Haus of Gloi – Halloween Collection!

For a while, Britton from Haus of Gloi had been teasing everyone on Twitter about bringing back their Halloween collection and making me crazy in anticipation of the pumpkiny goodness.  I was really glad I was able to grab the few things I did because they are amazing!

Samhain

Rustling leaves, chilled winds …
Freshly turned earth, wet leaves, and a cool herb laden wind carrying spectres and spooks!

This smells a little odd at first, like something that’s familiar that you can’t quite put your finger on.  To me it brings back memories of going to the pumpkin patch on a damp day, that sort of spicy smell from the plants and the wet earth.  It’s very Fall.

Hex

You’ve been bewitched! Lecherous: brackish amber, aged vanilla bean and three dark fruits, veiled in darkness and otherworldly secrecy.

Hex is a sweet and fruity blend with a little sort of something in the background.  My Aunt makes this one dessert with fruit and brandy (I think) that gets flamed over the stove and then poured on a simple cake.  This makes me want to call her for the recipe.

Pumpkin Queen

Gentle hay pillows, pumpkin, ripe peaches dusted with clove and nutmeg, dried summer herbs, and lastly, a lovely crown of amber.

Although it’s a little strong on peach (which I associate with Spring rather then Fall) this is a very yummy blend.  A little earthy, a little spicy, and yet somehow mellow.

Saft Ernte

A merry drink of harvest and glowing with warmth: Peach juice simmering with sweet spices, pumpkin, silken hazelnut cream and made completely curious with a drop of orange blossom water.

So many of Gloi’s scents make me want to eat them, and this is another one.  It’s much less peachy then Pumpkin Queen and very hazelnut and definitely more spicy.

I got samples of all of the perfumes as well as some lotion (I love their formula!) and Soft Bubbling Scrub.  I hope to be able to get some more before they’re sold out!  I made the mistake of forgetting to pick up the Insalata Nocturna perfume before it was too late.

8 Responses to “Haus of Gloi – Halloween Collection!”

  1. Why are they not on Etsy anymore??

  2. Americans have a bizarre fascination with pumpkins. Pumpkin pie, pumpkin smells, etc. I’ve never seen pumpkins in the UK used for anything OTHER than Jack O’Lanterns.

    I’m not keen on the scent of pumpkins at all, earthy/spicy scents aren’t my thing. I love fresh, sweet-fruity things. Cotton, air/aqua, fruit, and crisp light florals but nothing too cloying or herbal.

    Imp is my absolutely favourite. I want to eat it. Pumpkin Queen sounded more fruity from your description? Do you think I’d like it? Also considering Peach Mamba.

    • Pumpkin is delicious.

      Pumpkin Queen doesn’t smell all that pumpkiny, you might like it. Peach Mama is really good, too, but a little musky.

    • I wouldn’t call it a “bizarre fascination.” “Perfectly reasonable obsession,” perhaps? Full disclosure: I’ve had at least one bottle of every pumpkin beer available in my area, which is America’s top pumpkin-producing region. I also dressed myself and my cat as pumpkins for Halloween as a child. So I may just be horribly biased.

  3. Oh!! I want to try out their Halloween line so much, but the perfume sampler has been out of stock for so long now! Pity. 😦 Well, I’m definitely gonna try their Yule line, that’s for sure.