Is it worth 10$?

I get a lot of email asking me to check out certain Etsy listings.  Is it repackaged?  Is it vegan?  Is it worth xx$?  I ran across a listing myself that had me wondering and by some coincidence someone recently asked my opinion about it.  The best way to find out sometime is just to scratch that itch.

Sweet Venom Mineral Lipstick  – Fuchsia with Black Undertones from BL Soaps

This mineral lipstick is HOT! We started with smokin’ hot fuchsia tones and darkened them with a fabulous black mica that also adds the tiniest bit of shimmer. The result, a super hot lipstick that will be perfect for whenever you’re feeling a little frisky!

The same conditioning from our traditional lip balms, now loaded with rich color. Flavored with just a hint of vanilla to sweeten the pot!

You asked for it! Our Mineral Lipsticks are now available in a convenient roll up tube for easy application!

0.07 oz Slim Lip Tube

Ingredients: Macadamia Nut Oil, Sustainable Coconut Oil, Jojoba Oil, Sustainable Palm Kernel Oil, Beeswax, Castor Oil, Mica & Flavor Oil

The price seemed a little high at 9.95$, however it did cover shipping (which was listed as free in the listing).  After shipping it would make the gloss about 8.75$ for .07 ounces.  The average tube holds almost twice that much at .15 ounces.

The ingredients are not vegan.  I was curious as to how much more expensive ‘sustainable’ oils are over regular oils and it turns out that the terms in the listing might be a little deceptive.  Coconut oil in GENERAL (as well as Palm Kernel oil) is considered a sustainable product.  Sustainable means that they are produced from rapidly replenishing materials, or plants that grow or fruit quickly (such as bamboo, coconuts, and palms).  So as far as I can tell there would be no difference in ‘coconut oil’ and ‘sustainable coconut oil’ to make a price difference in the finished product.

The color sounds amazing!  The swatches look amazing and deep.  On my lips, not so much.  It’s a little sheer and more of a bright pink then a deep pink.  The formula is a little greasy, too, so getting a nice even layer of color means you have to build it up in coats.  The DuWop Reverse Liner helps keep all the product on my lips, still it wants to slide and it gets all over my teeth.

It doesn’t wear well at all.  It only took about 15 minutes before the gloss was migrating to the outline of my lips and where my lips touch in the middle was bare.  In fact, wearing it again without the Reverse Liner the gloss smeared and bled out of my lips all together.

Is it worth 10$?  I don’t think so.

24 Responses to “Is it worth 10$?”

  1. “Sustainable” is a trendy term right now since it has slightly different meanings in different fields which are important to the ethical consumer. The one you give is the agricultural definition. In environmental science, a sustainable crop is one that has little to no impact on its surrounding ecosystem. The traditional economic definition is a business model that perpetuates itself, i.e., there’s a profit that can be reinvested into the scheme; more recently it has come to mean a business model or practice that provides for its employees’ standard of living and/or mitigates any environmental impact caused by production. Sometimes the extra wages paid or care put into the production process–instead of looking for the absolute cheapest solution, no matter what harm it does–can result in a more expensive end product, but disingenuous companies will charge a premium just because, even if their product isn’t the kind of sustainable that merits the price hike.

    P.S. Palm plantations are wreaking havoc on ecosystems in S.E. Asia and are partially responsible for the decline in wild orangutan populations. One environmentally sustainable alternative is using palm products from Florida (especially if you’re in the U.S. since it cuts down on transport impact). Of course, there are families in Asia who depend on the plantations for income… gah, just get me some candelilla wax!

    • Yeah I was wondering about the palm oil as well. I donate a little bit to the WSPA so sometimes they send out a flyer on what’s happening and the last issue mentioned that Orangutans are in mega danger from the palm farming in Asia 😦

  2. P.S., sorry for the novel! It’s one of my favorite subjects to ponder.

    • Not at all! When I write things like this I try to use the easiest to explain definition as it applies to, err… what I’m implying it to. In this case the fact that the listing meant to somehow turn the ingredients into something, like you said, trendy.

  3. The first four ingredients are oils, followed by two more oils! No wonder it was so greasy 😦

    I always get into these debates with people over whether or not certain vegan ingredients are causing more harm to the environment than good. Like palm oil. But as Tempest pointed out, there are a lot of families that depend on it for income. It’s like the argument that taking away 3rd world sweatshops will take away the only job some people can get :-\ Sigh.

    If it’s a palm oil from FL, will the labeling tell you?

    • Yeah, you caught onto that whole oil thing too, huh.

      I would have no idea about how to figure out where ones oil was from.

      • There’s really no way to tell unless you source the oil directly from the farmer or really, really trust your supplier’s claims. I used to work in a bakery that used Florida palm kernel oil in some stuff; it came from a grove owned by the head baker’s brother & sister-in-law.

  4. Ug, thanks for the review. Now I won’t be suckered in by what sounds like an awesome color.

  5. The color looks pretty on you, but it doesn’t sound like a good formula at all.

  6. Wow, the product description got me all excited to see an awesome colour. I’m glad there are blogs like yours to look at before I make purchases. Thanks for doing so many great reviews!

  7. How do you find mineral and Vegan makeup on etsy? Also what the easiest way to spot something that would be bad for sensitive skin? I recently just started taking better care of myself when it comes to my skin. Thanks for your in depth and informative reviews. Eyeconic showed me one of yours about Moi minerals. Boy do I wish I searched more on her company.

  8. There is a review about Moi Minerals? I can’t find one through searching your search function and googling?

  9. Grey, the images are no longer showing up for me in your RSS feed. They work fine when I view posts directly on the site, though. Is this intentional?

  10. Aye calling is sustainable seems like when someone says they’re using French lavander, when like 98% of lavander is French because more words = fancier (That is an example. I have no idea how much lavander is French)

    I would have been put off by the exuberance by which they announce they made a pink lipstick, right, yeah, and then- get this, they added BLACK. Yeah. BLACK. To make it darker, you know? Cause that’s like totally what black does when you like, add it to stuff that isn’t black already? But just a bit of it, right, because we didn’t want it to be black, but actually still pink.

    That right there would have put me off, it just doesn’t sound terribly professional and makes me think of fingerpainting.

    • I have lavender growing in my front flower bed. I’m going to call it sustainable Californian lavender and charge people to smell it.

  11. yes, that’s definitely true about the harvesting of palm oil. Since they are cutting down trees to grow more of that stuff and numerous animals are at risk like said orangutan and pygmy elephants. it’s a worry how nearly everything we use might have a sinister origin somewhere but also how the world goes round it’s almost impossible to discriminate those who feed and live on these plantations. sigh. well, we can only do as much as we can if we can help it 🙂