My Favorites

For the last giveaway in the Month of May Celebrations, I’m offering two of my favorite things.  First up is one of my favorite books, Marie Antoinette, The Journey by Antonia Fraser, and secondly is one of my favorite movies, Mansfield Park staring Jonny Lee Miller and Frances O’Connor.

Also, since it’s the last giveaway of my birthday month, I’m also going to make the winner one of my ‘Molly’ bracelets.  You can see an example on my Tumbler.  Winner gets to pick color and metal and it will be made custom sized.

  • To enter leave me a comment telling me your favorite book and movie.
  • You may only enter (comment) once.
  • Contest runs through May 28th, and the winner with be drawn and posted that afternoon,
  • Good luck!
42 Responses to “My Favorites”

  1. My favorite book right now is Bone Magic by Yasmine Galenorn, and my favorite movie is the newest Alice in Wonderland.

  2. My favorite book is The Fountainhead by Ayn Rand and my favorite movie is Amelie (Sense and Sensibility coming in as a close second! I do adore my Jane Austen!)
    😀

  3. My favorite book is The Dark is Rising by Susan Copper and A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’edge, when I was younger I had trouble reading and these books helped my reading level sky rocket. I went from a first grade reading level in third grade to a college level in a matter of months. I read both of these books at least once a year.
    My favorite movie is The Labyrinth oh man it’s kind of rule for my age group to love that movie. You aren’t a true late 80’s child if you don’t LOVE that movie. :3

  4. Current favorite book… That’s a tough one. I have at least 5 that could be called my favorite book, but for now, I’ll go with Ender’s Shadow by Orson Scott Card.

    Favorite movie: Toss-up between Ratatouille and Up! Pixar makes most of my favorite movies, I adore them. 😀

  5. My favorite book is a trio of books written by Nick Bantock:

    – Griffin And Sabine
    – Sabine’s Notebook
    – The Golden Mean

    The story is so beautiful, and the books are filled with handpainted letters and postcards that the two main characters write to each other. ❤

    My favorite movie is the Princess Bride 🙂

  6. Hmmmmy favorite book changes so frequently. My old, “gold standard” favorite is Pride and Prejudice, but more recently, my favorite is probably Angel’s Blood, by Nalini Singh. My favorite movie is a toss up between Ocean’s Eleven, and The Fifth Element (another competition between old and new in my life, there). I’m terrible at picking favorites. I have a ridiculously wide range of taste. xD

  7. My favorite books are by Christopher Moore, like A Dirty Job. I have never laughed so hard in public and not have been able to stop myself.

    As for movies mine is Moulin Rouge, how could anyone not love it? I tear up every time I watch it.

  8. My all time favorite book is The Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley. I’m kinda a dork, the middle ages are my favorite time period. At this moment, my favorite movie is Tenacious D and the Pick of Destiny..lol, it cracks me up every time! I can’t get over it. A more serious favorite of mine is Remember Me..so sad..
    Anyways! yay!

  9. thecandiedmango May 24, 2010 at 1:05 pm

    Book: The Tale of Despereaux (Kate DiCamillo) or Dewey (Vicki Myron). I totes cried while reading these. I hate crying, even at funerals, so that’s a big deal for me.
    Movie: What Dreams May Come or the newest Star Trek.

  10. Glitter_Wings1995 May 24, 2010 at 1:15 pm

    My favorite book is Looking For Alaska. My favorite movie….I’m torn between Phantom of the Opera and Nightmare Before Christmas lol.

  11. My favourite book is The Gum Thief by Douglas Coupland and my fav movie (2 of them, I have oooodles though) is Ginger Snaps 1 or 2.
    Hehe, can’t get more Canadian than that, but they were what 1st pop to mind 🙂

  12. My favourite book is The book thief by Markus Zusak, and favourite movie is One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s nest. 🙂

  13. thebirdofparadise May 24, 2010 at 2:29 pm

    My favorite book is anything by John Steinbeck, but I will choose The Red Pony because it is one of the first books I taught when I was doing my practicum for my B. Ed. back in the day. I doubt I did him justice, but I tried. :/

    And favorite movie would have to be Muriel’s Wedding, for many reasons 🙂

  14. My favorite book is the Black Jewels Trilogy by Anne Bishop. Or, really, anything of hers. She’s the only author of whom I will buy ANY new book she writes, on the first day of release, in hardback, whether I can afford it or not. I would recommend them all; she writes fantasy/dark fantasy, very feminist and woman-positive stories and characters. Be warned, though, there are strong sexual themes and the characters in several of her books deal with sexual abuse and assault.

    My favorite movie, at the moment, would probably be Stardust or V for Vendetta.

  15. My favourite book is Trickster’s Queen by Tamora Pierce and my favourite movie is Born of Hope

  16. My favorite book is Dante’s Inferno… Its long but I just love it. And my favorite movie is Willy Wonka and the Chocolate factory. Wow Those don’t really match do they.
    But they are both classics.

  17. Oh geez, I don’t know if I could ever choose… Philip Pullman’s “His Dark Materials” and Michael Ende’s “The Neverending Story” for books, and Tarsem Singh’s “The Fall” for a movie.

    It’s been rumoured for a while that somebody’s going to remake “The Neverending Story”… what I wouldn’t give to have Tarsem Singh direct it!!

  18. My favorite book is Haunted by Chuck Palahniuk I highly recommend this book if you are into sick and twisted vignettes or even if you arent into that still check it out.
    Favorite Movie would be Cabaret

  19. My favorite book is The Life of Pi. I started and stopped reading it several times as I found it really difficult to get into the story at the beginning, but I am glad that I stuck with it. It ended up being one of the best novels that I’ve ever read.
    My favorite movie is The Princess Bride. I can watch this movie countless times and still findit enjoyable.

  20. My favourite book by far is ‘The Raw Shark Texts’ by Steven Hall. It’s really, really all kinds of amazing.
    Speaking of my favourite film, I guess I’ll go clichée and say ‘Fight Club’, which I absolutely adore (the book is even better!).

  21. My favorite book is actually a series of seven… Harry Potter! I love it. I even got a tattoo because I am that awesome.
    My favorite movie has to either be the Labyrinth or Rocky Horror. I can’t decide. I guess I just like musicals?

  22. I’m not entering because I’d feel bad if I happened to win TWO giveaways by you, but I did want to pop in to mention I got the Solstice Scents package and did a review of it over here if you’d like to check it out! Thanks again so much for the giveaway! 😀

    • Awww I’m sad you didn’t like the scents, I love them all! I tried to comment, but for some reason I haven’t been able to get Blogger to ‘verify’ my ID for the last few days.

      • Don’t feel bad! I’m glad I got to try out the products firsthand, so now I can get some stuff in scents I do like 😀
        And who knows, I might try some of them on and end up liking them on my skin. I had the opposite reaction with Vera Wang’s Princess… Loved it in the bottle but on me, it turned into something cloyingly sweet and powdery. Makes me gag thinking about it..

  23. My favorite book is Alice e Ulisses, it’s kinda of an unusual love story, and I just ADORE the way it’s written. If I ever finish a book (starting is easy!), I hope it comes close to it.

    And my favorite movie is Before Sunset. I know that a lot of people think it’s boring, but I just love it. It completely changed the way I look at movies.

  24. It’s hard to choose, I like a lot of books and movies! 🙂

    The Spellman Files (first of a series of 4) is a great book and I’m a sucker for romance, I can watch Ever After over and over 🙂

  25. I really wrestle with the favorite book but will go with Lord of the Flies. The dynamics in that book are so amazing and layered. I think it’s why I became such a huge fan of Lost (I went to work with puffy, swollen eyes this morning from watchng the finale…whoa).

    Favorite movie is tough too but will go with The Party (Peter Sellers). Absolutely hilarious!

    Love your blog!
    Layla

  26. It’s a bit hard to pick one favorite book, but I’d have to say…The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry. I received it from my father for one of my birthdays. I like reading it about once every year. My favorite movie, off the top of my head, Donnie Darko. 🙂

  27. Favourite book is “Playing the Jack” by Mary Brown.

    As for favourite movie… I don’t think I have one. What I like really depends on what I feel like watching at the time.

    Disney’s Beauty and the Beast is an old favourite, too. And Ever After. And A Knight’s Tale. (See? >> )

  28. Hi,
    my favourite movie is Armagedon and my favourite book is Harry Potter 😉

  29. um, haven’t read much stuff lately but i would say marie antoinette as movie, interview with the vampire for book and film, and pride & prejudice as book and film.

  30. My favorite book and movie is The Neverending Story. Both propelled my interest in storytelling and creative writing.

  31. Favorite book: Tamsin by Peter S. Beagle
    Favorite Movie: Beauty and the Beast (yes the disney version, I will never let go)

  32. My favourite book is Girl, Interrupted by Susanna Kaysen, and my favourite movie is Kinky Boots.

  33. My favorite book is Cotton in My Sack by Lois Lenski. It’s a children’s book but it is my favorite; story of Joanda, who picks cotton in Arkansas. It’s one of those books that “take you there”; when you end the book, you almost feel as if you are mourning someone because you felt so close to them, even though they are a work of fiction.

    My favorite movie is Quentin Tarantino’s Kill Bill (both Volume 1 and 2); there’s something to be said about a kick ass gal dressed in yellow motorcycle attire who lives simply to avenge her (perceived) daughter’s death. A mama bear with a diva attitude – the kind of role model I can look up to!

  34. One of my favorite books is the Life Of Pi and my favorite movie is Into The Wild.

  35. JENNY WHISKEY May 26, 2010 at 7:39 am

    My favorite book is “Still Like with Woodpecker”, Tom Robbins. I adore a nice twisted love story. Favorite Movie??? I am not really a movie person. So I will just say that the #1 movie i’ve watched when bored since i was a kid has always been Gypsy. I almost kind of wish life was like a musical.

  36. Favourite Film: A toss-up between A Hard Day’s Night and Phantom of The Paradise

    Yes, I’m a lover of music and cheesiness…

    Favourite Book: Because They Wanted To, by Mary Gaitskill

    Gaitskill is one of my fave writers to read because she sets such a distinct mood with whatever story she’s telling. I would love to get lost in her written world.

    Thanks for the giveaway 🙂

  37. My favourite book is War for the Oaks by Emma Bull. And my favourite movie is The Fall.

  38. So hard to pick but…

    fave book – a clockwork orange

    fave movie – the dark crystal

    nettysgirl at gmail.com