Reverse Lip Locked

Since my ELF post, the question I’ve heard the most was, “How does the ELF Lip Lock pencil compare to the DuWop Reverse Liner?”

Technically I’d have to say they both work.  They both form a barrier that keeps your lip stains/glosses in place.

However, they do not work the same.

■ The DuWop pencil is very well made.  The cap fits snugly and the lead is firm and secure in the pencil.  The product is well fit inside the tube and even flinging it about TRYING to dislodge it, I coudln’t.  Why I would do that, I have no idea.  It’s a product you actually have to sharpen, so it’s truly all one piece.

● The ELF pencil is incredibly cheep. The cap will NOT stay on the pencil and the actual lead of the pencil (the PRODUCT) just flew out the day after I got it.  I had simply picked it up and taking off the cap it flew off and into the wall.  Sure, it was only $3.00, I probably shouldn’t have expected too much.  There is a huge gap around the lead in the pencil, so when you use it it moves back and forth.

■ The DuWop Reverse Liner has about 3.8 grams of product.  The lead fills the entire length of the pencil.  It works out to about $5 a gram.

● The ELF Lip Lock gives you about 1.76 of a gram of product.  The lead does not fill the whole pencil.  It works out to about a $1.70 a gram.

■ The DuWop product contains quite a few conditioning ingredients.

Ethyl Macadamia, Candelilla Wax (Candelilla Cera), Phenyl Trimethicone, Isoeiconate, Garcinia Indica Seed Butter, Microcrystalline Wax (Cera Microcrystallina), Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Polymethyl methacrylate, Magnesium Carbonate, Silica, Boron Nitride, Saccharomyces Extract, Palmityl (Synthopeptide), Tribehenin, Tocopheryl Acetate, Phenoxyethanol

● The ELF product is a little different.

Mineral oil, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Polyethylene, Aluminum Starch Octenyl Succinate, Euphorbia Cerifera Wax (Candelilla), Microcrystalline Wax, Phenyl Trimethicone, Silica, Tribehenin Phenoxyethanol, Propylparaben

■ The Reverse Liner conditions the skin around your lips, filling in any small lines you might have and plumping the area.  It blends right into the skin and after a moment it’s unnoticeable.  You can neither see it nor feel it around your lips.

● The Lip Lock is basically just a wax barrier.  I could both see where it was applied (it looked like I got crazy with my lip balm) and I could feel it as a layer around my lips.

■ The Du Wop product lasts quite a while.

● The Lip Lock wore off quickly and my gloss did, in fact, migrate.

In my opinion, the DuWop Reverse Lip Liner is a better product, however you are paying for it.  If you’re not looking for something that lasts, though, and you don’t mind the waxy feeling, the ELF might be a good option.

5 Responses to “Reverse Lip Locked”

  1. I love your reviews.
    I was wondering if you ever tried possets perfumes? (www.possets.com). I heard a lot of praise for their scents and I noticed you did several reviews for other various perfume oils.

  2. Thank you so much for doing the comparison post! The way you explain the differences really helps.

  3. This was useful. Well explained too, thanks for the tip.