Astronomical!

I’m pretty excited to post some swatches from Aromaleigh’s latest Vault Sale collection.  I’m so happy to have this one, perhaps last, collection.  It’s full of amazing color shifting shades, which I ADORE.  Had I more cash there are a ton of these I would get full sized.  I’m hoping that the shop is open just long enough to manage another order after my holiday shopping is done.  I thought I was done, but it turns out I am not.

I think what strikes me most about this collection is how much it reminds me of one of my favorite songs, Jupiter Crash.

Yeah that was it,
That was the Jupiter crash.
Drawn too close and gone in a flash.
Just a few bruises in the region of the splash.

She left to the sound of the sea.
She just drifted away from me.
Yeah, so much for gravity.

Once again I’ve swatched them in the trios in which I am most likely to wear them.  Instead of matching hues for a more tone on tone, this time I used the sparks and the duochromes to create a more unique and dramatic look.  Many of the shades have a rainbow of sparks that only shows up at certain angles, making the color unexpectedly change hues.

From top to bottom, left to right : Event Horizon, Cresent, Azimuth, Escape Volicity, Blueshift, Heliosphere, Mega Parsec, Megallanic, and Umbra


From top to bottom, left to right : Big Bang, Wavelength, Antimatter, Neutrino, Dark Matter, Ephemeris, Apogee, Pulsar, and Milky Way


From top to bottom, left to right : Fusion, Binary, Perihelion, Retrograde, Extra-Galactic, Nadir, and Celestial

I think my favorites are Umbra, Azimuth, Celestial, Apogee, Milky Way, Antimatter, Escape Velocity, and Perihelion.  I swatched these all over SoBe’s Primed and Proper.

☆  You can find some amazing shade descriptions at my friend Tanya’s blog

☆  My friend Robyn has done some beautiful looks with them!

☆  There are also some great swatches on Cin’s blog.

35 Responses to “Astronomical!”

  1. I think I’m in love with Fusion, I’m just really sad I missed the sale. Those swatches make me envious!

  2. Jules Noctambule December 8, 2010 at 2:02 pm

    They’re pretty, but right now my shadow to storage ratio is at the ‘Do I REALLY need another??’ point! I know she’s closing shop, but I also think my bank account would be as happy as my bathroom closet if I left it as-is. 😉

  3. Oh nards! I thought I had placed my last Aromaleigh order but these look so… necessary. Nice swatches!

  4. Such a gorgeous collection. I wish I could have gotten hold of a few of these and some of the other recent collections, like Spells. I just couldn’t justify the huge international shipping cost.

    The colours are all so shimmery and have an almost ethereal quality. I bet they blend gorgeously. Just from the swatches and looks I’ve seen, this has got to be one of my favourite collections since Bette Noir and Victoria’s Revenge.

  5. Ok, I look at these and think of Vermillion Lies.
    Can’t help it. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KjW_I-2fARA – this song, actually.
    Mega Parsec is my favorite, just gorgeous! 🙂

  6. Everywhere she says she wont ship internationally but some people say she will – what is the go?

  7. hey Grey, thx for the linky-love! 🙂 astronomical is such a gorgeous collection, isn’t it?? like you, I adore the duochromes — binary and azimuth are SOOO scrummy, and altho’ perihelion and heliosphere aren’t technically colour-shifting shades, they’re so rich and complex, just DIVINE!! fingers crossed for you to squeeze another order in before AL closes up shop! 😉 xoxo

  8. Love fusion..such a pretty color
    I want to wear it with some grey and frilly.

  9. Event Horizon is gorgeous! I’m so upset because my debit card ran out of cash before i could take advantage of the sale…i would love to wear that wit my new sweater i got. lol so pretty.

  10. Azimuth is the best!

  11. I really love megallanic, apogee, antimatter & extra-galactic. I wish I had the chance to swoop these up.

  12. Escape Velocity and Umbra are gorgeous! I’m so hoping I get lots of money for Christmas, so I can pick some of these up before Aromaleigh closes.

    • It says on Aromaleigh’s website that they’re planning to close sometime between the 10th and 15th of December… 😦

  13. Oh those are beautiful! I just recently ordered from them as well. Now after seeing these I may have to place yet another order! hahaha

  14. These are really pretty, I’m considering whether to make an order but I need to save my money but they’re so pretty but…! I really like the look of Mega Parsec and a few others, perhaps I can make a tiiiiny order.

  15. Azimuth and Umbra are just gorgeous! I hope they are still for sale when I get my birthday money. And speaking of that, do you if Aromaleigh is currently shipping international? Because they weren’t for a while.

    • There is a special section on Miss K’s blog about it, I’m not sure if they still are or not, though.

  16. No, no, no … I *cannot* order more Aromaleigh. I *must not* order more Aromaleigh. I *will not* – oh, screw it, I’ll just do one last order ^.^

  17. So glad I got to get some of these! I LOVE anti-matter, so glad AL decided to post international

  18. Sterling Morgenstern December 8, 2010 at 9:17 pm

    These are some of the best swatches of the collection I’ve seen so far! I’m actually a total dork and missed where you could order the complete sample set so I just bit the bullet and ordered the complete FULL SIZE set because they all just sounded too great to miss out on, your review is helping assuage any uncertainties that this was not the best idea. Miss K just seems to keep coming out with better and better (above and beyond her already stellar work to begin with!) collections even as the close date is looming so horribly close, I have so many mixed feeling of happiness and sadness about it all… I wish she’d stay open until my next paycheck so I can blow one of my more generous holiday checks on the remaining sparkles I still want but even if she does close I feel really lucky to have so much already. She really is “out of this world” lol

  19. I was waiting for my last two orders to get here to make my last forever order to see if I got any more “must have” samples or needed back ups of the 20+ or so items I bought this last round but I don’t think they’ll come in time. I may have to stab in the dark and hope. I have my eye on a few of these colors you’ve posted.

  20. Must.Have.Neutrino.

  21. Oh god, oh god, oh god. I totally wish I could buy from Aromaleigh. I am pretty much SMITTEN by Event Horizon, Mega Parsec, Antimatter, Fusion, Extra-Galactic and and and. They’re all so pretty. :<

  22. I’ve seen a lot of people liking these. I wish you all wouldn’t keep singing their praises since I really can’t spend money on myself this month! lol.
    They look so pretty though. Full of some of my favorite color families.

  23. Pretty as these are, I have to say i wish AL would stop with all the “last” collections. It seems like there’s been about 4 or 5 now. It may be slight bitterness on my part as they’ve been closed to international orders for months now when surely they could have kept going with them a little longer. I just feel like a line needs to be drawn under it.

    Regardless of all that, I love pastel eyeshadows (the new shiro collection is on my must buy list) so had international orders been available I might have been tempted, I just wish there had been a little more decicivness on when last means last.

  24. I ordered full sizes in Antimatter, Ephemeris and Nadir, unsampled. But they look so gorgeous, I’m sure I’ll be very pleased.

    I know the site says that they’ll probably shut down sometime between December 10th and 15th… I kind of wish they’d just pick a date and advertise it. It’d be a lot better for me to wait to order more until the 15th (payday) but now I’m all stressed out that they’ll be closed before then. Agh!

  25. Apogee, Dark Matter, and Milky Way are very pretty. I wish the international shipping for Aromaleigh was not so high, but I understand why.

  26. thebirdofparadise December 9, 2010 at 11:38 pm

    What a beautiful collection. So unique.

  27. I LOVE duochromes! Umbra looks fantastic!

  28. I bought Dark Matter and Heliosphere, I would have bought 5 more if I had the money! I love the two I have, I created a look as soon as I swatched and was so happy with the way it turned out…Thanks AL!

  29. I like the little twinkling stars you included 🙂 The colors look prettier swatched here and almost tempting, but I don’t know if I really need one last AL order. I’m up to my ears in their e/s as it is! ^_^

  30. Omigosh!!! The colors look gorgeous!!!