With a name like Buxom, it has to be good.

Does it really surprise anyone that when I discovered the Buxom line from Bare Escentuals I was all over it?  I’m so predictable.  I first discovered Buxom a couple of years ago, sucked in by the plumping gloss with the sexy names and all the shimmer.  I really like the idea of the line and it’s from a company I already had a healthy respect for.  The artwork for the glosses is unique and very burlesque.  I’m really glad I looked beyond the glosses to try out some of the other products the line carries.  Both BE and Buxom are cruelty free companies.

Buxom is an irresistible lust for life, where aspirations become reality and imagination has no boundaries. It all started in the Bare Escentuals office in San Francisco with Buxom Big & Healthy Lip Polish, and it keeps growing every day. The healthy, vivid, and sensual formulas are makeup you can feel. While Buxom is seriously passionate about great color and results, they don’t take themselves, or any rules, too seriously. Adopt these rules, and you’ll be a true Buxom girl in no time. Raise a few eyebrows and leave your inhibitions behind. In essence, live life vividly.

Big & Healthy Lip Polish


Our pout-perfecting Buxom Big & Healthy Lip Polish naturally creates the look of fuller, more voluptuous lips. Infused with antioxidant vitamins A and E for soft, smooth lips, it gives luminous shine and sheer color with no sticky or tacky feeling. The tingly, cooling sensation reminds you that lips are getting an immediate increase in fullness. Available at all Bare Escentuals retailers.

These glosses are probably the most familiar products in the line.  They feature the graphics of the gorgeous ladies who inspired the shade and the names.  I’ve tried a few colors, but in general the formula is one of my very favorite.  The gloss comes in several different finishes from full color to sheer to shimmery shades.  I have to admit I love them all.

It’s smooth and not sticky.  It’s got a soft sweet flavor and it tingles after you apply it, which is all the super-plumpers.  It’s not one of those horrible stingers and it doesn’t make your lips nearly vibrate like some do.  Does it actually plump?  I would say a little, although nothing anyone other then me ever notices.

The color seems to last a while, the formula wears very well, and IMO it’s well worth the price.  I can put it on before I head out and not have to worry about my gloss migrating or fading.  If I’m out for a long day, I’ll toss it in with me so I can reapply it just for the color, the gloss is usually still pretty glossy.  The formula leaves my lips nice and moisturizing, which is always a bonus to me (I cannot live without lip balm).  They also layer really nicely over lipstick.

You can often get smaller sized samples or gift sets so you can try the colors out.  My particular favorites are Sandy, April, and Star.

Stay-There Shadows


Experience Buxom Stay-There Eyeshadow – a whole new breed of eye color. Vibrant, lively, buildable, shimmering color in a waterproof formula that just begs to be worn. Touch it, pet it, love it—this bounc-i-licious eye shadow offers an unexpectedly plush, light-weight texture. Exclusively at Sephora.

The line is named for breeds of dogs and the boxes are labeled on the top with the name along with the shade, which I like.  You can see looking at them what color they are right away.  The packaging on a lot of Buxom products is a little misleading because the boxes are HUGE and the product inside is actually tiny in comparison.  These shadows are only 3.5 grams each, but the box would lead one to expect something larger.  Still, it’s a typical amount of product.

These are the oddest things.  When I was in Sephora they were described to me as a ‘cream shadow’ but they really aren’t.  They look like a pressed shadow and feel a little spongy.  Depending on how you apply them that can be either sheer or nearly opaque.  I like to use a dense flat brush for a more opaque application.  I tried a few different shades, I loved the black (Black Lab), but it was sold out.  I ended up getting Mutt, which is a neutral taupey browny bronze.  I love it to wear on it’s own and as a base.  I can use it without primer and it will last and not crease, with a primer it works just about the same.  If you wear it UNDER something, I would suggest using a primer under it all and being fairly sparing, just to avoid any risk of creasing, but to be honest, I find this shadow to be really nice on it’s own.

Once you apply it, it takes a bit to set, but then it’s set, so get it blended out while you can.

Lash Mascara


Infused with antioxidants for rich, lush lashes, Buxom Lash intensely volumizes for bigger, fuller lashes. The vitamin-enriched formula deepens, darkens and thickens from root to tip. Our curvy, talented, hourglass-shaped brush holds the ideal amount of mascara to ensure every lash is coated evenly with our silky, clump-free formula. Exclusively at Sephora.

I’ve never actually purchased one of these.  I seem to get a new one every six weeks or so in some promotion, though, so I am rarely without.  I’ve had them in both colors (Blackest Black and Blue Noir) and didn’t really notice the blue was the blue one day, but someoen who I was talking to just kept LOOKING AT ME, and then they finally asked if I was wearing blue mascara, so I was surprised it was actually a noticable color.

The formula and the brush are some of my favorites.  The brush is voluminzing, that is thick and fluffy, and yet made of the rubbery stuff instead of the traditional brush fibers.  I’m going to take a huge jump here and say that in my experience the rubber wands clump far less (except for that dang Sexy Curves one, I can’t figure it out).

As far as black mascaras go, it’s a very dark black, none of that grey or ‘light black’ stuff.  With a little black liner against your lash line and in the waterline and you’re lashes (even mine) look thick and amazing, although I wouldn’t say it’s lengthening at all.  The one I have now is reaching the end of it’s life, I’m actually going to order a full sized for myself…. right now.

Big & Healthy Lip Balm

Buxom Big & Healthy Lip Balm plumps, tints and hydrates your lips all in one for a sexy, beach-ready pout. Named after world-renowned beaches, each shade of our rich, emollient balms drenches lips with exceptional comfort and hydration in a unique pop of soft, sheer color. Our healthy, preservative-free formula deeply moisturizes and conditions with cushy Shea Butter and Sweet Almond Oil to rejuvenate lips, as it fortifies with antioxidant vitamins C and E. When you feel the cool and refreshing, tingly sensation, you know your lips are looking fuller and it’s high time to show off your voluptuous new curves. Exclusively at Sephora.

These little balms come in 3.3 gram pots, which seem pretty generous, considering that you don’t need very much of it to keep your lips moist and very soft.  The formula is smooth and less viscous and more, well, balm like, then the glosses.  In this case it’s not so much the box as the actual packaging that is a bit misleading as to how much product is included.

The pot, though, is great.  It screws all the way tight and has a little mirror in the lid so you can reapply the balm right out of your purse.  The color is very faint, but it is noticeable.  I have both Waikiki and Portofino and unlike a lot of balms, there is an obvious shade difference.

As much as it says that it’s a lip plumper, it doesn’t have much of a tingle at all to me.  Maybe just a slight bit when you first apply it, but again it’s not a buzzer.  I think my lips look amazing after I’ve used the balm, but I can’t say, again, that it makes them that much bigger.  It’s a bit expensive to use as an everyday balm, but I typically use mine when I’m not being all ‘fancy’ but still want a little color or when my lips get really dry, like when I turn the heater on at night and wake up to the desert in my house.

Insider Liner


 

Buxom Insider Eyeliner delivers intensely rich, long-wearing color that’s so incredibly gentle, you can apply it to the inner rims of your eyes for the deepest, most dramatic definition. Or, if you’re feeling traditional, you can always apply our velvety, emollient liner along the outer lash line. You can apply it in a thin, precise line, or smudged for a sultry, smoky effect. Dream up your perfect application – BUXOM Babes don’t follow any rules, and we wouldn’t have it any other way. Of course, it also contains a healthy blend of antioxidants and vitamins to help protect the delicate skin along your lash line from environmental damage. Exclusively at Sephora.

Do you have any idea how hard it is to find a good smudge proof and long wearing white eyeliner that isn’t a sickly pearl shade?  Pearly white liners always just look grey and dirty to me.  This is technically a kajal (kohl) pencil, but it’s got real staying power, which a LOT don’t.

Most of the other colors (all named after precious gems) are metallic, but a few, like the white, are nice and flat and matte.  I think this looks amazing on my waterline, and I love using just a bit of it smudged under my lower lash and then covered a bit in Slyph from Aromaleigh.  Talk about an eye opener!  I like it a bit better then the shade stick from NYX for this, it’s a bit thicker and stays put nicer on my under eye.  I’m very happy with how well this works and doesn’t transfer when you close your eye, like some liners do, stamping your color on your other lid.

Lashliner

Buxom Lashliner may look like just a liner, but it’s actually a lash enhancing and conditioning treatment that instantly takes your lashes from hardly any to very many . It goes to great lengths to nourish and strengthen your little ladies into moxie mamas for the long haul. BUXOM Lashliner is made with natural ingredients such as Vitamins A, C and E, Honeysuckle, Jojoba Oil, Soy Protein, Tourmaline and Biotin (Vitamin B) which promotes healthy hair growth and strengthens new and existing lashes. Exclusively at Sephora.

My latest obsession is the perfect black liner.  I’ve been trying as many different kinds as I can.  I cannot stand the UD 24/7 pencils, they don’t apply smoothly for me and look patchy and horrible and don’t stay for ditkuss in my waterlines.  I ordered The Little Black Eyeliner Kit from Sephora (review coming soon!), but this was still on my list.  On top of it being from a company I like and a gel liner (which I prefer because they are matte/satin), it boasts lash enhancing properties.  Oh, and the black has a really cool name, Leatherette.

Just like the shadow, the box is misleadingly large for the product inside.  You get 2 grams of product in a little glass jar.  For comparison, Clinique’s gel liner is over twice that much for $.50 less plus a useless little brush, but the Clinique liner doesn’t offer any conditioning or ‘enhancing’ ingredients.

Leatherette is a dark and deeply pigmented opaque black that applies super smoothly and doesn’t tug leaving a near vinyl like line.  It’s very soft, you you should be careful when you load your brush, it’s easy to get too much.  It does eventually set, quicker the thinner you apply it, but it will smudge if you rub your eyes, but I would say it’s fairly smudge proof otherwise.  I haven’t had any problems with it running when my eyes tear or anything, even though they don’t say it’s waterproof.  It lasts all day on my eyes.

Does it actually do anything to your lashes?  Yup.  Mine got thicker and the ones on my bottom actually seemed significantly healthier, and those are always so wimpy.  I’ve been using it well over a month now, probably closer to six weeks.

Have you tried anything from Buxom?

44 Responses to “With a name like Buxom, it has to be good.”

  1. neon6apocalypse December 9, 2010 at 8:55 pm

    I’d love to see some swatches of the lip glosses. 🙂

    Also… liners. I ❤ liners, and one that helps your lashes be healthier? Count me in. Mine suck right now (bad mascara that made them all breaky).

  2. I got a sample of one of their lipsticks from sephora once and while I really liked the color I found the formula was a little drying. It’s nice to know that the rest of the line seems good because I have been interested in trying some of their other products.

  3. I have never tried Buxom, but I like the description of the lashliner. I get paid tonight and I know with all the stuff you’ve reviewed this week I’m going to be broke as soon as my check hits.

  4. Ohhh as soon as I saw your title those Stay-There eyeshadows came to mind! I bought 3 once. And returned them 10 minutes later because they were a total impulse buy and I didn’t have much money to begin with 😀 I will get them again one day. The texture was very cool and I love the shimmer in them.

  5. Oh wow, a liner that actually improves the health of your lashes … I’m so there 😀

  6. Out of all those products, I’ve only tried the Buxom lip gloss. It’s definitely the most lip-chilling gloss I’ve tried, more so than the C.O. Bigelow glosses with peppermint oil because the cooling sensation lasts for a long time (more than an hour). It’s a polarizing feature but I like it enough to use the only Buxom gloss I have sparingly because dupes of it that I own- like the Hard Candy Plumping Serum- just don’t have the same effect. It’s a long lasting gloss even though it doesn’t have a thick consistency, which I definitely favor. It’s almost amusing how large the tube of gloss is considering the amount of product inside it, especially considering how the tube is shaped in a way that “magnifies” it’s contents.

  7. I’ve really interested in liners with added benefits. I don’t think this line is available locally, so I’ll have to have a look around and see if I can find somewhere online which ships my way.

    • Most of the Buxom line is available exclusively at Sephora. The boutiques and Ulta have some Buxom glosses, but not much else, if anything. Oh, and the Bare Escentuals website has many of the Buxom glosses.

  8. Going over the Buxom collection at Sephora is my favorite thing to do when I am in there. I use the Buxom mascara every day with BE’s flawless definition mascara. FD lengthens my lashes while the Buxom mascara fluffs and thickens. My eyes look really wide open that way. I will never ever use another mascara, even if it could do it all in one step. Those two are my HGs.

    I love the gloss (I have the Katie shade ^_^) for the same reason: it’s not sticky!

    I actually picked up a Stay Put shadow a few weeks ago. I had not yet seen them before. I pretty much had to buy one because they were named after dog breeds. Best marketing ploy ever! I bought Poodle, which is a lovely, creamy, golden-ivory shade. I actually use my finger and apply all over my lid for an easy eye. I tried using a brush once. That was a big fail.

    Now I am going to want to start collecting some more of the products, especially the inside liner and lashline liner.

    Thanks for the great review! I am so happy to see you review them.

    P.S. I love your snowing blog.

  9. I’ve never tried anything from Buxom, but now I’m fairly sure I need to pick up both of those liners after the holidays.

  10. im such a sucker for a good gel liner im def looking at this tomorrow when i go to sephora!

  11. I haven’t tried anything from Buxom yet, but I had been eyeing the glosses – there’s a shade named Jessica! 8D I am also a sucker for lash-enhancing promises, so it looks like I’ll be looking more closely at their aisle the next time I’m at Sephora.

  12. I really like the sound of those liners, I love emphasising my lower lashes. I bet these will be a PITA to get to Australia though, wish we had Sephora!

  13. I am absolutely addicted to the buxom glosses! mostly the nude shades for when i go overboard with the eye makeup. Best gloss ever, hands down. 🙂

  14. I have the flower girls gloss set as well as a few other glosses and a mascara I got as a promotion item with the set. Here is the gloss set, which is amazing:
    http://www.sephora.com/browse/product.jhtml?id=P234619&categoryId=B70

    The blue is surprisingly wearable as a daily gloss, it just gives your lips a hint of color, and the peach and pink glosses are some of my favorites and I keep them in my purse all the time (of course I could keep a whole outfit in my purse, it’s so large, and probably have enough lip balm in there to soften the lips of the entire state of California…). I would recommend them to anyone, and should have looked into their other products ages ago. Good to know everything else follows the same quality standards!

  15. thebirdofparadise December 9, 2010 at 11:53 pm

    I was thinking of using my $20 gift thing (for being a VIP) at Sephora to try out some of the Stay There eye shadows. And I think you just convinced me.

    When I first discovered the Buxom Glosses, I thought there was no way I would pay that much for a gloss because I was very satisfied with Revlon glosses.

    Fast forward to a few years later… I own a lot of these babies. They are really great. And for Jessica who posted previously, I absolutely ADORE the Jessica color. It is so flattering. 🙂

    I own the emerald and sapphire inside liners, but this review is making me think I need white, too.

  16. No, I haven’t (I don’t think we have BE here in Brazil) but some of this stuff seems pretty good. And all the packaging looks AMAZING! Gosh, I’m such a sucker for pretty packaging!

  17. Are their glosses from the Buxom collection different from their regular line? I tried one from the regular line and was not a fan, mainly the scent threw me off, but they smelled and tasted like I licked the inside of a woman’s purse.

  18. I’ve recently tried some of the new Buxom lipsticks in the City Slickers kit. They’re pretty nice, and I like that I can mix them and come up with new shades. I prefer the BE natural lip glosses though. No tingle, which can be irritating if you layer a Buxom lipstick with a Buxom gloss.

    We have lots of color swatches at the Mineral Madness forum. 🙂

  19. I’ll bet anything I can’t find these in Bergen. I’ll still look for the liners, though. :p

  20. I bought their “pug” eyeshadow, because it had a pug on it, and I had to. It’s super pretty, and I like using it both as an eyeshadow or as an eyeliner that I can put on without a fixer. I think I’ll try the gloss next. I like the vibrating tingling from “Sexy Motherpucker,” but now that my hair is really long, it’s not fun to wear a sticky lipgloss.

    • The eyeshadow used as a liner sounds like a great idea because it I love multipurpose products… does it go on opaque as a liner? The colors of the shadows do sound vibrant.

      No doubt about the gloss… I am with you in that. Love gloss… hate it went it sticks to hair. 😀

  21. I haven’t tried it, but it sounds good! 😀

  22. I love everything by Buxom but haven’t tried much of it except the glosses and the lipsticks. I WANT to try those eyeshadows named after dog breeds.

  23. I love the Buxom glosses I have tried, but have had to be careful as many contain carmine. Have you had good luck with lip and eye products that are vegan from the line?

  24. I absolutely love the Buxom lip gloss line. They are absolutely the longest lasting gloss of any I’ve ever tried, aside from L’Oreal’s excellent Infallible line. Buxom doesn’t even hype itself as being a “long wearing” product. I probably have about 6 or 7 different colors, and they are all gorgeous. I’m totally addicted to them. BUT, I have a gripe. Like many of my fellow commenters; the tubes are so massive and appear to have a ton of product in them, but there is actually not a whole lot inside. I wish BE would start putting these in their kits again, instead of their 100% Natural lipgloss. It is still a good product, but there is nothing extraordinary about it, and I don’t like the brush. It also smells kind of weird. I quit buying their kits because they stopped putting Buxom Lips in them!

  25. I haven’t tried anything but the glosses, and I do like those! The spa where my husband works carries them, and they always bring in extra when it’s time for the annual employees-get-wholesale-discount sale because almost every woman who works there buys a handful.

  26. Aww, I’m a sucker for the packaging. So pretty!

    I haven’t tried this line yet, but I might, heh c:

  27. I haven’t tried anything from Buxom, but that Pearly white liner sounds amazing! I haven’t tried white on my lower waterline, I’ve heard that it does do wonders.
    I recently tried UD 24/7 liner and I hate how it smudges onto my lower lash line when I apply it on the upper–so annoying. It’s pretty cool how the lashliner helped your lashes!

  28. I’m so glad you did this review! I have a gift card for amazon and I’ve been looking at getting one of those big & healthy lip polishes for a while. Do you have any swatch pictures of them?

  29. Ooooh this looks so lovely. I’m a sucker for make Up with pretty packeging. Nice revieuw, I might try this brand out.

  30. I was planning on going over to the mall today for a few things and now Buxom is on the list as well! Although I’m not a big fan of BE, I have been thinking about trying a few things in the Buxom line for a while. This review helps me feel more confident about it. Thanks Grey!

  31. Thanks so much for the detailed review. I got the City Slickers set and I love it. I think I’ll use the Lip Sticks more often in the summer as my lips are quite dry now and the sticks are a tad drying. I love the glosses though! I was curious about the mascara, liner and balm you reviewed and I’m really glad to hear you like them! As for the perfect black liner, I’ve been on this quest as well.
    I don’t know if you read Temptalia- she recently did a thorough black liner comparison that was made up of multiple posts.

  32. Ooooh, I like the look of this stuff. I may have to investigate further.

  33. I have been leery of the Buxom line since I realized that the whole bismuth oxychloride thing is a serious issue for me. However, I also adore gel eyeliners and since hitting 40 some time ago, I have notice my eyelashes getting sparser. I might give the gel liners a go if they are BO free, as they look to be from the ingredients list.

  34. I have the buxom mascara and I hate it. No matter what I do it always clumps. It also isn’t that black, and leaves my lashes looking a little faded. I don’t know if I just got a bad tube or what, since you say yours always work so well, but I absolutely hated it.

  35. I really have wanted to try the colors Poodle and Pug, as well as St. Bernard. I have to admit I’ve bought things based on the name before, such as MAC’s Pink Poodle lipglass.

    It sounds like the liner is FANTASTIC!

  36. I’ve been wanting to try their lip polish for a while, they’re the first brand that comes to mind when I think of lip plumpers. I really love the overall branding, the drawings of the girls on the products are cute!

    The lashliner, insider liner, and lip balm I may have to try too. From the way you describe the eye shadow, it reminds me of Maybelline’s mousse products, like their blush, concealer, and foundation.

  37. Oh, my!!! Buxom seems great!!! I’ve never tried anything by Buxom before(I know: Epic fail), but I was going to buy the Big Healthy Lipstick, but I bought Tarte’s natural matte lipstain with lipsurgence technology and I regret it…

  38. Buxom’s products look so nice. I take a glance at them every time I’m in Sephora. I am going to try their Big & Healthy lipstick someday. The names are so cute, especially Las Vegas. It’s one of my favourite cities and the colour looks very wearable.

    • thebirdofparadise December 11, 2010 at 8:04 pm

      I have this product, Iris. I really love it. The color is beautiful, but if you care about that sort of thing, take note that it is a “cool” color.

  39. Oh, finally, someone who doesn’t like the 24/7 pencils! I get sick of hearing about those stupid things!

  40. thebirdofparadise December 15, 2010 at 5:46 pm

    Grey, four more new colors of the Stay There shadows are coming soon to Sephora.

    Take a look….
    http://www.sephora.com/browse/product.jhtml?id=P267305&shouldPaginate=true&categoryId=5984

    I wound up ordering three shades (black, gray, and purple) because of this review. They haven’t arrived yet. I can’t wait. Thanks!