Gold Farming

I was at the MAC counter the other day poking through the VV collection when I stopped to give their Pigments a good look.  Technically they aren’t actually pigments.  A pigment is a raw color.  MAC sells them blended with binders and other stuff so they are actually a  loose shadow.  After I got over being irked at the malapropism the heavily made-up girl in black finally wandered over to see if I needed any help.  On a whim I asked her for the truest gold ‘pigment’ they had.  When I left I had a bag full of Maleficent and Golden Yellow pigment.

MAC

The MAC pigment I bought was in quite a different jar then I’ve been used to with MAC.  This new size is taller but much thinner.  Checking I see that although the price remained the same the jar was actually reduced in size from 7.5 grams to 4.5 grams.  Of course ‘pigments’ vary in weights so you could get more of one color then another, but the overall jar size was reduced so no matter what the volume you get was reduced as well.  The Golden Yellow pigment contains 4.5 grams of product.  The pigments cost 19.50$ each so they average about 4.33$ a gram.

The jar itself is really nice, resembling one of the polish bottles, it has the same sort of satin finished lid.  The lid actually seems to lock and there is a little seal inside to keep your pigment tidy.  It follows the usual MAC aesthetic, clean and sleek.  The label on the bottom contains only the shade color.

I’m not sure what it is about this pigment that makes it clumpy.  I’m also not sure there is a better word to describe it, but it seems almost oily to me (not creamy).  The formula contains eleven main ingredients and a myriad of other possible additives to add color.  Narrowing down the culprit I think it’s the hydrogenated polyisobutene, which is an emollient, or the octyldodecyl stearoyl stearate which is a yellow agent made from a lipid (fat).  It’s hard to say, but it’s not the only MAC pigment I have that is like that.

It applies a little odd because of it’s tendency to chunk, so you need to use it sparingly and build layers to ensure a smooth application.  The color is very golden and very lovely, however next to something else gold, it tends to look yellow.  I can’t be sure it’s vegan or not because the ‘may contain’ list lists carmine.

Price/Volume : 3/5

Packaging : 5/5

Color/Formula : 4/5

Overall : 4/5

From left to right : MAC Golden Yellow and Sugarpill Goldilux

Sugarpill

Sugarpill’s Chromalust Goldilux Shadow comes in what I remember the old MAC jars being.  Although the jars are not labeled for size, you get a full 5 grams of product with the Sugarpill shadows.  I actually suspect you may get a little more since the jar’s volume would hold more then 5 grams so there is the chance that it could get ‘overfilled’.  The shadows cost 12$ each so they average about 2.40$ a gram.

Sugarpill’s jars are substantial and never cheep.  They are a high quality plastic with a nicely embossed lid.  While the jar doesn’t lock I’ve never had a problem with them coming loose and they screw closed tightly.  The label on the bottom contains the shade, the ingredients, and the weight.

The Sugarpill shadow has only seven ingredients and I recognized them all without having to find a chemistry primer.  There is no unneeded fillers or additives such as preservatives.  In general most ‘mineral’ or ‘pigment’ cosmetics don’t need preservatives.  Titanium dioxide itself is already antibacterial.

Goldilux is a true gold metallic shade and is vegan.

Price/Volume : 5/5

Packaging : 5/5

Color/Formula : 5/5

Overall : 5/5

The winner of my gold farming exercise who takes home the medal for the Golden Battle?  Sugarpill.

16 Responses to “Gold Farming”

  1. This is a nice comparison; MAC pigments are nice but certainly not the be-all and end-all of loose eyeshadows.

    Goldilux is absolutely stunning. There are a lot of nice metallic mineral golds, Aromaleigh’s ‘Ego’ is a particularly nice one for example, and is a solid metallic gold without sparkle.

    Goldilux is in a league of its own, in my opinion, however. It’s the most intensely pigmented loose shadow I’ve seen, and I like that the fine sparkly gold dust packs together to make a smooth metalic finish. Whenever I’ve swatched it, the tiniest amount will make 5x as many swatches as anything else.
    I think you could easily use it as a liner, or finely as all-over body glitter, in hair, nails, etc etc.

    What I’d really like to see is a solid silver eyeshadow that was metallic and utterly non-sparkly.

    • I’ve been having fun with this Indie vs Corporate series, I have a ton more I’m working on, too.

      I agree, we need a silver of the same quality. I always tell people that Golidlux is THE gold shade. Sephora hates me cause I’m always in there steering them towards Indie companies.

  2. thanks for the comparison! the MAC shadow looks pretty yellow for a gold, while the sugarpill gold is simply yummy…

  3. Tee-hee, you said excerize. 😛
    (I’m a little lysdexic sometimes, myself.)

    Goldilux has been on my must-have list since it was release. I’m just waiting until I have enough cash where I can pick up several Sugarpill shadows at once… Maybe Christmas or something. /sigh

  4. I rather loved MAC’s Gold metal pigment although I don’t know if they still sell it anymore. I think the Gold metal falls relatively close in terms of being similar to Goldilux/vice versa

    • I don’t think they do. I poked around the website and this Lemon shade was the best gold they had. Maybe they’ll come up with something better in a special collection.

  5. I did a gold comparison back in May for Dominique of Goldilux and a bunch of indie and mainstream golds. I found Goldilux to be a unique gold, though there are several other pretty gold shades, too 🙂 I think I like a lot of Meow’s, such as Atlantis, Ornament and Treasure. Fyrinnae has some lovely ones too! Half-Elf Hottie is pretty unique 🙂 I LOVE this comparison and would love to see more like this from you!

    • I have a ton of gold, it’s a staple in my collection, but I love Goldilux.

      I have a few more Indie vs Corp coming up!

  6. I agree that we need a good silver comparison. I have a silver loose shadow from Coastal Scents that I absolutely adore. Its an intense true silver & very pigmented.

  7. A lot of MAC’s pigments are chunky or have a heavy texture, including some of most popular ones. Then I started getting into indie loose eyeshadows and noticed an overall smoother texture with more than enough variety.

    • I honestly didn’t think they all were. I had a few samples before (in little jars) and I thought maybe it was because they were shared decants.

  8. I love sugarpill to death, but i just wish that their packaging was a little more like MAC’s only because of the little stopper that keeps the shadow from sneaking out of the jar. Maybe I’m the only person who has ran across this problem..

    • Mention it to Amy! She’s amazing with customer service so if you have an issue she’d defiantly address it.

  9. Goldilux is the first gold shadow I’ve ever purchased, so I’m really glad it’s turning out to be the best and most unique one available 🙂