Pick of the Week

I’m almost ashamed to post this, but this week my Pick of the Week is a series of young adult books by Suzanne Collins called The Hunger Games.  After getting them for my book club, I had seriously debated dropping the club.  Every three weeks one member gets to pick the next book we read.  For a while it was things like Persuasion, The Last Wife of Henry VII, and Cut to the Quick (my choice), but the youngest member of the club threw this one out.

I ended up getting a Kindle 3 (which should honestly be a Pick of the Week itself), so it took three clicks to download all three books of the series.  Even though you can only pick one book a round, I figured if it was a series, I’d get them all, I hate not knowing what happens.  I figured if anything it would at least get me through a couple of weeks until someone else picked a better book.

Holy Snapple was I wrong about this series!  I read a LOT and a lot of what I read are mysteries.  I can get about twenty pages into a book and call the ending, tell you the butler did it, or figure out the two people who hate each other now are going to be married by the end.  With Hunger Games I was so drawn into the story I had no idea what was going to happen next.  The events had to happen a certain way, obviously, because I already knew there were two more books in the series, but it was all fresh and exciting.  Maybe this is because I typically don’t read young adult books to know that this is a common plot/story/etc, but as my first foray into whatever genre this is considered, but I was blown away.

Thanks to the Kindle I literally whipped through the rest of the books in a couple of days, always on the edge of my seat.  It’s a book full of violence and rebellion, but the author approaches in in such a way it tells a story and sends a message without one over-powering the other.

17 Responses to “Pick of the Week”

  1. Yes! I love this series. My sister and I were practically dying waiting for Mockingjay, which I actually need to read again, because I blew through it in a couple of hours the first time. XD

  2. I felt the same way about the series. I only picked up the first book about 6 months ago because my students (Middle School)were reading it and I like to keep up with that a little so I can talk to them an encourage their reading habits.

    It is incredible!! I think that this is the best YA series since Harry Potter, which I also love (a great story, decent writing and it got a whole generation of youth reading!)

    Yes it is unpredictable, and it keeps you riveted all the way until the end. Speaking of the end (to reference another YA series -although a retched one) I was “team Gale” all the way so you know how I felt about the ending. 🙂 No spoilers I promise!

    This trilogy is fabulous!

    • I love that they are appropriate as young adult books. They don’t glamorize sex or violence like Twilight does.

  3. Sounds interesting! I’m in the middle of assignments and a book reccommended to me by another blogger, but I’ll look these up in a few weeks.

  4. OMG, I love this series! I picked up the first book on a whim, blew through it in a weekend and went ‘Wow…that’s actually the best book I’ve read in a long time!’ I really hope a movie version could do it justice…but I’m not very optimistic about that.

    • I read so many books that are ‘good’ but these are some of the best books I’ve read in a while, too.

  5. Read this whole trilogy last week and was blown away…brilliant on many different levels.

  6. I haven’t read this series yet (I figure I’ll get around to it when it doesn’t have fifty people on the reserve list at the library) but there is absolutely no shame in reading YA books. Because often they are far more interesting than what gets passed off as literary fiction.

  7. I love the Hunger Games. My boyfriend and I went to get Mockingjay the day it came out, and spent the rest of the day reading.

    There’s a lot of great YA and children’s lit out there. I read some for my work (I’m a grade 5/6 teacher) and some of it is simply because it’s good. I passionately believe that a good book is a good book, regardless of the age it was written for.

    • A good book is a good book, however, a lot of the YA books these days are HORRIBLE, trying to follow the momentum of Twilight, which is some of the poorest writing I’ve seen in a while.

  8. OMG I love that this is catching on. I seriously devoured the three books in three sittings, I love the whole idea and details it presents. I hadn’t enjoyed YA books in awhile ( My ultimate favorites being The Giver and A Wrinkle in Time, I think this was right up my alley, though 😉 ) I love that you posted about the series 🙂