FOTD – Karli

Hey, everyone! First off, I want to say that this is really cool and I’m so excited that Grey chose me to be a guest blogger. My name is Karli and I’m 16 years old. I am, of course, a student. But I plan on becoming a makeup artist (and possibly even working with special effects makeup, which is something I really love to play around with. You guys may even see a couple looks!) I don’t have a blog of my own right now, but it’s something I’ve been thinking about doing for a while. My love for makeup started at 13 years old when I got my first Urban Decay eyeshadow. I was in a production of the Wizard of Oz and I needed a really bright green. And after that day, my mother’s bank account would never be the same. Besides makeup, I also love jewelry making and crafting. I play a lot of video games and I’m a huge fan of sci-fi and horror movies. I also suffer from the fairly rare connective tissue disorder Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome.
And since I don’t want to leave you on that downer, I’ll leave you with two looks from this weekend!

Eyes:
Urban Decay Primer Potion Eden
Urban Decay Shattered
Urban Decay Flipside
MAC Blanc Type
MAC Teal Pigment
MAC Deep Truth
MAC Carbon
MAC Sweet and Punchy
MAC Feline Kohl Power
MAC Fluidline in Blacktrack
Doir Diorshow Blackout mascara

Face:
Smashbox Photo Finish primer
MUFE Mat Velvet+ foundation (shade 15)
MUFE Full Cover concealer (shade 2)
Urban Decay Razor Sharp Ultra Definition Finishing Powder

Cheeks:
MAC Harmony blush
Smashbox Radiance blush
MAC Spectacle! Highlight powder

Lips:
MAC Pink Plaid lipstick

***********************

Eyes:
Urban Decay Primer Potion Eden
Urban Decay Protest (Book of Shadows vol. 1)
Urban Decay Green Goddess
Urban Decay Acid Rain
MAC Sweet and Punchy
MAC Blanc Type
MAC Carbon
MAC Feline Kohl Power
MAC Fluidline in Blacktrack
Dior Diorshow Blackout mascara

Face:
Smashbox Photo Finish primer
MUFE Mat Velvet+ foundation (shade 15)
MUFE Full Cover concealer (shade 2)
Urban Decay Razor Sharp Ultra Definition Finishing Powder

Cheeks:
MAC Harmony blush
Smashbox Radiance blush
Too Faced So Smurfy Illuminating Face powder

Lips:
MAC Myth lipstick

21 Responses to “FOTD – Karli”

  1. Cool looks! I really love the pop of yellow in the first look.

  2. Very nice!! You’re a talented 16 yr old!!

  3. I’m 16 too! But I have only been wearing make up about a year, I wish I had your blending skills. šŸ™‚ I guess i’ll just have to go practice.

    I hope to see more looks from you soon,

    Zoe

  4. Lovely stuff Karli!!!! I must try and attempt one of these looks…

  5. You are gorgeous and very talented my dear!

  6. I wish that at 16, I had been as savvy with the makeup application as you are šŸ™‚ My “technique” consisted of smearing liquid foundation all over my face with a sponge, shaving stray-hairs from my eyebrows with a leg razor, smudging purple eyeshadow on with my fingers and AS MUCH BLACK EYELINER AS POSSIBLE. If I was single, I wore lots of black lipstick that I would stock up on when the Spirit store opened up on Halloween. If I was dating someone, I kept it to a clear bonne belle gloss so that my boyfriend wouldn’t go to class with black lipstick all over his mouth due to makeout sessions. I guarantee you this all looked ~*awesome*~

    The only non-drugstore makeup I got ahold of was whatever my mom didn’t want from the clinique gift bags she got with her moisturizer. I was convinced the expensive stuff was for old people, for some reason.

    • I bet you were teh sexor.

    • Embarrassingly enough, I did go through a phase like that. But I was about 11 or 12.
      I plucked my eyebrows almost completely off. I wore super thick, super cheap mineral foundation from the drugstore (with no blush or bronzer). I’d then take my red lip/eye liner pencil from Hot Topic and color in my entire eyelid with it. Finish it off with some thick black liner and badly dyed hair and you have me throughout most of middle school.

      It was pretty cute with my Tripp bondage pants.
      I’ve burned all of the photographs.

  7. These looks are lovely!!!

  8. Very gorgeous Karli! You’re very talented. I adore the second look.

    p.s.
    Grey, are you still looking for guest bloggers? I’ve been thinking about sending in a couple of my looks to you.

  9. thebirdofparadise June 17, 2010 at 4:01 pm

    Very impressive blending skills and color knowledge/awareness.

    Grey, I really like this new segment!

    • Thanks! I’m excited to be able to showcase a bunch of different faces, looks, and styles!

  10. Those are both great looks, you’ve definitely got skills!

  11. WOW. Those are awesome, Karli. Wanna do my makeup sometime? =^^=

  12. Gorgeous! I’m awestruck by your makeup skills šŸ˜€
    I still feel like a tool in the dark when it comes to blending eye makeup.

  13. Well I demand that Karli start a blog! I love these two looks šŸ˜€

  14. You’ve got some serious talent! I wish you every success in becoming a make-up artist šŸ™‚

    If you start a blog I will follow for sure.

  15. Impressive. She has more eye shadow skills than I do.

  16. Impressed! Love the second look – time to invest in some more Urban Decay products…