Bamboo Wear – A Review

Physicians Formula has introduced a new line of pressed powders and bronzers called Bamboo Wear.

Bamboo Wear is a line of makeup and accessories with formulas that contain Bamboo Silk for the perfect airbrushed finish. Each Face Powder and Bronzer Refill fits in the Bamboo Wear Refillable Bamboo Compacts.

Bamboo Silk Powder

Each Bamboo Wear Face Powder and Bronzer Refill contains this highly sustainable, nutrient-rich and illuminating powder that delivers skin-renewing and skin-conditioning benefits for the perfect airbrushed finish.

  • Remineralizes – Revives skin with essential minerals needed to maintain an even skin tone, texture and healthy-looking complexion.
  • Rebalances – Absorbs excess oil for a fresh, comfortable feel and finish without a drying effect.
  • Restores – Smoothes skin surface and blurs fine lines while providing a toning and lifting effect that begins upon application.
Sustainable Packaging
  • Bamboo is a highly renewable resource and its natural sustainability, durability and beauty make it ideal for a reusable compact.
Bamboo Wear Bamboo Compact
  • This naturally beautiful and durable compact houses the Bamboo Silk Face Powder or Bronzer refill in the bottom compartment with magnets to hold it in place.
  • Includes a full-size mirror and bamboo brush applicator for convenient touch-ups on-the-go.
  • Your empty refill pan can be recycled and the compact can be reused.
  • Right now the pressed powder formula only comes in three shades, Beige, Creamy Natural, and Translucent.  I ended up getting Translucent, but it’s not very fair, so anyone who was lighter then me (and remember I am already rather light) would have problems finding a color to suit them.

    Quite frankly the brush that’s included is a bit rubbish.  Although it’s synthetic it’s a little rough, although it works well enough and fits into the compact beautifully.  The compact itself is made of bamboo and stays closed via little magnets set into it.  The powder compact also stays in place inside the palette with a few little well set magnets at the bottom of the compact.

    Curious about what exactly bamboo silk offers I did a little research.  I know it’s a sustainable alternative to wood, etc etc, and one of my favorite sweaters is made from bamboo silk someone made me.  It’s naturally antimicrobial, which would be great for wearer with skin problems such as acne, since this formula also contains oil control ingredients.

    Also in the formula is dimethicone, also known as silicon, which makes this a soft focus product that will blur fine lines, pores, and wrinkles.

    INGREDIENTS: TALC, MICA, BAMBUSA ARUNDINACEA STEM POWDER, DIMETHICONE, ZINC STEARATE, DIISOSTEARYL MALATE, OCTYLDODECYL STEAROYL STEARATE, NYLON-12, GLYCERYL CAPRYLATE, LAUROYL LYSINE, CINNAMIC ACID, SORBITAN SESQUIOLEATE, TOCOPHERYL ACETATE, MAY CONTAIN: IRON OXIDES, TITANIUM DIOXIDE, ULTRAMARINES.

    The ‘may contain’ ingredients refer to the variations in shades and bronzers.

    Would I purchase Physicians Formula Bamboo Wear again?  I might.

    • I really like the idea of the bamboo silk, but I’m going to wear it for a while to see how it works on my skin.
    • It leaves a little sheen, although it’s not shimmery or glittery.
    • It’s rather sheer, so it makes a nice finishing powder, although I do prefer PF Healthy Wear with the SPF 50.
    8 Responses to “Bamboo Wear – A Review”

    1. I love sustainable/biodegradable/recyclable/reusable/you-get-the-idea packaging! IMO, it does more to make a cosmetic eco-friendly than any spotlight ingredient. (I’m not saying that ingredient choice isn’t important, too, mind you.) It’s especially that this stuff is inexpensive & widely available… I hate it when people think sustainability has to be a rarefied, boutique market.

      Unfortunately, I’ve had the same Physician’s Formula bronzer compact for 6 years now, and I’ve barely worn away the design, so maybe I won’t be getting this any time soon!

      • I do like this idea a lot, myself. I’m anxious to see what all the company is going to do, they have so many interesting things out these days!

    2. It’s too bad the brush sucks, I think it looks cute.
      I like the idea of bamboo silk.
      I’d be hesitant to try this though, since it has the typical drugstore problem of limited shades and being too dark.

      • I got a reply to an email to the company, they DO currently plan to expand the colors into lighter and darker shades!

    3. Runaround Sous June 4, 2010 at 3:15 pm

      I wonder if other mineral companies carry loose bamboo silk powder and if it can be used in mix-your-own formulations. And I also wonder about bamboo silk’s benefits for the skin, if there are any.

      Another great review. Please keep us posted on how it works on your skin…

      • I Googled my fingers off, and I can’t seem to find it 😦 It would be awesome if they did!

    4. I wish more companies would go with the idea of selling refills for compacts. I don’t need to buy a new compact every time I need new powder.

      • This!
        I really like the refills idea too! It’s one of the reasons I started buying the MAC refills to fit into a palette.