Lather Up

After my last Latherati Follow Up I ended up ordering a couple of new scents (as well as a few things in Curiouser, which I love).  I love Latherati and the amazing use of classic literature as fragrance inspiration.

THE SCENT: Sugar Bones – carved pumpkins, candy corn, sweet, smoky tobacco, Autumn woods, moss, a twist of lemon and vetiver

THE INSPIRATION: The Halloween Tree by Ray Bradbury

THE QUOTE: “Anyone could see that the wind was a special wind this night, and the darkness took on a special feel because it was All Hallows’ Eve. Everything seemed cut from soft black velvet or gold or orange velvet. – The Halloween Tree, Ray Bradbury

My fascination with pumpkin continues.  This is a really complex and busy scent.  It wasn’t as all out pumpkin as I’d hoped, and it gets a little weird (it might be the moss or the vetiver).  I do like it, though!  It’s very fall, but it’s not just one easy to determine note.  The longer you wear it the more layers you discover, the more notes become obvious.

THE SCENT: Secrets – rich, hot cocoa mingled with lemon & ginger, intertwined with orange blossom and jasmine. The florals hit you first, then mellow to smooth chocolate

THE INSPIRATION: The Thirteenth Tale by Dianne Setterfield

THE QUOTE: “A good story is always more dazzling than a broken piece of truth.” – The Thirteenth Tale

Oh god, this one is amazing.  It’s a chocolate floral.  You certainly smell the jasmine first then whoa… the chocolate is in the background.  As it wears the floral softens and the chocolate gets more obvious.  I’m not crazy about florals, but the chocolate hints in this make it wearable for me.

I’m really excited to offer a chance to try some Latherati scents yourself!

  • Just comment below and one random post will be draw on Friday, November 19th to win a 25$ gift certificate courtesy of Latherati!
  • You may enter (comment) only once.
  • Tell me what book you’d like to see made into a scent next!

Comments Closed!

87 Responses to “Lather Up”

  1. Rosemary and Rue by Seanan McGuire.

    Very cool 🙂

  2. My fav book of all time.. Lost Souls… I would love to have something scented after Zillah, or even Nothing, my two fav characters.

  3. Either Anne Bishop’s Black Jewels Trilogy (specifically a scent based on Jaenelle), or a bringing to life of Queen Jehanne’s much-described scent from Jacqueline Carey’s Naamah’s Kiss.

  4. I love books so much I don’t think I would be able to pick just one book to be an inspiration for a scent. I would say that I would want a scent inspired by old libraries, don’t know how that could be done but it would be awesome.

  5. I think the Chronicles of Narnia could make some fascinating scents. You could go a lot of ways with “The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe.”

    Great giveaway!

  6. I’d love to have “Wee Free Man” made into a scent! It was the first prachett book I’ve read and it always warms my heart a bit! 😀

  7. Hmmm… I would love to see how Latherati translates The Age of Innocence into fragrance. Maybe a traditional floral, rose and violets perhaps, with something darker underneath that threatens to overwhelm the fragrance but restrains itself at the last moment. Le sigh 🙂

  8. Mmm.. magician? raymond e feist.. not sure.. what scent you could brew from that though.. maybe something less floral more.. musky?

  9. Nov. 19th just happens to be my birthday. 🙂
    I’d love to see “The Wind In The Willows” made into a scent because it’s one of my all time favorites and my daughters love it too.

  10. Because I’m a huge Bradbury fan (I wrote my MA thesis on one of his books), I’d be thrilled to see The Martian Chronicles or The October Country made.

    Or any classic horror lit, really. 🙂

  11. There is a quote in The Outsiders, its actually a poem by Robert Frost if im correct. Its about staying gold, dont know what you could come up with from this but its been my favorite book since middle school!

  12. I’d love to see any scent inspired by a Jodi Picoult book. 🙂

  13. I was just eyeballing that Secrets scent yesterday thinking it should be my new favorite lip balm.

    I’d love to see a Mark Twain book inspired scent. Something outdoorsy and adventurous. He was sure a cranky and embittered man but I like his writing. 🙂

  14. I would say pride and prejudice but they already have a scent so hmm maybe les miserables or the count of Monte cristo if they haven’t done that

  15. Chocolate floral? That is way cool. 😀 Latherati is sich a unique company.

  16. Thanks for introducing me to Latherati! I love this store.

    Since a lot of my favorite books have already been made into scents there, I have a few other suggestions:

    Beowulf
    some more Dickens! (Bleak House maybe, or Oliver Twist?)
    Les Miserables

  17. I would love a scent inspired by A Feast For Crows, of A Song of Ice and fire series. It would be really dark and macabre, with roses (not sweet), leather and blood scent…

  18. I’d really like a scent from Dune by Frank Herbert. I imagine that Bene Gesserit had a rather amazing range of exotic perfumes, but a scent attempting to capture the spice would be very interesting.

    I really love the sound of Curiouser, after reading about it I do believe I’m going to have to have it.

  19. The Hobbit, by J.R.R. Tolkien, an interesting read for me as a kid, which lead me onto the LOTR trilogy. 🙂

  20. I think a great scent would be something by Stephen King, and maybe inspired by my all time favorite book, “IT”? 🙂

  21. My choice might be a little odd — I’d love a scent based on Ian Rankin’s Rebus novels. Police procedurals don’t really conjure up the idea of perfume, I admit, but the city as set within the novels just breathes life. I’d adore something very Edinburgh, with whisky, the dampness of fog, exposed rock, underground tunnels and whiffs of heather and sea air.

  22. I would love to see Sense and Sensibility scents like the two Jekyll and Hyde “Alter Ego” lotions that work together or separately. Alternately, stuff for Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell. There are so many potential ideas for that one!

  23. Can’t go wrong with more Ray Bradbury… the short story from The Illustrated Man “The Fire Balloons” would be an interesting scent to try and conjure, something pure but ethereal. Anything from His Dark Materials series would be awesome too!

  24. Oooooh. I’m going to have to go with my all-time favorite, the Lord of the Rings trilogy! Something Hobbit-related, “The Shire” maybe. Moss, fresh-cut summer grass, hints of tobacco and rum and baking bread?

  25. One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest! Or The Adventures of Tom Sawyer.

  26. The World According to Garp, by John Irving. It’s such a twisted novel that it would be fun to see/smell a fragrance inspired by it.

  27. I’m in love with Latherati’s Beguile scent.

    I’d love to have a sniff of Wide Sargasso Sea by Jean Rhys. I can imagine it having salty and tropical notes.

  28. I wish I was good at interpreting scents. The descriptions are always so overwhelming, my nose goes crazy trying to communicate to my brain.. lol.

    Anyhow.. I’d love to see maybe a Harry Potter scent.. old books, leather, a little smoke.. or even The Secret Garden.. something floral, but not over the top..

  29. Mmm, chocolate. Not a fan of super flowery scents either, so most of my perfumes are either my migraine oil roll-on (peppermint with lavender) or ones that smell like desserts.

    My favorite set of books are the Griffin & Sabine trilogy by Nick Bantock, so I’d like something that smells like Sabine’s Sicmon Islands. Fruity, tropical, slightly briny with maybe a hint of ink and stamp glue to smell like the postcards and letters in the book. Either that or Ocean Sea by Alessandro Baricco, which could be more wintry but with a briny hint. Even though brine perfume sounds kinda gross. I think it could be done well, though 😀

  30. I would so that I’d love to see my favorite novel made into a scent, but Latherati already has! It’s their Sinister scent, inspired by Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury…Sinister’s now become one of my signature scents! Not to mention the lip balm!? Love it! ❤ (In which, I HAVE to try Sugar Bones now! It sounds AMAZING!)

    Since my fave's already been made, I'd love to see Latherati make a scent based on either:
    Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl,
    Dandelion Wine by Ray Bradbury, or
    Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas by Hunter S. Thomspon.

    🙂

  31. Ahh, Latherati giveaway! I’m excited. I have a growing list of all the scents I want to try from them.

    If we’re talking classics we’d love to see made into scents, I’d love to see As I Lay Dying by William Faulkner, mostly because I think it would be a real challenge to come up with it. xD

  32. The Neverending Story, my favorite book. It has so many imaginative names to really get creative with including:

    Fantastica/Fantasia

    The Silver City of Amarganth

    The Ivory Tower

    the Many-Colored Death

    Perilin, the Night Forest

    …I could go on but I’ll stop.

  33. Oh I so would like to make a perfume inspired by the book “Mathilda” from roald dahl… It would smell like fresh paper, old library, smocked tea with a hint of chocolate cake!
    I really would like to try latherati!!

  34. I think I’d have to say Angels & Demons.

  35. I’d really like to see a Dorian Gray inspired scent containing notes of opium… because opium is just a dazzling scent and I’m slightly sad about not having found an indie company making one.

  36. Jane Eyre! I would love something inspired by Jane Eyre or Edward Rochester. Something wistful, I think, although I have no idea how to pull that off.

  37. Secrets with the chocolate sounds like a very intresting scent!!

    As for a book – Gone With The Wind. You’d need some earthy scents to represent the soil from Tara which is so dear to Scarlett along with magnolia blossoms and a fresh cotton.

  38. Ahhh I really need to branch away from BPAL because I know there are probably oodles and oodles of fantastic scents out there that I haven’t even tried. I must add Latherati to my list of to-buy though! 🙂

  39. The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde.

  40. I must confess that I do not read novels very much. I am, however, a comic fiend. I would love to see a fragrance collection based on Neil Gaiman’s The Sandman – one for each of the Endless. I would be proud to wear something called Delirium!

  41. Not my favorite book, but I would love to see what they’d come up with for Crime and Punishment.

  42. One of my favorites : “The Crimson Petal and the White”

  43. Neverwhere, The Mists of Avalon and the Masque of the Red Death I think would make for some interesting scents.

  44. I would love to see a scent based on The Crystal Cave or any good King Arthur book. I think they would translate very well into scents.

  45. I don’t read a whole lot, mainly because I don’t know what to read. But, Frankenstein is one of my favorites that I have read. It would definitely have to be an earthy scent.

  46. I have to wonder what The Virgin Suicides by Geoffrey Euginides would smell like.

  47. This may be a bit too kiddy-lit for a company that is inspired by authors like Marquez, but a scent based on The Outsiders (Hinton) might be fun- leather, tobacco, chocolate?

  48. Something scented based on The Valley of the Dolls by Jacqueline Susann would absolutely tickle me, and Frances Danger’s Virgin Suicides idea is intriguing as well. 🙂

  49. Maybe something earthy for The Hobbit or something for Rose Madder by Stephen King. So many wonderful books….

  50. hmmmm, I’m going to sound like a total dork but I’m going to say Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, like when he goes into Diagon Alley (or maybe that was the 2nd book, can’t remember) I wanna smell butter beer and sweets galore! 😀

  51. The scent in Secret sounds strange and intriguing. I would love for there to be a scent inspired by Lolita I think it would be interesting to create a scent around such interesting novel. I am not sure what scent pedophilia would be like but all I can think of is biscuits for some reason.

  52. Oh man, I could win a chance to smell these? SWEET!
    I’d like to see Anansi Boys made into a scent. Now there is a challenge!

  53. Sounds positively scrummy – must try these guys out.

  54. I want to smell China Mieville’s ‘Perdido Street Station’ — I imagine it to be very masculine, maybe a little smokey, spicy?

  55. I’d love to see some Murakami-based scents (yes, scents. Because most of his books are way too complex to be represented by a single perfume :P). Maybe one inspired by The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle?

  56. I just got my Latherati order today & realized that Tara IS the Gone with the Wind scent AND that the notes of cotton & magnolia blossoms are in it!!!

    How about The Crystal Cave & The Hollow Hills by Mary Stewart. Both are books about Merlin & King Arthur which I read in high school.

  57. I’d like to see one inspired by The Hunchback of Notre-dame.

    So many “scent” inspirations to choose from.
    Incense and the sort in the church, the heat and leather of Quasimodo’s whipping.
    Or the whole gypsy and earth scents.

    That book is so much better when it isn’t Disney. =P

  58. I’m pretty hung up on Harry Potter right now, so maybe an interpretation of how the plants used in Herbology might smell would be cool.

  59. I’d be really interested in seeing ‘The Hunger Games’ turned into a fragrance. Something earthy, a little sinister maybe.

  60. I’d love to see A Day in Fairy Land by Sigrid Rahmas made into a scent. Something soft fruity and little floral, maybe catch the way morning smells when the world is quiet. sadly this book is a VERY OLD and out of print. My Grams read it to me as a child and my mom reads it to her grandkids.

  61. I’d love to see something based on Parable of the Sower or The Handmaid’s Tale. Or maybe The Three Musketeers, that might be a little easier to match something to, scent wise.

  62. Maybe Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen. Circus scents, yum! Or maybe Einstein’s Dreams by Alan Lightman, but I haven’t got an idea how that would smell.
    Ever wondered what scent an Algebra book would inspire?

  63. I love chocolate floral scents, maybe it’s time to check out Latherati again!

    I want to say I’d love to have a scent inspired by A Confederacy Of Dunces, but I can’t imagine anything based on Ignatius Reilly would smell very pleasant…

  64. I am a MASSIVE Tolkien nerd, so I’d love to see something from his works made into a scent. Perhaps something woodsy or sea-related, for the elves?

  65. Just ordered like 70$ worth of stuff from Latherati, but it was technically as Christmas gifts. Bu I wouldn’t mind buying some items for myself.

  66. Charlotte’s Web! I miss the smell of the farm I used to live on. I also second the motion for an old library smell: musty paper, stale air, old leather. Mmmmm.

  67. Maybe a Dreams in the witch house by HP Lovecraft inspired scent would be interesting. Actually I think a range of Lord of the Rings ones would be great, I think I would like to have a lothlorien and fangorn one.

  68. i am intrigued how The Confessions of a Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella be made into a scent. 😀

  69. Love the Lost Souls suggestion, phenominal book. I read somewhere that if it were made into a movie, Poppy would like to see Snoop Dogg play Zillah. Anyways, I’ll go with another Brite book, Exquisite Corpse, based on Tram. It might smell like New Orleans (I’m thinking something spicy like creole/cajun seasonings, not hot trash and vomit), sex and danger.

  70. Commenting 🙂

    Hubby really likes “Sinister”, btw. I like the banana one (the name escapes me right now) but not as a perfume- I need to get it in a lip balm because the perfume makes me want to lick my wrists ^___^

  71. Stranger In A Strange Land by Robert Heinlein. My all-time favourite book. It’d be called Grok/grokking or Martian or something.

    If you haven’t read it, you muuuuuust! I’m making Caitlin (Shiro) read it now =D

  72. It sounds cheesy, but a scent based upon Anita Blake, the vampire hunter from the series by Laurel K Hamilton. Anita’s scent would have to be sensual, smokey, all out sexy. Incubus Dreams – one of the novels.

  73. I think a scent based on one of my favorite characters from Janet Evanovich’s “Stephanie Plum” novels (the girl herself!) would be intriguing. She’s a second rate bounty hunter (but usually ends up catching her man anyway) whose mother always bribes her for various reasons with pineapple upside-down cake. She also eats a lot of other sweets, like birthday cake and Tastykake butterscotch krimpets. M’kay, now I want cake 😛

  74. I would love to try Latherati and see & smell a product after – The Fall of the House of Usher by Edgar Allen Poe…something old & eccentric 🙂

  75. Ooh, there are so many – but I think I’d love to see her olfactory take on The Little Prince.

  76. scentualsoundtracks November 18, 2010 at 10:29 am

    I would love to see The Rose Labyrinth made into a book. The title obviousbly lends itself to it, but it is an excellent book filled with passages that just have you imagining the smells. Thanks for the giveaway!

  77. i would love to see a scent of the book stargirl.

  78. Apple scent and some type of relaxing scent, like amber to make the image of warm spring day under apple tree relaxing under the tree. From- “The Giving Tree”
    I think it’ll be wonderful. 🙂

  79. I would love to see a scent inspired by the Books of Blood by Clive Barker.
    Though I imagine that could turn out… less than desirable..

  80. Ohhh Dracula for sure. 😀

  81. I really love Latherati. I just got my order of Fanciful Body Cream and both the scent and formula is divine.

  82. I would love for the Anita Blake books by Laurell K Hamilton to be made into scents =D

  83. The concept behind Latherati is so unique and adorable! They’re definitely on my list to try once I get some cash 😀

    • Oops, forgot to add — I’d love to see Haruki Murakami’s The Wind-Up Bird Chronicles made into a scent! It’s such an ethereal book, I think it’d translate into a beautiful fragrance.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Friday ‘Thang’ « Gothique - November 19, 2010

    […] is through there will be a total of TEN giveaways.  Have you entered them yet?  Go here : Latherati and SoBe […]