Persephone Minerals – A Review

Ordering

Persephone is one of those shops I actually overlook.  The listings are not that remarkable and the photographs could honestly be better.

I kept seeing Phyrra mention new collections being released and I had seen Mika Chan post some amazing looks.  I figured it was worth checking out.  Full sized shadows are $5 each and samples are 5 for $4.  The Sailor Moon sets are currently on sale for $25 and will go up to $30 soon.

I ordered:

Sailor Senshi Collection The Mars Set

After checking her shop out again I then placed a second order for a sample set of the Sailor Senshi Collection Sample Set- Venus.

Shipping

Shipping for the two sets was 3.75$.  I had sent a quick convo  probably the day after I ordered asking to add the sample set, but it was too late, my order had already been shipped!  It arrived in days!  My sample set was sent the next day and arrived just as quickly.

Packaging

My order was well packaged and shipped in a bubble mailer.  My full sized collection was in a cute silver printed organza bag.  My samples were sent in a regular mailing envelope (I love the economy in this).  My invoice along with a personal thank you along with a few samples were included in each order.

Products

The shadows are in regular clear 5 gram jars with the company labeled on the top and the color hand written on stickers on the bottom.  The samples are in small labeled bags and contain a fair amount of product.  The listing for each collection contains great shade descriptions as well as ingredients (which is a plus they are not listed on the jars) as well as if they are lip safe or not which is a great addition as well as if they are vegan or not (many are not)

***PRINCESS MARS***
Just a soft touch of super shimmering red, inspired by the dress of Princess Mars.

***REI***
Inspired by Rei’s never-ending purple-tinged black hair, this shade is a deep, dark blackened purple full of microfine black and purple glitters.

***MARS CRYSTAL POWER***
Inspired by the pink & gold crystal power wands and the transformation sequence of Sailor Mars. This is one hell of a duochrome shift from bright red to gold, chock full of pink and gold sparkle! It looks like a pink color in the jar, but do not let that fool you!

***SAILOR MARS***
This is an extremely bright red with purple microfine glitters, inspired by the sailor soldier uniform of Sailor Mars 😉

***MARS FLAME SNIPER!***
A nice deep red, overloaded with red, orange, and gold microfine glitters, inspired by the attack of Super Sailor Mars. This makes one wicked liner!!

***PRINCESS VENUS***
Inspired by her princess dress, this shade is the faintest touch of orange-yellow.

***MINAKO***
Inspired by the long flowing hair of Minako and that darling red bow, this shade is a nice yellow-blond color full of microfine red glitters!

***VENUS CRYSTAL POWER***
Inspired by the pink and gold of the crystal power wand and the Venus transformation sequence, this is a slight shift from orange to gold, chock full of pink and gold sparkle!

***SAILOR VENUS***
Inspired by the Sailor Soldier uniform of Sailor Venus, this shade is a bright orange filled with microfine yellow and blue glitters 😉

***VENUS LOVE AND BEAUTY SHOCK***
Inspired by her attack as Super Sailor Venus, this shade is bright orange-yellow-gold, chock full of white,orange, and gold glitters! Stunning when wetlined!!

From top to bottom, left to right: Princess Mars, Sailor Mars, Mars Crystal Power, Mars Flame Sniper, Rei, Venus Lov & Beauty Shock, Sailor Venus, Venus Crystal Power, Minako, Princess Venus, and Elysian (free sample)

I’m really very glad that I picked these shadows up and I’m REALLY happy with the full sized collection.  Princess Mar, Sailor Mars, Mars Crystal Power, and Mars Flame Sniper are amazing shades that I love and they work so well together with Rei wet lined.  It is a wonderful collection well worth the 25$.  The shadows are all clearly well made and custom blended.

They wear well, are bright and vibrant, and do not crease with a base (I used SoBe’s Primed & Proper).  I love them foiled as well, they stay vibrant and don’t get muddy or crack.

Conclusion

Would I order from Persephone again?  Yes!

  • The owner, Victoria, is wonderful to work with and provides excellent customer service.
  • The shades far exceeded my expectations.

They shadows could be more professionally labeled and the shop photographed better.  The shop has a lot of room for growth and a LOT of potential.  I am very glad I tried them out.

Overall : 3.75/5

13 Responses to “Persephone Minerals – A Review”

  1. Mars Crystal Power & Sailor Mars Look AMAZING! Thank you so much for sharing your swatches 🙂

  2. Victoria’s a freakin’ SWEETHEART ❤ Can't wait to place another order with her, as so far I've only gotten a couple samples, which were lovely. These 2 new collections look stunning. I think she's one to keep an eye on, for sure.

  3. Thank you so much 😉

    Yes, my photos, simply put..are horrible. I do apologize for this. I think need to just get a new camera all together.

    My webcam was taking clearer close up pictures than my cannon (which was one of the less-expensive cannons I got like 2yrs ago) and they are still not clear as they should be :(.

    I might ask Caitlin of Shiro what kind of camera she’s using because her photos are *crisp* Aromaleigh has awesome close up photos too, but as busy as Miss K has been lately I wouldn’t want to clutter her inbox to ask her. She’s more important emails to tend to I am sure.

    Anyhow, I love the brutal honesty of your reviews (especially the etsy reviews) 😉 Some may view it as a little harsh, but it’s the kind of critism we newbies need.

    A million thank yous!!

    • As a recent graduate from a graphic design program I can’t keep my mouth shut about photo help, so here I go. I think MOST newer cameras can take decent close up photos, considering my 6 year old camera still does a good job of close ups. If your camera has a macro mode (I believe the universal symbol for this is a little flower, but it could be different depending on brand) that would make a big difference for you. If you do not have a macro mode, a good trick I’ve found is if you can raise the dimensions and resolution of the photos your camera takes (you’d have to play in its settings), then take a picture a little further out so that you have a clear photo, then crop it smaller once you get to a computer. Computer screens only require your resolution to be 72 dpi, so if you camera can take pictures at about 180 dpi or even 300 dpi, you can change that once you get into an edition program it it will be like a free zoom haha. As for camera suggestions my favorite “point and shoot” sort has been the Panasonic Lumix line for a good while now. My current camera is the DMC-FZ35. I think it’s one of the more expensive ones, but my mom has a baby pink version of the Panasonic Lumix that also does a nice job. I hope this helps you!

      • Thank you! There are some different settings on here I’ve not played with a whole lot. I’ll expirement around tonight with it. 😉

      • Something I just thought of after posting that too… It’s possible your camera isn’t focusing correctly because you’re having it take pictures of shiny things. It MIGHT help, though I’m not sure since I rarely take photos of swatches, if you gave it something else to focus on first? Like… if you use the back of your hand, wear a ring and make the camera focus on the ring. I think all digital cameras have this feature (which I think some people overlook? I know my dad does >_>) where if you push the button half way down it will focus. If there is a light that shines green, it’s in focus. If it shines red, you should try again either a little further away or in different lighting, etc. Once the camera is focused then push the button down the rest of the way to take the photo. Or if you use your arm or thigh or… whatever might be too far away from your finger, maybe make a pen mark or something that is clear and crisp and not sparkly for it to focus on.

  4. I’ve placed a small order this morning, and I can’t wait to receive it.
    But I can already agree with the fact that the owner of the shop provides a exceptional customer service.
    I asked about a shade that I couldnt find anymore on the website. I received an answer few hours later, in which she told me that she would include that shade as a freebie in my order. How nice is that?
    Thanks again for this review, I’m glad you made me discover that charming etsy shop!
    Clara

  5. Thanks for this review! I have read on Phyrra’s blog that she recommends PM as well, but like you, I was mostly put off by the pictures. Until she released the Sailor Senshi collections.. pretty sparkles are a weakness. Plus I’ve liked Sailor Moon for years 🙂

  6. Wow, somehow I missed this review! I’m glad I found it though. I ordered some of these colors myself, and now I cannot wait to get them! I am doubly glad because I bought full sizes. Yay!

    P.S. Thanks for the shout out 🙂

  7. I didn’t like the way my samples were sent. I received mine with out a DC#, and in an envelope that appareantly was only $0.20 to sent when I was charged $1.60. . not that shipping was bad, I myself charge $1.50 because I send my items in a bubble mailer with a DC#. . but to send in a envelope to save on shipping should be passed onto the buyers as well IMO. It seemed to take forever to get my samples I purchased.

    I agree with the room for improvement especially when it comes to the pictures. . ssoo blurry.. . I will say though for me my phone camera takes better pictures than my canon. I can never get it to take decent pictures inside with a flash EVER!! So i know the frustration when it comes to pictures.

    I must say though she has great customer service. For me that’s what usually brings me back to purchase from shops again.

    • Take a closer look at the envelope. She probably had to pay an ADDITIONAL 20cents on top of the postage on the envelope. A stamp itself is more then twice that and it’s IMPOSSIBLE to mail a letter for less then the price of a stamp.

      My samples looked the same, with a post office postage sticker on the top, with the original postage UNDER it.

      • Yes, they charge me an additional .20, because they don’t want to put the samples through the machine. They charge extra to do it by hand, they said. I don’t know why it would’ve taken longer than 3 days. My sample orders uaually reach NY within 3 days and I have had them get to Finland in 5 (no idea how lol).