Tokidoki Cosmetics – A Review

I love Toki Doki.  I have for a very long time so when the cosmetics line launched at Sephora earlier this year I was so excited to try it out.  I was ready to be disappointed, though, knowing that there was a very good chance it was all packaging and no real cosmetic value.

Mischief abounds in the magical world of tokidoki, where one glance is never enough. Creator and Italian artist Simone Legno brings his cult-favorite designs and colorful interpretation of life to a new makeup and accessories line that exposes the criminally cute and irresistibly edgy sides of beauty. Presented exclusively at Sephora, this Japanese-inspired collection captures the true spirit of tokidoki: Every day brings another opportunity to dream.

I was blown away.  I started out with a quad and then the obsession grew.  Sure, the packaging is amazing and very well thought out, but the actual product is worth the price.  I spoke to a few of the ladies in Sephora and they had said that the Toki Doki line was actually Smashbox products.  This is not true.  Yes, Smashbox did release a line with Toki Doki packaging a while ago, this is an entirely different animal.

Cromatico Eyeshadow Quad – Bastardino

This was the first product I bought.  I figured it was cute and if the shadows ended up being horrible at least I’d have a cute little box and a little Bastardino (the cactus puppy) to hang off of my bag.

Swatching right on my hand without primer I could tell that the shades were nicely pigmented and shadow felt creamy although they weren’t soft in the pan.  I used the browns on the upper lid and lined my bottom in the green (I normally don’t ‘do’ green) and I got so many compliments it was wonderful.  At the end of the day I was sold, the shadows had high pay off and lasted all day.

My biggest complaint about the quad is that the shadows themselves are fairly small, however breaking the costs down each one works out to $6.25 which isn’t horrible in comparison to other palettes.  It contains the shades Carnivora, Riposino, Mummetto, and Bastardino.

Cromatico Eyeshadow Singles

I picked these up in Diamante and Romeo, two nicely complimenting pink and plum shades.  The compacts are nicely sized (you get quite a bit of shadow) and again the shadows are pigmented.  The glitter flecks in Diamante are HUGE though and you need a really grabby primer to get this shadow to look it’s best.  The inside of the lid has what ‘seems’ to be a really crappy mirror and a lot of people complain about it, but it’s just the reverse side of the heart and crossbones, not an actual mirror.  Romeo’s lid is metallic and so the back looks like a mirror, the Diamante is glittery though and so the back is sparkly.

Perfecto Pen Liner

I’m not a huge fan of traditional black liner and I hate kohl.  It smudges and makes me look like I’ve been up hours too long.  I love the Penultimate liner from MAC and I was hoping this one would be close.  No, it’s better.  The tip is a bit different, it’s not the same sort of felt makeup and it’s not as thin; however, in my experience the thin tip of the MAC pen, after using it a bit, frays really bad and the tip never works the same.  The Perfecto liner is much sturdier.  It also leaves a very dark opaque line with one swipe versus having to go back over your liner a few times for a solid line.  Sobochan is a nice strong black.

Brilliante Glitter Liner

I typically hate glittery flecks in my liner, it’s why I stay away from UD 24/7 ones.  I saw these and really wanted to try them and ordered one in Carina, which is a pretty nude shade with sparkles.

All the colors have the glitter flakes, so they won’t work in your waterline and they don’t exactly leave the nicest of straight lines, they require a bit of work, so for me they are best used as a base to add additional depth to you eyeshadows.

Kabuki Luminosa Powder

I’m not crazy about Luminizer, but the packaging on this was so cute I bought it just for that.  It turns out to be one of the things I apply most often, even when I’m not doing a full face I spot on a little of this and it brightens up my face without being all that obvious.  It’s a very subtle pink glow that isn’t overwhelmed with shimmer.

Fantastico Lip Stain

I’m torn to want to call this my HG lip stain.  It’s brilliant and covers amazingly and lasts for such a long time!  On it’s own it’s really nice but you can also layer it with a gloss, it’s really versatile.  I have it in Cactus Friends which is a nice coral, and Peperoncino which is a very pretty plummy maroon.

It’s got a very pleasant flavor that disappears quickly.  You can layer it so that it’s only a wash of color or go over your lips again for something more intense.

Prisma Lip Gloss

This is the one thing I have that I’m not totally crazy about.  I picked this up in Samba, which is supposed to be a shear peachy-pink and it’s just sheer.  I love how shiny it is, the formula, the amazing flavor and most of all the spatula applicator.  It’s just not the shade I was hoping for.

Robbery Palette

After dropping 50$ on this I was hoping I hadn’t just misspent my grocery money for the week.  The tin is worth the price.  The palettes are on the small size, the shadows are the same size as in the other quads and each palette had four shades and a really nice blush that matches.  Each little palette can be removed from the tin and taken with you and then  be tucked back into the safety of the tin when you’re done with it.  The outside of the tin has a big Tokidoki logo magnet which I probably won’t actually use on my fridge.

For the price you are getting what works out to be three of the quads, which are 24$ singly, as well as three additional blushes and the tin.  It contains the eyeshadow shades Lion Pappa, Savana, Ercolino, Bulletto, Soya, Candy Cane, Ninja Dog, Meteo, Liberty, Bullets, LA Gun, and Adios and the blush shades of Royal Pride, Momobella, and Polpettina.  Tokidoki doesn’t sell individual blushes at this time.

Pittura Brush Set

So.  Cute.  I don’t have many brushes.  I don’t use all that many and I have certain ones that I prefer.  I wanted this set because on top of being cute it was cruelty free (synthetic).  I’m really happy with them, the bristles are of a nice quality and I find myself reaching for the liner brush all the time for my brows now!

They are a little heavy, which takes some getting used to.  They have the most adorable characters on the top, which makes them a little odd to store, you have to pretty much just lay them down so you don’t mess up the bristles standing them up to see the little dudes.

From top to bottom, left to right : Carnivora, Riposino, Mummetto, Bastardino, Diamante, Lion Pappa, Savana, Ercolino, Bulletto, Romeo, Soya, Candy Cane, Ninja Dog, Meteo, Liberty, Bullets, LA Gun, and Adios

Would I purchase more Tokidoki Cosmetics?  Yes.

  • The cosmetics are made in the US.
  • Everything is cruelty free (but not all vegan).
  • The packaging and brand is spot on, whimsical, and collectible.
  • It’s worth the money since the actual product is quality, it’s not just ‘a pretty face’.
  • While some things are a bit expensive (the quads are 24$) most things are really fairly priced.
19 Responses to “Tokidoki Cosmetics – A Review”

  1. Oh, darn it. I’ve been eyeballing these for ages and when I heard you were planning on reviewing ’em, I figured I’d just wait for your review. I was almost hoping you’d hate these so I wouldn’t have to go and spend money. XD Looks like I need a couple of those lip stains and pen liners ASAP! At least I can convince myself that I don’t need any more eyeshadow, haha.

    • Sephora’s F&F sale is coming up soon, probably in a couple weeks. Last year’s started Oct. 19. *enabling*

      • Oooh, that could work nicely! I’m hoping to have a bit of money by then since I’ll have just released a new collection. Thanks! 😀

  2. I really like that bullet color and the eyeliner pen is something I am definitely going to have to put on my wish list =)

  3. thebirdofparadise October 9, 2010 at 5:55 pm

    I just bought the Tokidoki set of bobby pins, and I love them. Bobby pins are a big deal to me because I have fine hair, but LOTS of fine. Therefore, my hair always wants to flop in my face. Drives me nuts.

    The pins are larger than your typical pin, and nice and strong. I wore them yesterday for the first time, and they stayed put until I took them off. I usually have problems with clips, pins, etc. slowly slipping out of place.

    Sure, goody makes large, strong pins for less money. But I could not resist the cuteness factor.

    I know this is not make up related, but it could be useful for someone who has a similar hair type.
    http://sephora.com/browse/product.jhtml?id=P273019&shouldPaginate=true&categoryId=5971

  4. I saw this in store, and while swatching the pressed eyeshadows colours didn’t seem to come off very well on me :/ Maybe it was just me on that day…. I’ll go to another Sephora to try them again. That pen liner looks awesome – I was actually thinking of buying the Penultimate liner, but I’ll definitely try that out.

    I think my only biggest beef with the Tokidoki collection is the makeup bags they were selling. The material felt kind of flimsy and cheap. :X

    • Sometimes ‘testers’ get hard because of all the oils in people’s hands that are constantly touching them and that makes them swatch yucky. I always scratch the top layer off to get at the fresh powder under it.

  5. Do want. Do want do want do want.

    I was looking at the luminiser for exactly the same reason. That tin is on my wishlist, with the brush set, lip stains and the hairdryer ’cause it’s too cute. I made a pretend basket on Sephora of all the Tokidoki stuff I wanted and it came to over $300, so… @.@

    I want the brushes and a bag or two most, I think. I’m not currently using a make-up bag, so they’re on my list, along with that reverse lip liner you reviewed and the first aid anti-redness serum. Damnit Grey! This is all your fault!

    Sephora don’t ship to the UK, so I think I’ll have to save up then bug one of my internationalers to forward a package on to me.

    Also, Meteo looks really nice. I’m digging royal blues lately.

  6. I probably won’t be buying these because of a tight budget, but I am happy to hear that the quality is good. The “pretty face” comment immediately made me think Tarina Tarantino; yay for Toki getting it right!

  7. I think I saw that the eye shadow singles were hit or miss, which made me sad because the packaging is soooooo adorable!

    • The singles I swatched were all great and I think I actually swatched all the ones in stock. I’ve read a lot of reviews on blogs that I honestly just don’t agree with. It’s like they didn’t actually USE the product, they just rushed to review them.

  8. That eyeliner sounds like exactly what I’ve been looking for in a liquid liner 😀

  9. I can’t afford anything Tokidoki, so I downloaded their free iPhone app instead. You can put character stickers n’ such on your photos. I should upload my tackfabulous creations to Twitter!

  10. Thanks so much for this review. I’ve been wanting these for a while now, but I hate to spend this kind of money on products without knowing if it’s going to be worth it in the end. So thanks, now I get to drop a buttload of money on some fun new toys! 😀