Pick of the Week

L’Oreal Studio Secrets Magic Perfecting Base

I’ve been asked about this product a lot and I’ve never actually remembered to look at it while I was anyplace that carried it until Wednesday night.  I’m such a skeptic sometimes.  Really.

I’ve gone through and tried a lot of primers, in fact I’m test running the mack-daddy of all primers (YSL Flash Radiance) but I didn’t want to take it with me on my holiday because I’m one of those people who are afraid they’ll lose all their good stuff (and I did to the tune of one iPhone charger and a rim on my car).  I picked this up, finally, on a quick trip to Target, it was on sale and cost me a whopping 9.70$.

✓ Does it do what it claims to do?  Yes.

✓ Does it do it well? Yes.

✓ Would I buy it again?  Yes.

I was really surprised it worked as well as it did, in fact I didn’t even wear foundation, just a little SPF powder from Silk Naturals and I was set for the days.  I wore it under my MUFE foundation while I was out Downtown Thursday and Friday night.  Thursday it lasted through a surprise concert and a full night at the HOB.

I’m not crazy that it’s in a little jar I have to dip my finger into, but it’s not a ‘pro’ product so I’m sure it’s alright.  I’m clean and the only one who’ll ever use it.  I did seem to use a lot of it over the three days, doing my face twice (once in the morning and once at night).  You get a fair amount of product at .5 an ounce or 15mls.

On top of being a product that does what it says, it’s vegan so I can also USE it.  It’s primarily silicates and fancy things someone sexy at Fyrinnae would be able to explain better.  There are no waxes or carmine.

19 Responses to “Pick of the Week”

  1. I got a sample of this stuff sometime last year and hated it. It made my liquid foundation gum up.

  2. Awesome! I keep seeing the commercial for this and wanting to try it out, but when I searched for reviews I got mixed results.

  3. Interesting – I have been checking out these bases.

  4. I keep hearing about this primer! I’m going to have to check it out. I wonder if it’s ok on dry skin??

  5. I’m wondering how this would work on my skin. You saying that you liked how your skin looked with it without any foundation on really makes me want to give it a whirl.

  6. I tried a sample of this and it was horrible. It was okay at first, but a couple hours later, my face felt greasy, and my foundation started sliding off. I think I was using BE foundation at the time, and I never have that problem, even with bare skin. I have mildly dry skin around the perimeter, and a moderately oily T-zone, which was where the worst of the grease was. I was so disappointed.

    • I wore it all night in a HOT club, and my foundation really held up nicely. I wonder if it’s a matter of the foundation?

      • It’s possible. Since I always wear a mineral foundation, it doesn’t seem like it’ll work for me. I’m glad it works for you. 🙂

  7. I’m really glad you’re liking the YSL. I find I have to leave mine for longer than 2 minutes, cause I probably use too much, to let it dry completely.

    How do you think this compares to Fyrinnae’s Silica Gel primer? I’ll want to start saving my YSL for special occasions and using something else daily, since it’s expensive…

    • I JUST got the Primer on Saturday (I swear, ask 2nd. We really need to find out what that boy’s actual name is) so I’ll let you know!

      • Oh, I didn’t realise you hadn’t tried it before! I really liked it, but their old pots weren’t so great so mine dried up and flaked away. I never never a comparison test vs my other primers, the UD one and the YSL one, so I’m not sure what to re-order as an everyday.

        I will be on the lookout for your thoughts :3

  8. I am always on the lookout for something that could help with my pores- they are so big 😦 Thanks for reviewing this!

  9. I purchased this products based on your and Phyrra’s review and I love it! I’ve been using it for 3 weeks or so, and I’m delighted with how great it is! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Yves Saint Laurent FLASH Radiance « Gothique - November 6, 2010

    […] As a side note, I've recently discovered that the L'Oreal Studio Secrets is exactly like NARS Skin Smoothing Face Prep. […]