The Greys Have It!

In past years, the end of summer meant an outbreak of vaguely Goth-y nail polish.

While black is a wardrobe staple for many women, its appearance on fingertips may be a touch too moody for personal or workplace tastes. That’s why this fall’s popular polishes are so fantastic: the muted shades of putty, gray and greige (a mix of gray and beige) complement all skin tones and offer a slightly toned-down way to be edgy and trendy.

The Style List

From left to right : OPI Metro Chic, Rimmel Steel Grey, Butter London All Hail McQueen, Maybelline Gray-t Glamour, and WnW Metallica

20 Responses to “The Greys Have It!”

  1. I love the Butter London color!

  2. I love 1st, 2nd and 4th color – completely my thing ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I have the Maybelline Gray-t Glamour. I grabbed it as soon as I saw it. It’s a great neutral, although it takes some getting used to for me. I wear black as a neutral all the time, but this color seems to standout more against my skin color- which is funny because I’m pale and you think the black would be as crazy as it gets.

  4. Every time I see Maybelline Gray-t Glamour I think I need it.

  5. I want Metro Chic so bad. I tried Rimmel’s but it was too brown for my taste. I think Metro has more purple than brown, true?

  6. A few years ago I searched and searched for a beautiful gray polish. At the time, it was not a popular shade apparently! I finally found on ebay, a bottle of Moon Over Mumbai by OPI. It’s a beautiful neutral dove gray. It’s been my favorite ever since.

  7. I have the Rimmel one and I love it. I refuse to stop wearing it, even though we’re entering Spring here. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. I know the greige look is terribly fashionable at the moment, but no other colour has ever looked less flattering on me! Both grey and brown polish give me corpse hands, and combined it’s almost worse.

    • I’m sort of actually loving it. I’m sort of on the golden side, though, even as pale as I am, so it’s not at bad.

  9. I’m also obsessed with grey/greige nails! I keep buying Metro Chic dupes, almost subconsciously at this point — I have the Rimmel one, Sally Hansen’s Commander in Chic and one from Confetti (Moonstruck is what it’s called, I think)? I also have Revlon’s Grey Suede, which is actually more on the beige side of greige, and Sally Hansen’s Wet Cement, which I love because it’s a lighter grey and the wear is uh-mazing. Just got Gray-t Glamour and I’m eager to wear it; I keep eyeing the Butter London but they’re sooo expensive!

    • It’s so funny, I almost bought the SH one, but thought to myself it looked exactly like the OPI and yet that SAME day I saw the Rimmel one and went WOW. Duhhhhh ๐Ÿ™‚