I’m a Librarian!

The look that leaped into my head for this image was probably the strongest of my three challenge images.  I thought creating my own version of a saucy space cowboy was going to be fun, but creating the pieces for this look was so much more hands on.  The feeling for this look is 1910’s librarian.

I searched for the perfect shoes first.  They had to echo the deep red of the light cast by the lamp in the image and then they had to have that vintage, sort of unexpectedly sexy look to them.  I found them in these faux red croc pumps from Gretta called Grenadine. I paired with wish a nude thigh high with a classic seam up the back.  The moc croc plays off the patterns in the shelves and the engraving in the inspiration photo.

I search all over for the perfect sexy librarian accessory and couldn’t find one I was happy with, so I sat to making one myself.  What I ended up creating was an entire suite of jewelry.  First I fashioned with monocle out of an antique ophthalmologist’s sample, using a brass chain and deep red gems to accent.  It was important to use bronze in the accent pieces, playing off the golden glow in the forefront of the image.  The second piece I created was a simple bracelet, again drawing inspiration from the engraving in the small scroll work in the links of the bracelet.  I finished up using the same red gems to create a slew of brass bobby pins that will hold your very authoritarian up do in place.

For the makeup I desided to let myself get a little more dramatic instead of sticking strictly to the look of the 1910’s.  Using Aromaleighs Elemental Lustre Metalics in Torrid (flashy garnet burgundy brown with gold sparks) and Fraud ( Luscious shimmering bronze.) I went with a deep rich eye.  Use Torrid on the lid, sweeping it into the crease and blend out carefully and then accent in the inner corner with Fraud.

On the nails I recommend a deep rich red, like Royal Rajah Ruby from OPI.  Complete the feeling of this look with Paperback, a scent from Demeter.

10 Responses to “I’m a Librarian!”

  1. This is amazing. I can’t believe you just made all that jewelry for this!

    • I’m a Jack of all trades! Or is it Jill?

      I’m planning on some DIY tutorials as soon as I have more energy and am over my perpetual pneumonia.

  2. i LOVE this!! especially the monocle!!

  3. I love the monocle! But I think my favorite part about this look is the demeter paperback perfume. Nothing smells better than old library books.

  4. Gorgeous! I’m glad the image inspired you enough to make the jewelry. 😀

    Those shoes are FAAABULOUS, too!

  5. Beautiful! I love the shoes and the jewellery you made (you’re so talented!) and paperback by Demeter is just perfect of course 🙂

  6. Out of curiousity, how does the paperback perfume smell? I’m considering buying it, but I don’t want to spend the money if it isn’t any good.

  7. Great post! I am a librarian so I found this entertaining. The only thing is having open-toe heels puts you at risk for when a cart accidentally goes over your feet. Beautiful inspiration though!