First Aid Beauty – AntiRedness Serum

Anti-Redness Serum is packed with caffeine, a natural vasoconstrictor that can help with visible skin redness. This product is for anyone with facial redness, whatever the source, including redness due to rosacea, ruddy skin, and chronic or temporary irritation. By shrinking blood vessels, the serum improves unsightly redness in the dermis. Colloidal sulfur works to combat the root cause of facial redness and aloe soothes while ginger works as a natural, powerful anti-inflammatory. Bisabolol is an exceptionally gentle anti-inflammatory that aids penetration of the formula’s actives. FAB Antioxidant Booster completes the picture by defending the skin against free radical damage.

 

My skin has been really angry with me.  This summer I did something really stupid and spent some quality time outside while on both a retinal as well as a tetracycline antibiotic.  The result has been long lasting redness.  It comes and it goes, but on the days that I’m red it’s nearly impossible for correctors (such as green tinted powders or creams) to fix it.  I turned to Sephora to see if there was another solution.  I discovered this product from First Aid Beauty.  Reviews were hard to find and reading the ones left on the Sephora page.  It looked like people either loved it or hated it without much in between.  I thought it was worth a go.

At 34$ I was glad to discover that it was 1.7 ounces of formula, which is actually a fair amount considering you only really need to use a pea sized amount.  Reviewers said that it had a strong smell, and while yes it smells like sulfur, I didn’t find it at all overwhelming.

When I first applied it, it didn’t work right away, and my heart sank.  After about fifteen or twenty minutes I took another look and was really pleased to see that my redness had disappeared!  I applied my SPF and foundation on top ( I didn’t feel like I needed an additional moisturizer) and went the whole day with an even complexion.  Once I washed my face I reapplied a little and then once again before bed and my redness was abated for several days.

My skin, while red, isn’t vividly so.  It’s certainly not as severe as rosacea or acne might leave it.  It’s also quite smooth and blemish free.  While I certainly cannot say for certain that it would work as well of these conditions as it does for me, I do recommend it for mild and occasional redness.

5 Responses to “First Aid Beauty – AntiRedness Serum”

  1. Ooh, I’m going to have to try this. I’m so glad to hear that it helps. Thanks for the review!

  2. My boyfriend has skin that I’d almost describe as translucent, it’s so pale that the pinkness that you see is just the redness from blood underneath.

    When he used this, it’s almost exactly as you experienced, at first it was almost disappointing, and five minutes later, he was just pale, without the underlying red/pink.

    Pretty awesome stuff, he’s still using it daily and it’s been about 2 months since he bought it.

    I’m fairly tan, so I can’t attest to how it works on myself. 😡

    • I am really quite pale too, so the green correctors just made me look GREEN and still red. I’m still buying them to try, through. I never learn!

  3. I wonder if this would work on the redness on my legs?