Spring is in Da Haus

Recently Haus of Gloi released three new Spring scents as well as their new range of lotions.

Lassi

Cool and fresh mango cream, orange blossom water, black ginger to ground, splash of green tea and a soft squeeze of lime juice. Yum!

This scent reminds me of this spicy mango tea and soy milk drink I get at my favorite Thai place.  It’s sweet and spicy and very unique.

Maedwe

Pesky dandelions, red clover patches, creeping sweetpea blooms and the dense afternoon haze of blossoming fruit trees.

Maedwe is very soft, fresh smelling.  It smells like an open field of wildflowers as you walk past them.

Seeress

The break of waves, gurgling sea foam, kelp, rain tinged air, smooth driftwood and sacred wild sage.

I admit, I’m not crazy about Seeress.  It’s sort of a stronger scent then I prefer.  It’s sort of got a bright rain sort of smell in the forefront and then a little layer of herb in the back.

I was lucky enough to sample a few of the test formulas for the lotion.  It was probably the first time I was a horrible reviewer because I actually loved both versions.  The final result is a somewhat thin and ‘wet’ feeling lotion.  It’s not whipped or anything fancy.  Don’t let that fool you, it adsorbs quickly and leaves your skin soft, smooth, and with a fabulous layer of protection.  I can put it on in the morning and still feel it by the afternoon, the scent still lingering as well.  It’s not greasy at all, although it might seem ‘wet’ on your hands until it’s absorbed.

I ordered lotions in the new Spring scents as well as my favorites, Absinthe and Depravity.  I’ve switched out my usual hand cream for these, one if always sitting on my desk and in my workroom.  I would encourage you to try a small jar in your favorite scent and use it to layer your fragrance, starting with the scrub, then the lotion, and finishing with the perfume oil.

18 Responses to “Spring is in Da Haus”

  1. I have tried Seeress and Maedwe from the Spring scents. Seeress is really nice, but ocean scents are starting to not work on my skin. Maedwe is wonderful. Exactly as you described it. Spring in a bottle. I loved that one so much I had to order a perfume oil. I really love the lotion formula. It is great.

    • They don’t’ work on my skin, either. They turn almost soapy smelling, I think. I wonder what does that?

  2. I love the lotion so much ! I have it in honey tree . It was like christmas when i got home and my order was there waiting for me .

  3. I bought the lotion samples in the new spring scents. I was so sure I’d love Seeress I bought a full size perfume oil since samples of these aren’t available. Unfortunately Seeress doesn’t love my body chemistry.
    Florals are iffy on me and Maedwe doesn’t work on me, but a friend fell in love with it.
    Lassi reminds me of the Fruit Stripe gum I used to love as a kid. Nice scent.
    I also got a small perfume oil sample of Peach Mama. This one I was sure I wouldn’t like since peach and patchouli scents are not my favorite, but I had to try it. Surprisingly enough, this scent works well for me, and I just ordered full sizes of this scent.

    • Jules Noctambule April 2, 2010 at 3:09 pm

      Fruit Stripe gum! That is exactly what it smells like; the spouse and I have been debating between Skittles (him), the chewy vitamin C tablets I got as a kid (me) and SweetTarts (both) but still thinking there was something else nostalgic about it. Fruit Stripe is that exactly!

      • Never having chewed gum, I have no idea, but now I’m going to see if I can find some to see.

        • Jules Noctambule April 3, 2010 at 2:36 pm

          I haven’t had any gum in years and years, but I remember that from when I was a kid.

  4. Nice review 🙂 Lassi sounds really good.

  5. I neeed to try them all. Lassi sounds amazing. Can you really pick out the scent of Sage in Seeress? All the other notes sound great, but I really can’t stand the smell of sage.

  6. Omg their new labels are so cute :3 and I cant wait to be unbroke so I can get some of the lotions

  7. Ahh, I have a wishlist shopping cart full of Haus of Gloi lotions. As much as I love the scrubbiness of their scrubs, I’ve been discovering lately that I don’t like the moisturizing residue it leaves behind on my skin (even though it’s intentional), and I end up scrubbing it off with a washcloth, which defeats half the purpose.

    However, I think that their scents are brilliant, which is why I’m really looking forward to trying the lotions when I’m able to place an order from them. And it’s a shame that I don’t use bar soap, or else I’d probably be ordering that from them as well.

  8. Ah, you did it. I was hesitating on samples for weeks but I finally gave in and had to buy a sample of peach mama perfume and absinthe creme. Temptation is a cruel mistress. :/

  9. I was actually on their site thinking about trying Lassi (but in soap form). I have to try this 😮

  10. I’m not the type of person to try out many different bath and body products. I usually find something I like and stick to it. But with Gloi i’m like a crazy bath product collecting maniac! Everytime I smell a new scent and think it’s my favorite, i buy another and the process starts all over again! Peach Mama has been my everyday staple since I got it, but this Lassi scent is seriously tempting me….and I haven’t even finished sampling all the rest of their scents…..
    I wasn’t even going to try the lotion since the scrubs moisturize so well i don’t even need one, but now i think of how nice it would be to layer my scent every time i use hand lotion.
    gaahhh! Must.Buy.more.Gloi….