Birchbox

A couple of weeks ago I was invited to try Birchbox, a monthly beauty sample kit.

Each month, you’ll receive a  selection of 4-5 samples that we’ve tried (and retried) ourselves.  You’ll receive anything from skincare to makeup to cult beauty tools, from well-known brands as well as emerging gems.

Membership is 10$ a month.

October’s box contained:

Deborah Lippmann – The Stripper to Go

These were small scented nail polish removers pads.  They smelled strongly of lavender, which gave me a headache, although the remover worked fairly well.

Laura Mercier, Lip Glace in Opal

Opal is a very neutral pinky color that is really sheer on my lips.  The gloss has a very sweet vanilla flavor.  The gloss actually lasted quite a while!

Perricone MD, Cold Plasma

Apparently this is a miracle face cream.  The sample is so small I’m not sure you could use it enough times to know how it would work.

reBloom, Beauty Sleep Drink

reBloom is a really interesting product.  It’s a drink that is supposed to be an alternative to sleep aids like Ambien.  I wasn’t too sure how safe it would be to drink with my current medications, so… I didn’t try it.

Oribe Shampoo and Conditioner

This shampoo is DE-volumizing.  DE-volumizing doesn’t work for me at all.  I already have really fine hair so this shampoo was just a bad idea.  The conditioner wasn’t really anything special.

After trying it for one month, I’m not sure if I’ll continue my membership.  It reminds me of My Pretty Pink Box, which was a real disappointment to me.  I was hoping for more products that I might actually use.  When you sign up you fill out a small questionnaire which I guess lead me to assume that they might personalize some of the choices in your mailing.

14 Responses to “Birchbox”

  1. I was hoping they’d send you stuff in an actual birch box.

  2. Have you heard of the Little Black Box? It’s the same type of thing but with all indie brands.

  3. This comment should be #10000 if I’m not crazy.

    Little Black Box sounds cool! I joined that BeautyStat thing, where they send you crap to review and it’s free? Lmk if you want the link, I don’t know more than that though.

  4. Jules Noctambule October 18, 2010 at 10:00 am

    Okay — I totally misread the title as ‘Bitchbox’ at first! Yes, I think it’s time for a new prescription in these glasses.

  5. This is such a good idea. Its a shame you didn’t really get anything you wanted to try though.