.

  40. My New Years Resolutions are:

    Finish College
    Enroll into French lessons
    Learn how to cook vegetarian meals

  41. My New Years Resolution is to take better care of my body. I want to at least lose 10 lbs. Ideally I’d like to lose 30, but I’ve only been able to lose 5 so far, so I figure if I can double that, I can then make progress towards my long term goal. However, this is part of my goal of wanting to further refine and improve what I eat and how I take care of my body. I used to do yoga several times a week, and for the past year I’ve been very sporadic with my exercise. A big part of that is that I was diagnosed with a mild form of asthma (airway constriction) and need my inhaler if I’m trying to do a lot. I always just assumed I was so winded because I was out of shape. Turns out with the inhaler I can breathe 20% better, so it’s probably a big part of why I’ve been struggling.

  42. Hi, Grey! I’ve been lurking around for a while and been meaning to comment. I placed my first Fyrinnae order recently thanks to you (and Phyrra at Fresco Phyrra) and although I haven’t gotten it yet, I have a feeling I’m going to like it a lot.

    I guess it takes a giveaway to get me out of my hole. XD My NY’S resolution is just to be a more open-minded person. There are a lot of other things I’d like to improve on, but I’ve found myself getting more and more close-minded and judgmental about others since I entered law school, and it doesn’t make me feel good about myself. Hope you had a rockin’ New Year!

  43. My New Year’s Resolution is, as many years before, to become more healthy and loose a few kilos. I’ve been going in the wrong direction for too long and tried different types of diets and lifestyles. But I hope that I will succeed this time as I’ve grown older and will have my significant other to help and support me.

    Other than that I’ll try to focus on things that makes me feel good and happy rather on depressing things.

  44. My new year’s resolution is to make a daily schedule of tasks and goals and STICK TO IT.

  45. I love Fyrinnae stuff! Congrats on the domain as well! My resolution for this year is to love myself…just for being myself. To accept my flaws and imperfections, and take my mistakes in stride, and let the little things go. That’s what I hope to accomplish this year!

  46. I usually don’t do NY resolutions but this year I’ll be finishing my thesis. That’s a promise.

  47. My resolution I guess is to lose weight. I’m tired of being a fat ass. =P So I’m going to try my hardest to not eat sugary snacks and stuff. =)

  48. My resolution is to avoid any unnecessary things – acts, items and situations alike. Worrying about silly stuff, guilt-tripping myself, trying to make things perfect when they would be just as good without all the fuss. To eat loads of sugar, to be everywhere, to work too much, to forget the good stuff. All of this can be fitted under the “unnecessary” umbrella, which is then all I need to remind myself bout.

    This will save me a huge amount of time for other, more important things, and hopefully give peace of mind in the process. 🙂 Happy new year!

  49. My resolution is to finish all my school projects, inclunding my thesis, in time and to graduate next spring.

  50. My main resolution is becoming less paranoid. I’m often thinking of the hundred of possibilities of having my beloved ones killed…. and I’m always worrying about it.
    So, I just want it to become less intense…
    I also want to take better care of my health and remember eating dinner everynight. I usually forget about eating when I’m worried about things, and that’s not good for my body. I also have loads of insomnia, so I want to learn to sleep better….
    I want to see my parents more, also. I’ve moved out of their house in 2009 and I didn’t get to see them much…
    I want to take more pictures and be more creative with them. They are becoming kind of boring.
    I want to finish the books I have to finish.
    and… I want to find some good phenomenology classes….
    Go back to my theatre classes…
    And go back to my fighting classes…
    I also want to take things easier. I’m a very calm person with people, but I’m always getting mad at the wrong things happening in the world… x.x”’

    wow. a lot to be done.

    I don’t usually do resolutions. But it’s nice to see what’s to be changed, sometimes.

  51. I hate making resolutions because I almost always fail to succeed at them but there are a few things I’d like to accomplish in this new year.

    1. Eat healthier/drink more water–about 7 years ago (right after my son was born) I committed to drinking lots of water and controlling my portions and I lost close to 50lbs. I know I can do this again if I can get myself motivated.

    2. Take better care of my skin–I have absolutely no skin care regimen. I’m wearing more makeup than ever and I’m not getting any younger. I figure it’s time I start doing something to take care of it.

    3. Get my butt enrolled in Nursing School–I graduated a Medical Assistant Program last year (so much fun and the first time I’ve ever completed anything) Classes start in July and I need to get in there!

    4. Maybe start a blog. The men in my life (my ex/kid’s father and my boyfriend) are constantly encouraging me to do this strictly because I love to write and it would be fun for me. I keep putting it off.

    5. Get my boyfriend here–We’ve been together for 16months in a LDR. 3000 miles separate us. We have very vague plans about him moving here in March. He’s coming, we just haven’t worked on the details. It’s time to get in gear.

    Congrats on the new domain 🙂 Happy New Year

  52. My new years resolution is to quit smoking. Im going to give the electronic ciggs a chance to help me quit, but quitting is the goal.

  53. My resolution is to go the entire year without a haircut. I haven’t had my hair longer than my shoulders in four years, and I’m really anxious to get some length again.

  54. My resolutions are:

    1. Focus more on my jewelry business, advertise more, get more comfortable with promoting myself & my art!

    2. Finish some crochet UFO’s, start another large project I’ve been plotting for ages. Do more needle tatting

    3. biggest one…Trust myself, all the time!

  55. I recently adopted two kittens from the local shelter, so my resolution(s) are to be the best kitty mama I can be, and to raise my kits to be productive members of society and not juvenile delinquents with a passion for flouting authority.

    Erm, I just came to my senses and realized that the last part is hopeless because they’re cats and flouting authority is second nature for them. 😀

  56. I want to be more crafty, and learn how to sew.
    I really want to get in shape, I’m not all that fat, but there is a beautiful curvy girl hiding in me somewhere.
    Stop.Buying.things.From.Coffee.Shops. too much money, I should just make myself tea.
    Grow my hair out. I want it waist length, which should take about six years.
    and lastly: start a blog of my own, I think I would just review stuff, make up, movies, books, whatever really

  57. For the past years my resolution was always the same: be happy.
    This year, it’s going to be a little more…
    1. Learn to apply liquid eyeliner without poking myself in the eyeball (which would greatly influence my happiness).
    2. Cook everything I have in my pantry before starting to accumulate any more food.
    3. Get into molecular cooking.
    4. Stop being absolutely fascinated by midgets.

  58. I don’t really do New Years resolutions… I feel like if I want to change something about life, I shouldn’t just wait around until New Years to figure it out. But I would like to make 2010 totally cool for my blog- I want to try out tons of companies, do reviews, blog more regularly, and hopefully gain more followers and do a giveaway!

  59. I’ve been away from a computer for most of the holiday break; but I’m glad to be back to see your beautiful new domain, Grey! Congrats!

    My resolutions, which I am limiting to a top three:

    1. To spend more time creating and promoting my art. I did pretty well at that during 2009 — but I can do much better. This includes working harder on my Etsy store and pursuing local gallery owners. I can do better than showing at every coffee shop in town!

    2. Dance more — while home alone and out at clubs! Sadly, I am in sore need of a dancing buddy.

    3. Save money (maybe by buying less make-up…but then I would have to stop reading Gothique, haha) for either a house or design school — wherever the wind may take me!

    Happy New Year, Grey, and fellow Gothique readers! May it be a prosperous one for all of you. xx

  60. Easy. To lose weight.

    But it won’t be so easy, or I never would have gained the weight to begin with.

    So, to make this resolution come true, I’m going to have to break it down into lots of other resolutions that could all be categorized thusly: Deal with the shit in my life that is not working. Create a life that is more positive than negative. Keep forging ahead in this way until I can reclaim my health.

    I’m actually pretty overwhelmed when I type it out in this way. But I need things to be different than they are now.

  61. 1) Read better books (finally having a job means less time, and so I doubt I’ll read as much this year)
    2) Write more (start a blog?)
    3) Figure out what I’d like my career to be
    4) Make significant progress toward learning a language
    5) Become a better person
    6) Become financially stable
    7) Reconnect with friends and family

  62. Not very exciting but gym 3-4 x a week. And also to drink more responsibly :p

  63. my new years resolutions are to love myself more, believe in myself and my abilities and build up my business. I would also like to get healthy and active and stay that way! no more “i wish i was still that thin”n im going to do it!

  64. It may sound silly but my new years resolution is just to be a nicer and happier person! Life is way too short to be upset and mad all of the time!

  65. Congrats on the new domain! 😀 Also, happy New Year! Hope you have a great one!

    My New Years resolutions are simply to lose weight, to bury the hatchet with some people, and to live life to the fullest. 🙂

  66. One (I have many!) of my new year’s resolutions is to finish off my weight loss. I lost over forty pounds last year and I want to be in maintenance mode by summer. 😀

  67. My new year’s resolution is to take more risks in everything: make-up, studies, personal relationships, anything! I’m ready to stop being indecisive and/or playing it safe. I’m going to stop wishing and start doing.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Resolutions « Gothique - January 2, 2010

    […] the the random generator the winner of my New Year / New Domain Give Away is Lois Bum!  I’ll be emailing you today sometime with info on your 20$ Fyrinnae gift […]