One Hand Washes the Other – A Review

Ordering

I’ve been keeping an eye on the OHWTO shop for a little while.  Becca, the owner, is sweet and I was waiting till I had less on my plate to be able to sit down and work on more reviews.  The shop is almost a year old and carries a wide variety of things, such as balms and glosses, soaps, scents, and lotions, the usual B&B selection.  And it’s mostly (if not all) vegan.

The listings are very comprehensive and informative, without what seems to be the growing trendy of over flowery descriptions.  I could tell immediately what things were and what the scents would smell like.

I ordered:

LIP TINT- Moisturizing Colored Vegan Lip Balm FRIDA

Victuals- Handmade Cold Process Olive Oil Soap Bar with Cocoa Butter- Vegan friendly

SOLID SCENT- Set of 3 Mess-free fragrances in tubes- Choose your scents- VEGAN

Shipping

My order shipped really quickly.  I had it within a week and I got a notice it was going out.  Although the shipping was fair, I was refunded the amount over the actual cost, and I always admire that honesty.

Packaging

Everything was packaged really well in a small box, wrapped with tissue.  Inside my items were packaged really cutely, all with a sort of elegant feel.  The solid scents came in their own organza bag, as did the lip color.  The soap was wrapped in tissue paper with it’s own label.  Included was my invoice with a hand written thank-you, a business card, and two solid scent samples.  Everything fit in with the branding of the shop and it was well thought out.

Product

The Soap

Victuals –

Hearty rolled oats spiked with syrupy sweet wild blueberries, topped with a sprinkling of maple sugar and a splash of vanilla rice milk. This is a breakfast staple for me, and is the inspiration for this yummy foody blend.

I have honestly wondered what would happen if I took a bite out of this soap.  We used to get this oatmeal from someplace that came in chunks like this soap, you’d just warm up what you need.  Maybe someone in my family made it that way, I honestly don’t know.  But on top of looking beautiful this smells just as amazing, although I’m a total sucker for a good noncandy blueberry scent.

The actual soap formula is nice, although nothing amazingly special.  It washed clean away and didn’t leave anything odd on my skin, and it wasn’t drying.

The Solid Scents

Each scent comes in an oval tube with the scent, product amount, and ingredients listed. It’s a nice melty formula with no beeswax, so it dries into the skin softly and easily.  I was surprised at how long the scent lasted.  I applied Grass Stain one morning just after my shower and I was sitting at lunch and got complimented on it.

Grass Stain-

This scent is fresh, clean and vibrant. Remember your childhood, frolicking in the grass, rolling down grassy hills and playing on the swing set at the park? This is the fragrance to bring it all back. It’s crisp, sweet and green.

I love this.  A lot of people make a ‘grass’ scent, but this is among my favorite of them.  It’s just a little sweet smelling but it smells just like you were emptying the bag on the lawn mower.

Yuzu-

Yuzu is a Japanese citrus fruit. This scent has wonderful sparkling overtones of grapefruit, citron, and a hint of mandarin orange.

This scent is so crisp and bright and amazing.  I keep wanting to put it on my lips, it seems like the smell would taste just amazing.

Smoky Patchouli-

Throw your pre-conceived notions about patchouli scents out the window- smoky patchouli is here! Deep, dark, and smoky, this scent is sort of like what would happen if patchouli decided to grow a beard and live in a cabin in the middle of the forest. Notes of Christmas trees (balsam) and cedar cut through the smoky base like a knife. This is a manly fragrance for manly men.

It’s for manly men and girly me.  I’m not usually a ‘cedar’ kinda gal, but I’m becoming a patchouli addict.  This is such an interesting blend of scents.  The actual patchouli is very subtle and not overwhelming, although honestly I’d have wished it were a tad more obvious.  I really like the little bite of smoke it’s got to it.  It reminds me of my family’s old cabin up north, with a fire in the hearth and the sweet wood of the walls sort of just lingering even after years.  It is a little strong for me, so if I were to wear it, it would be sparingly.

For the samples I received, Lost at Sea and Carnivale.

Lost at Sea-

You can almost taste the salty sea air as it crashes against the bow of the ship, being cast about amongst the wild green and blue waves. Inhale deeply the tropical bounty of coconuts which could only have been bestowed upon you by Neptune himself, and the bouquet of citrus fruits brought aboard and stowed in the ship’s hold for just such an occasion, and have not a care in the world that you are lost at sea.

This is one of those ‘rain’ or ‘fresh’ type scents I can never describe correctly.  I can say it’s got a citrusy undertone to it, though.  I wasn’t crazy about it, but it wasn’t bad.

Carnivale-

Cotton candy, orange soda, lemon snow cones and vanilla ice cream all come together to evoke memories of the sweetest part of childhood summer nights.

It’s lemony and sweet and I really like it.  I don’t really get much vanilla from it, although it’s defiantly a ‘candy’ scent.

The Lip Gloss

Frida-

A sheer pearly coral, she’s one hot tamale. With a trick always tucked up her sleeve, Frida’s appearance subtly changes from orangey to pink in different lighting. Frida is very lightly flavored- but not sweetened- with blood orange essential oil.

My summer colors are coral, gold/bronze, and turquoise, so I picked this shade and flavor, hoping it would work well and be a little versatile.  It’s a beautiful shade and a yummy flavor, all with the great vegan consistency I love in a balm.  I’d go so far as to say these line of balms would be a great substitute for AL’s now discontinued lip sticks and glosses.  OHWTO makes quite a few different shades.

Conclusion

Would I purchase from One Hand Washes the Other again?  Yes!

  • They have a ton more scents that I’m anxious to try.  I found a list of them here.
  • Shipping was really quick and everything packaged nicely.
  • The quality of the items was great!

Ok, I was just inserting the links to this post and placed another order…

Overall: /5

Find OHWTO Online

Twitter

Blog

24 Responses to “One Hand Washes the Other – A Review”

  1. I really need to do a balm haul from etsy.

    (Are you sticking to this new font? It’s nice but it’s showing up quite pale and fuzzy on my screen).

  2. I have really been enjoying all of the reviews on your blog. I am looking for a super moisturizing lip gloss. I really like LipFusion’s Nude color because it moisturizes well, but it is super expensive. So, I have been looking at Etsy’s lip products because of all of your Etsy reviews.

  3. Oh, c’mon Grey. :<
    Another 5 stars? WHILE I'M BROKE? Fine, I'll just place it on my "to buy"-list, then. (I'm not mad, I'm just sad my wallet is saying no when my head is yelling "YES! YES! YES!)

    • I actually have about seven or so more reviews to post, but I’m just inclined to write the better ones first. It gets depressing to post so many duds 😦

      • Please post them, maybe I get to write some of the “to buy”-names off my list. That would be great, means I can order from the good ones sooner. 8D

  4. I just ordered from the place! I’ve been wanting to try some solid perfumes for a while now but haven’t really found any scents I’m dying to try from other places.

    OHWTO has so many delightful sounding ones though!!

    Also ordered a lip tint and a sugar scrub. The wash I use in the shower is almost out and I’ve been wanting to be an etsy convert for a while! Haus of Gloi tempted me but OHWTO has me utterly intrigued!!

  5. I adore OHWTO, I’m plotting what to get on my next order.

  6. I really want to buy from this company when i have the money. They have such beautiful soaps an some of the scents sound wonderful! I want all the scents you got except Smoky Patchouli and Lost at Sea 🙂

  7. Yeah! Nice, vegan, TINTED balms! I’m definitely gonna try this shop out!

  8. Oooh, glad you like them! I’ve been lurking their Etsy for the past month or so, but I wasn’t quite sure whether to add them to my “to buy” list yet. But for those balms, they’re definitely going on my list. 🙂

    • I got a regular one, as in non tinted, and I’m loving it, too.

      Plus that scent we were talking about yesterday, very impressive!

  9. Pleased to see the grass scent is so nice. I love those type of smells too, but sometimes they’re so sour and off.

    Totally unrelated, but I’m visiting Socal for a few weeks (omg, love San Diego), and I wonder if you’ve got an afternoon off sometime you’d like to meet up and have a bloggers’ lunch? We could talk London and makeup, window-shop… Drop me an email!

  10. This was such a pleasant Sunday surprise! I nearly died when I heard my shop was going to be reviewed here on LeGothique- I know Grey has some pretty high standards, so to see a review of my products, and then a 5 star rating, too, well, this just floored me. Needless to say, I was in a super awesome mood yesterday…and have been so far today, too 🙂

    Grey, thanks so much for the kind words and endorsement- I really, truly, wholeheartedly appreciate this, and I’m so glad to hear that you’re enjoying your goodies!

  11. OMG, tinted balms! I have my eye on them now. I know you said it’s a beautiful shade, but how sheer is the one you tried? They look pretty great in the swatches! Hmmm…

    • My follow up will have swatches, as in on mu lips. They are sheer, but very nice.

      • Thanks for the reply, and for bringing this company to my attention, lol. Impatient as I am, I ordered a lippie a few hours after I posed the question, and I already got in the mail! You’re right, they’re quite sheer, but I’m smitten. It’s enough color for a bit of oomph, but sheer enough that I can swipe it on anytime in place of a usual plain balm. 🙂