Tarte Lip Stain

One of my favorite lip products was just named one of Allure’s Best in Beauty Lip Picks.

The old meets the new with the infusion of our high-performance natural LipSurgence™ technology which is clinically proven to increase moisture content by an astonishing 6000%. This proprietary blend effectively increases skin’s water content for a ‘plumped up’ appearance leaving lips defined, smoothed, and hydrated. The result is naturally fuller, healthier lips without any irritation or stinging. Like the cheek stains, each shade of these natural lip stains will leave a natural hint of tint that will last throughout the day. These shades are great to wear alone or pair with your favorite Tarte lipgloss. This product is free from gluten, animal testing, formaldehyde donors, oil, talc, MEA/ DEA/ TEA.

Although not actually a ‘stain’, Tarte Lip Stain pencil is one of my go to lip products and what I throw in my purse to take with me.  Initially I was drawn to it because I love stains, my favorite being Stila’s Cheek and Lip Stain.  Stains of any kind usually get my attention, so this one was quickly added to my list of things to try the next time I was at Sephora.  They are not the typical pencil, more like a thick crayon that twists up from the bottom.  At $24 for 3 ounces they are a tad pricey, however a little goes a long way and after a few months I’ve hardly made a dent in mine.

I have it in a few colors, but my favorites have been Fiery  and Exposed in the Natural Matte formula.

The consistency is a little odd.  It feels like a thick almost dry balm and you’d think it would leave your lips a little dry as well.  It has a pleasant peppermint flavor and scent and does a nice job of keeping your lips well moisturized.  It doesn’t last all that long, it’s not a real stain, but it wears fairly well.  I use my DuWop reverse liner and that significantly lengthened the time it lasted on my lips.

It comes in two formulas, Natural and Natural Matte.  The Natural actually wears much longer then the Natural Matte.   Both of which are formulated with something Tarte calls ‘Skinvigorating’.

I also like a few other Tarte products, such as their Lifted Natural Eye Primer as well as their Clean Slate Face Primer.  The company is cruelty free and has many vegan products.

Have you tried anything from Tarte?

5 Responses to “Tarte Lip Stain”

  1. I’ve always wanted to try this, but wasn’t sure if it was vegan. I’m allergic to carmine, so good red lip products are hard to come by.

  2. I LOVE their lip stains, my lips feel more moisturized than when I use just balm.
    And that eye primer rocks, it’s the best I’ve found so far.

    Thanks for highlighting a great brand, Tarte is my favorite non-indie company.

  3. I have yet to try anything by tarte but I do stop to look at their products when I’m browsing Sephora’s website! This lip stain has actually caught my interest but the price tag has stopped me from purchasing as of yet. I will have to check these out soon though 🙂

    I love stains too, I have two from Maybelline and I really like the quality of them.

  4. I have the Natural Lip Stain in Joy, a pretty peachy-coral. I love it, the way it looks, smells and feels, but I agree- it’s majorly mis-named. Not a lip stain at all. I suppose it does leave a bit of color behind but no where near 100%, which is what I’d expect from something called a “stain”. Still, worth trying if you want a semi-sheer cushy wash of color.

  5. Oh. My. Gosh. I had no idea that these were vegan. I get tired of sorting through Tarte’s stuff to figure out what is and isn’t, so I sort of gave up. Thank you!