Reader’s Suggestion Week

After trying to brainstorm some new companies/products to review someone (coughTIFFANYcough) suggested I ask my readers to tell me what products they love using and do a weeks worth of reviews based on the suggestions.

Good idea!

  • Comment and let me know, what is one MUST USE/MUST HAVE product that you use that I should try out.  Not sure if I’ve reviewed it before?  Type it into the little ‘search’ box at the top of the page first.
  • Seven randomly picked products will be picked to review.
  • One randomly drawn comment from the suggestions will win a 25$ gift certificate to an Etsy shop of their choice.
  • Entries will be open from now until October 14th (so for one week) and the winner drawn on the 15th.
  • Reader Reviews will be posted (hopefully) during the first week of November.
46 Responses to “Reader’s Suggestion Week”

  1. ELF lipglosses. They are 1$ and although sheer work really well for just a hint of color. I always have one in my purse.

  2. Fyrinnae Pixie Epoxy
    or
    Physicians Formula Gel Liners

  3. Me, but I’m getting it together for you 😉

  4. Ewww, that Tiffany, I hate her. Oh, wait.

    I was going to suggest Argan Oil, but you’ve used it already 🙂

    I’ve been using North American Hemp Co.’s Volumega Shampoo and Conditioner for a couple of months now. My hair is as shiny as it used to be when I lived on the west coast 😀 I had some misgivings about them when the first bottle said vegan and the ingredient list said “cruelty-free silk.” So I emailed the company and they told me that because of my email and other emails they had gotten, they were no longer going to use silk at all in their products! Yay! Their products are all free of SLS, so even after coloring my hair over a month ago, the color hasn’t faded. They smell good too.

  5. Jules Noctambule October 7, 2010 at 4:23 pm

    I know you mentioned possibly doing a review for A Joey Named Roo, but I didn’t find one in the search so I’ll recommend their body butter! I use the Lemon Meringue Pie: http://www.etsy.com/listing/56275731/lemon-meringue-pie-whipped-body-butter-2 which I like because it’s more lemon and less faintly-lemon-sugarsweet like too many other lemon scented things, but they do offer more scents.

    I find that their formula makes my skin feel super-soft without being greasy (huge peeve in a lotion!) and that the scent lingers nicely but isn’t overpowering (another peeve!) at all. If I put it on at night, I wake up soft-skinned and wondering what smells good! I’m trying to decide between their Gardenia and Chai body butter for my next purchase — do I want to dream about spring or soak up the autumn?

  6. Philosophy Inner Grace shampoo, body wash, bubble bath used as shampoo. I use this once a week, and it really cleans my hair without stripping my color. It lathers really well. I love this stuff. You can get any flavor, but I like the original graces because the formula is creamy and nice.

    Because of the lovely Phyrra’s info about hair, I have gotten down to washing my hair just once a week. The product that I can not live without is Lush’s Vanilla Dusting Powder. I wash my hair Sunday night. Then, by Wednesday night or Thursday morning, my scalp is a little oily. I put some of the powder in my hands and I massage through my scalp, and within an hour or so, it absorbs the excess oil. I don’t need to wash again until Sunday. What I like about this product vs. other dry shampoos is that it does not contain aluminum which has been linked to Alzheimer’s disease.

    Another thing that I use every day that I think is outstanding for deodorant is a combination of liquid crystal on my armpits with a couple of spritzes of Weleda Wild Rose deodorant over the top. I still sweat, but it doesn’t stink. And, there is no aluminum like what is contained in Anti-perspirants.

    • Do you think the Lush stuff would work for dark hair?

      • I’ve never used Lush’s dry shampoo specifically, but I’ve used straight up TKB micas to color match other, non-aerosolized ones to my hair. It’s still a bit pale, but non nearly as bad as white (especially when my hair is blue or purple).

      • I have dark hair, and I find as long as i don’t put the powder directly on top of my part i’ll be ok. I usually flip pieces of hair over around my part and brush it in, and I always apply it on the underside of my hair to avoid that “graying” that happens with white powder in brown hair.

        I’ve used “PSSSST” for years, but now there are so many nice smelling better working products out there

      • oops, I replied down below instead, but my hair is very dark brown — almost black. I use it. You can see it for the first 3 or 4 minutes, but it fades. I massage it into my roots a bit and then just rub the areas close the scalp in if I see powder. It is a body powder and not a dry shampoo.

  7. Autumn Peterson October 7, 2010 at 6:08 pm

    Physicians Formula Conceal Rx™ Physicians Strength Concealer

    I want to try the Circle Control as well and the SPF 50 tinted moisturizer but this concealer is the best and longest lasting coverage for my under eye area I have ever come across!

  8. -Chagrin Valley All Natural Whipped Squalane Face & Eye Mousse (and their Cafe Moreno shampoo bar among others.. and their soaps.. and their whipped butters and butter bars)

    -Suki Pure Facial Moisture – Nourishing (way too expensive, but good)

  9. On the moisturizing front, I recommend Trader Joe’s Enrich Moisturizing Face Lotion with SPF 15. It’s like $4 for a 4oz bottle and it’s just… awesome. I so totally ❤ this, and am SO glad I decided to give it a try!

  10. I like Virtue Natural a lot.
    I use their serum, their face scrub and their body scrub (in pumpkin pie) and I like it all.
    I’ve also been using SoBe Night Treatment and I like it a lot.
    Besides it, I think you’ve reviewed all I use. Your blog is one of the first places I check before making a purchase.

  11. I want to suggest Bobbi Brown’s Color Corrector (I have it in Dark Peach)- this works so well on my dark undereye circles, but I think I read somewhere on the blog that you don’t have dark circles?

    So I’ll also recommend my current comfort scent, People of The Labyrinths Luctor et Emergo eau de toilette. At first I wasn’t impressed by it at all, but after a few more uses I kinda got addicted. Found it quite calming, especially the drydown. My other current faves have been reviewed already, like EpicallyEpic’s lotion, and tmtm’s lip balms. 🙂

    • I hate to jinx myself, but nope, no dark circles at all. ::runs off to knock on wood::

      • My hair is very dark brown — almost black. So, it does work. It is a body powder that the sales lady suggested using for that purpose. I put it on and then kind of massage it into my scalp/roots. It disappears. I don’t notice any color change in my hair.

  12. Believe it or not, Kirkland brand Princess Borghese(Costco) eye serum. It comes in a package to two tubes and is fairly inexpensive, under $15 if I remember correctly. Just a dab around the eyes every morning and evening takes care of those dry little lines and smoothes the skin so concealer doesn’t cake up.

  13. First of all— it is sooo hard for me to find a product in my arsenal that you don’t use or have tried! LOL

    Besides the TJ’s Moisturizing Lotion, I am wondering if you have tried the Avalon Organics Vitamin C Balancing Facial Toner, or anything else from their Vitamin C line. I like the toner as a mineral setting mist, too. (But I have added my own spray nozzle to their bottle, in order to do that.)

    I am also curious about your Sweet Anthem perfume review. You mentioned one coming up a while back.

  14. *Ninjas in*

    If you’ve been checking your traffic you should’ve noticed me lurking lately, catching up.

    Pricey, but I recently tried YSL Top Secrets Flash Radiance Skincare Brush (mouthful), it was on Brand Alley in a set with Touché Eclat and since I was out of my Touché Eclat, I splurged.

    http://www.yslbeautyus.com/skincare-top-secrets/c39_101/p371/top-secrets-flash-radiance-skincare-brush/product_info.html

    It’s a primer. Sort of. Only it makes your skin look better in general without makeup, and for me it has a strange velvety feel halfway between my favourite UD Pore Perfecting shadow (not as thick) but still feels kinda dewy. It seems to minimise my pores and even my skin out a bit, and it’s also a luminising primer. So it’s like – well, you know 2 of the basic types of primer would be the pore shrinking, mattifying kind, and the brightening, lumising kind? This is both. Somehow.

    It comes in a tube with a brush attached, like the touché eclat, so you squeeze a bit out into the brush fibres and brush it over your face (it tells you the route to use on the leaflet) and then wait 2 minutes, then apply makeup.

    I’ve had better general foundation results after using this than any of my other primers, so I’m really keen. I’d buy it again at full price when I run out. Personally I dislike the whole “beauty experts tips omgg!!” angle, because I’m all the more sceptical of anything professing itself to be professional, but I’ve really liked the results of mine. It leaves my foundation in place longer without going gunky like my other primers, or wearing off etc, and it feels nice on my skin, unlike my UD primer.

    A much more budget-friendly suggestion is Bourjois Liner Effect mascara. http://www.bourjois.co.uk/catalog/make_up/eyes/mascara/liner_effect_mascara
    It’s my general HG mascara, I’ve used it since it came out and love it. It’s incredibly black, great for lift and curl, and grabs every single lash and fans them out. The brush is really hard to use at first since it’s long at one side and short at the other, but I think you’ve used brushes like that before.

    The short-brush side is used for the lower lashes, and even if you don’t like it for upper, it’s killer on lower lashes. Perfect for smoky-eye looks when you want a lot of liner/powder on the lower lashline and want a fan of thick black lashes for Bambi eyes.

    I still wear liner with it, but can sometimes get away without lining my upper lashline, and it’s just way more intense and black than most mascaras I try.

    Oh and if you go to a store with a Lancome counter, you should smell the Hydra-zen gel-creme moisturiser. You don’t have to try it (it’s lovely but moisturisers are a pretty individual thing and our skin is different) but it smells like summer in a pot.

  15. Holy crap. It didn’t look that long in the comment box. @_@

  16. Bio-oil. For some reason, my nose decided it suddenly hated all the lotions I had a few months ago, so I’ve been using this in place of a lotion. My skin seems much happier as a result.

  17. Revlon Just Bitten lip stains! I suggest this because I just bought one in Gothic/Gothique and it made me think of you 😉

  18. I’m going to have to vote on Crystal Essence deo, in Pomegranate. Got mine this week at CVS for around $4USD (was on sale from $5USD). It smells amazing – not perfumey, doesn’t really even have much of a scent, either – it’s made in the USA, cruelty-free, all natural, doesn’t have AZT, is vegan, has no alcohol, doesn’t stain my tanks, and works! (So far, at least. I’m a stinky sweater, and I bike, too. Just waiting for another heatwave to fully test this baby out.)

    The company, from what I’ve read, is also pretty decent.

  19. I’m sure I’ve mentioned this before, but one HG product that i think some readers here would like is Naked Naturals hair products. They only sell shampoo and conditioners in 4 different formulas, but my hair has never been happier since I’ve used them. They are Vegan, no animal testing, no Lauryl/Sulfates. I feel like they may be geared towards Thicker/dry hair. They have a great non-foaming shampoo for color treated hair too.

  20. How about the lip tints from Ophelias Apothecary? I think they’re vegan too!

  21. I really like Product Body’s stuff a lot. I seriously can’t live without her soap and scrub. The Crush on You scrub is HEAVEN. And the lotion…. *sigh*

  22. GeoGrafx’s Morning Mist Cleansing Mist is fabulous. I have VERY testy, sensitive combination skin and this, along with their Vanilla Moisture Scrub, really helped calm my skin down.

  23. All I can think of is Concrete Minerals Electric Eye Primer right now. I have super oily lids but it still manages to work great on me 🙂 just not sure how it’ll hold up in the Australian heat when it’s Summer

  24. While not individual products I say try Eccentric Cosmetics and Moi Minerals from etsy…I would love your opinion on them 🙂

  25. I just found this and thought of you immediately. A complete list of beauty/bath sellers on Etsy.

    http://tiannemarie.blogspot.com/2010/10/complete-list-of-etsy-makeup-and.html

    I did recognise a few names from your archives, but thought you might at least encounter a few new ones 🙂

    • I saw that, and although I typically don’t allow links to other blogs posted in my comments, I’ll leave it.

      HOWEVER, I do not in any way endorse this list, in fact I personally find it irresponsible to comment on shops that you’ve never actually purchased from or have experience with. I can tell you some of the statements she makes about some shops are misleading and in some cases, just wrong.

  26. UD Oil Slick!

  27. Do you only do beauty product reviews? If not, I have a jewelry maker that seems like it might be your style. http://www.etsy.com/shop/EternalAutumn

  28. I want to say that the one thing I can’t live without is ELF’s blush. They have some really nice shades for only 3$

  29. I was going to suggest something ELF earlier, but I was afraid it would be too cheap. I like their face and eye primers a lot. I can afford them very easily plus a few other goodies in under 20$ worth of order.

  30. CARGO lip reverse liner. I can’t live without it, but I use it on my waterline for the lets-pretend-Im-awake look.

  31. I’m rather fond of my Kirkland Daily Facial wipes, it’s a super cheap alternative to MAC wipes and I like using it to get rid of makeup before I wash my face.

    I don’t know if you use a lot of nail products, but I’m extremely fond of my CND Solar Oil 🙂

  32. I think you should try the new Urban Decay Professional size primer potion. I saw your post on cutting open a normal primer potion and thought that this would be a good follow up to that post. Much to internet hype it IS sold in stores because I got mine at Ulta! I think this is a definite must have so that there isn’t anymore injuries due to trying to get all of the primer potion!!! 😀

  33. My suggestion is- http://www.etsy.com/shop/moloverox Madd Style Cosmetics!! Everything is vegan- Mo, the proprietor, is incredibly funny and kind- and she makes the BEST lip balm!! You have to check her shop often to pick up a wide variety of flavors- but they are worth it! Her prices are great too!!