Lauren WK – An Interview

LaurenWK, the platinum blond face of Sugarpill, was sweet enough to take some time to talk to me a little bit about what it was like to work with Amy on the Sugarpill shoot.

Did you know Amy before you worked with her?

That depends…. Does being her internet stalker when I was 14 count? No? Then no, not really. When I first came out to San Francisco, I sent her a message on Model Mayhem expressing an interest in working together. Months and months later, she responded, telling me that she never checks her Model Mayhem account, but had wanted to work with me for a while! I was so excited and we have since become great friends.

When you were first approached to model for Sugarpill, a fledgling independent cosmetic company, what were your first thoughts?

I was thrilled! Though I hadn’t heard of Sugarpill yet (I believe she was mostly keeping that to herself at the time), I had been drooling over her clothing designs for quite a few years.

What was the shoot like?

We have worked together a few times now and it is always wonderful. Everyone we have worked with has been nice and fun and laid back. The amazing creativity that everyone brings to the table is inspiring and I always feel like we’ve accomplished amazing things by the time the day is over. Plus, I’m always spoiled with Mr. Pizza Man and tubs of strawberry ice cream!

Amy posted a really great behind the scenes post about the shoot here.

Who did the actual hair and makeup on set? The results were amazing.

Ann was our fabulous make up and hair girl.

Are there any more shoots planned with you and Sugarpill in the future?

Yes! We are planning another one at the end of this month.

Do you have a favorite color from the collection?

That is such a difficult question, as I am in love with every color that I have seen! As of now, I have a palette of 12 pressed powders, some of which seem to remain unreleased. First of all, I have to say that Bulletproof (black) is absolutely amazing. I can do smokey eyes in seconds, no packing or crazy layering necessary. Second, I have to mention how exciting Love+ (red) is. Everyone knows how difficult it is to find a good red eyeshadow. This is a true and bright and beautiful red… plus it’s vegan! Dollipop (pink) is also super adorable. It is a regular color on my lids. πŸ™‚ She hasn’t shared any loose powders with me yet, but I am very excited about Lumi!

As a model I’m sure you’ve used a lot of products, which are your personal favorite cosmetics? Anything you cannot live without?

Believe it or not, I am actually somewhat of a novice! Over the past year or two, I have put a lot into building up my make up collection and Sugarpill shadows have quickly become my favorite! At first I was a bit intimidated by such bright, highly pigmented colors, but I quickly learned that they are sooo easy to use! I can blend them with no problem and they never look blotchy or dull. I use them almost everyday. I also love some of the browns that Urban Decay has out. Sellout is my favorite to use just under my brows. Lately, I’ve been really into bright eyes and light lips. For lipstick, I’ve been wearing a lot of Snob by MAC.

I recently caught you in the Alesana album trailer, and I know you’ve worked in a few other videos as well. Do you prefer one over the other,modeling or video work?

Can you spot Lauren in this Marilyn Mason video?

It really depends on the individual shoot. A bad video shoot can be a nightmare, but a good one can be so much fun! Hours are long and shooting often goes on for several days in a row. There is such a sense of accomplishment when it’s all done and I get to see the finished product! I’m not really interested in being an actress, but there is just enough of it involved in music videos that I almost feel like one! Photo shoots are different. I am often able to control more of the planning, but I don’t feel like you can get as much of a sense of me from looking at the finished product. In the end, I love them both for different reasons.

Do you consider yourself a more ‘traditional’ model or would you call yourself an ‘alt’ model? Do the generalizations or classifications bother you at all?

I don’t really classify myself, as I enjoy and am available for aspects of multiple genres of modeling. I suppose most would classify me as an alternative model, which doesn’t really bother me. It’s only human nature to want to classify something.

Lauren is recognizable as a God’s Girl (NSFW link), an alternative modeling site that features ‘artistic’ photography and themes.Β  You can also find her on Deviant Art, Twitter, as well as Model Mayhem and many other modeling sites.Β  Lauren, although based out of California, travels extensively to model and is always on the move.Β  She recently celebrated her 21st Birthday in Vegas!

When I first started envisioning this interview, I totally admit I had been planning on sitting and rewriting everything so it was more ‘conversational’ but Lauren’s replies were so thorough, well done, and natural I don’t think I need to!!Β  She’s clearly not just a pretty face!

Coming soon, Part Two – Shrinkle.

15 Responses to “Lauren WK – An Interview”

  1. She’s gorgeous! And I love her heartnote tattoo. Have you seen the photos she’s done with Supercult? They’re really stunning.

  2. She looks so pretty πŸ™‚

    Just a note, Love+ isn’t actually vegan, it’s got carmine in it!

  3. What a wonderful interview! Thank you!

  4. Great interview! We ❀ you Lauren! BTW, did yuo mean "Fledgling instead of "Ledgling?"(whoa the browser just turned me lower case F and L into an L!! o.o)

    • LOL, yup, the infamous F-L. For some reason it turns an f and an l typed together into L. I have NO idea how to fix it πŸ™‚

  5. Lauren was my babysitter for my daughter back when she was 14 or so. Her mom was my boss. She was always a little advantegard (cant spell) and ALWAYS so beautiful…She turned out to be such a wonderful woman!! so smart..love you Lauren!!

    • AWWWWWWW! That’s adorable!

      She is a very unique talent, I’m really glad I got the chance to interview her!

  6. I’m actually much more visible in this version of the video. πŸ™‚

  7. Great interview, thanx for the illumination- +