Banana Boat Summer Color Self Tanning Mist – A Review

Since an overwhelming majority of the population here in sunny So Cal is addicted to the booty short, I find myself oddly out of place wearing my usual torn and worn jeans all year round.  However when I do don a pair of shorts I find myself blinding people with my nearly iridescently pale legs.  In general I’m a pale girl, but my legs are even more white then the rest of me.  So every summer I find myself trying out that years offerings of self tanners, trying to not get a tan, but just get a bit of color on my legs so my body matches itself.

Usually I end up with something too orange, too dark, or that streaks a silver mile.

This year I got lucky my first try out with this spray.

What initially drew me to this specific product was that it was a spray.  In the past I’ve tried the lotions and no matter how careful I was ended up with streaks and funny colored hands, the same thing with the mousses.

Labeled as an ‘Airbrush Color’ I figured it would probably be easier to use, and I was right.  The nozzle sprays very evenly, and on my first application I could tell it was done evenly.  The first time I used it I applied it before bed, spraying a thin layer and letting it dry before I crawl into the covers.  In the morning I wasn’t ‘tan’ but I had certainly developed a nice natural color that matched my skin tone.  It wasn’t tricky or difficult to apply at all and even just doing it quickly as I did I wasn’t left with overly colored splotches or funny colored knees.  It also dries very quickly so it doesn’t stain clothes.

Just to test things, I sprayed a spot of my belly a few times, layering the color, and after a day or so there was a definite tan there, but again, it matched my skin tone and wasn’t at all orange or overly dark.  I can’t be sure, but I don’t think that if you are pale it will tan you much beyond something ‘natural’ looking.  So after a point, no matter how much I applied to my tummy spot, the color was simply maintained, rather then darkened.  I find that to be the mistake proof bonus I appreciate in a self tanner.

I haven’t sprayed my legs in about three days, and the color is still there, I’ve not reverted to my unearthly pallor yet.  The can says it will last up to 7 days, and I’m inclined to beleive it.  It also says it has a ‘fresh citrus’ scent and it’s more like an old lime smell, but it fades quickly and isn’t overwhelming.

Would I purchase Banana Boat Summer Color Self Tanning Mist again?  Yes.

  • I purchased mine on sale at Target for a very reasonable $5.49.
  • The can is 5 ounces, which in an aerosol spray is quite a bit of product, especially since I’m just using it on my legs.
  • While if you layer the applications, you can develop a quite natural looking tan, one simple spray is enough color for the very pale, so I would agree with the advertising that it’s ‘for all skin tones’.

10 Responses to “Banana Boat Summer Color Self Tanning Mist – A Review”

  1. Hmmm. I may have to try this… I love being super pale, but I don’t want to cause car accidents and such with the glare off my legs. ><

  2. Hmmm. I have to try this one. My legs tend to be glow-in-the-dark light irish white.

    Can you do a quick experiment for me? Drag a q-tip drenched alcohol on it over the layered tan on your belly to see how the color holds.

    My BIGGEST peeve with self tanners is that once I put on bug spray, they run & look funny. Blech.

    ~ Hoyden

    • Oh no, it’s there. I tried to remove it cause, yeah, it shows through some of my shirts. It’s just going to have to fade 🙂

  3. Oh, it had never occurred to me to try to get my legs to match the rest of my body. I’ve been resigned to letting them be unbearably white (since I don’t wear skirts without tights enough to get them actually tan). I will look for this product the next time I’m at the local drugstore. ❤

  4. Ooooo! I’ll have to keep my eyes out for this one. I like being pale but my legs are also blindingly white. That’s not a good thing when doing underwater handstands at the beach.

    • If the contrast wasn’t as bad as it was, I’d skip it, but yeah, my legs are just ghostly!

  5. Haha, I love how every person posting on this is apparently ghostly-white. 😛

  6. Jenny Whiskey May 24, 2010 at 8:07 pm

    I just used that Jergens gradual tan lotion that everyone went bonkers over a few years ago and i am now remembering how smelly and and stingy it is. I’d like to try this. My leg-body contrast is even more noticeable than you pale folks. I’m Sicilian and my arms and chest turn brown at the first hint of spring sun shine!