Shrinkle – An Interview

Amy Doan, better known throughout the intrawebs as Shrinkle, is the creator of one of the brightest and most unique makeup lines, Sugarpill, which recently launched to overwhelming success.

Somehow she managed to pull herself away from her (is it three?) businesses to sit down and answer a few questions.

How did you get started selling online?

I was a broke college student who liked to sew. In my spare time, I decided to sell a few of my clothing creations on eBay because the student loans weren’t enough to cover my party fund, haha. I was genuinely surprised by how well my designs sold, so I began sewing more and more to keep up with demand. I started cutting class a LOT to stay home and sew. Before I knew it, it became my full time job and I didn’t care about anything else.

What motivated you to take on a whole new company, when the enterprises you currently run are so successful? I assume you must be the busiest girl in Nor Cal!

I get antsy and freak out if I’m not 100% busy at all times. I can’t remember the last time I ever uttered the words “I’m bored.” I have this desire to keep doing more even though I know there aren’t enough hours in a day to do it all. But it sure is fun to try! I like being a workaholic. It keeps me out of trouble. Before the makeup line, when I was just doing clothing, I was working about 10 hours a day, which people thought was kinda crazy insane. But now that Sugarpill’s launched, I’m working 16-17 hours a day. I just hired 2 helpers this week though, so hopefully I’ll be able to finally get a full night’s sleep, which I haven’t been able to do since launch.

How long, from beginning to end, did it take to launch Sugarpill? Where there any particular obstacles?

From concept to launch, it took a little over four years. But I wasn’t working on it constantly, since I had the clothing line to run. I just worked on it a bit here and there during my spare time. The biggest obstacle was just finding the time to do it. It’s frustrating to have so many ideas jumping around in your head and not being able to crank them out as quickly as you’re thinking of them.

The packaging is amazing. Who worked on the design? How many drafts did it take to get just right?  You have one of the most perfectly branded sites I’ve seen. That is, the image, theme, style, and feel of the company is clear and present throughout. I know you worked on it a lot, did you do most of it yourself or were others involved in the conceptualizing?

I came up with design concepts, and in total caveman fashion, sketched those ideas on paper. They were then executed by my more computer-savvy boyfriend Kevin, who is the awesomest designer in the world. Then we commissioned the amazingly talented artist Liz Lorini (www.misskika.com) to draw the pretty girl you see on the front of the pressed eyeshadow boxes and palettes. I can’t even tell you how many drafts it took, but it was a year-long process involving lots of coffee and all-nighters!

Even though you’ve just launched, do you plan on adding any new products to the line? Can we expect new colors soon or will you maybe step into other realms of cosmetics?

Definitely!! I started out with the basics, but I’m already working on my next collection of pressed eyeshadows which will be fancier than the first. I’m also brainstorming glitter eyeliners, lipsticks, lipgloss and colorful nailpolish.

What was your inspiration in naming the shades?

I wanted everything to sound sweet and dangerous. Then I threw in some of my cats’ and friends’ names in there too.

Can you tell me a little about the swatches of the eye colors? Are they all individually taken or are the colors shopped over the same eye?

They were individually taken. That took DAYS and you should have seen how raw my eyes were afterward.

Do you have a favorite color from the collection?

I’m really proud of Poison Plum, Goldilux and Magpie! Coincidentally, those three also ended up being my top three best sellers.

I’m so glad to have been able to be one of the first people to review Sugarpill.  People still ask me if it’s any good.  It so is.  In fact I woke up during the middle of the night wanting more of her colors so bad I ended up placing an order at like 3am.

You can find Shrinkle online at :

17 Responses to “Shrinkle – An Interview”

  1. I loved reading this interview – I just feel inspired when I read someone working their butts off and having it pay off. Makes me wanna work even harder too!

  2. Great interview! I liked hearing the story behind Sugarpill, and I’m always happy to support indie companies.

    • I love knowing how much honest hard work went into Sugarpill. It makes me confident in getting a great product!

  3. I love that despite pulling all-nighters, Amy doesn’t cut corners on things like customer service. You still get your order in a timely fashion, and with personal touches like her thank you notes on the invoices. No “my kittenhz is in a tree nao & my BF thinks i smells funny. wait 3 weeks for ur stuffz!” crap. Makes me wonder how other companies (that do less business!) think they can get away with that.

    • She’s got amazing customer service. I know she’s busy, but she always emails me back, always answers questions, and she ASKS for criticism to improve. I love that.

  4. That’s awesome! I love how she’s still so down-to-earth and bubbly and is able to sit down with a blogger for an interview. I’m happy that her makeup line has been such a success– she deserves it. 🙂

  5. Great interview. I love how some indie business owners are so willing to be interviewed, and are so frank about everything. 🙂

  6. Fabulous interview! I’m really loving my Sugarpill products ❤ I love how Amy is so forthcoming about her process. It's really interesting to see that it took her 4 years.

  7. lmao, I love Tea’s excuse response! 😀

    And ya gotta love 3am shopping 🙂

    • I was a little crazy, laying there wanting the black shadow. Thankfully with my iPhone I can shop from bed 🙂

  8. Interesting and nice (nice, what a crap word to use) review, I’ve always admired her (Shrinkle) seemingly being *everywhere* back when I trolled LJ constantly, and always lusting after her ebay auctions (even though I know I’d never wear it).

    Now with the makeup I know that I can wear it one way or another (since it can be bright or you can tone it down), and I’ve been so impressed with how easy it is to apply and how long lasting it is.

    Thanks Grey!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. SHRINKLE » Mini update + Le Gothique interview - March 2, 2010

    […] Clickkkkk […]

  2. Sugarpill – My Review | phyrra.net - May 31, 2010

    […] The packaging for Sugarpill is extremely well thought out and beautiful. It was sketched out by Amy herself, and then she got the artist Liz Lorini to create it. You can read a fantastic interview about Amy at my friend Grey’s blog, LeGothique. […]