It’s Friday, I’m in Love

Since this is my last post till then, Merry Christmas!

Cookies!

I’m working on putting together a cookie cookbook, so if you had any recipes to add, go here!

I have a great cookie recipe to share with you, it’s my favorite and I’m posting the non-vegan version so more people can enjoy it.  I LOVED these growing up and actually have a pretty good version I make now.

Santa’s Whiskers

1 cup butter, softened
1 cup granulated sugar
2 tablespoons milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2-1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1-cup red candied cherries, finely chopped
1/2 cup pecans, finely chopped
1 cup flaked coconut

  • In a large mixer bowl beat butter till softened.
  • Add sugar and beat till fluffy.
  • Add milk and vanilla and beat well.
  • Add flour and beat until well mixed.
  • Stir in cherries and pecans.
  • Shape into rolls.
  • Roll in coconut to coat.
  • Wrap and chill for several hours.
  • Preheat oven to 375F.
  • Cut into 1/4″ thick slices.
  • Place on ungreased cookie sheet.
  • Bake about 12 minutes or until done.
  • Remove and cool, eat.

Giveaways

The winner of this weeks TKB giveaway is :

Email me at contact  [dot] gothique [at] gmail [dot] com!

I hate having to say this again, but if you enter giveaways and then post nasty comments, I’m going to ban you.

Also, please read the giveaway instructions.  If I’m asking you to do something specifc to qualify, typing ‘enter me’ will not, I assure you, enter you.

Also also, don’t forget to add your pick to the Best of 2010 poll, the link is over there ➽

Pressing

I have a HUGE series on pressing coming up.  I’m covering :

  • How to press, the basic concept.
  • How to press a bought mineral shadow.
  • How to blend your own shadow.
  • How to make blush.

Would there be anything else you’d like me to add?

Blog Sale

Since I’ve been working with Sephora and the counters, I’ve amassed a lot of stuff that I’ve tried and probably reviewed, but cannot possibly use.  I’m planning on a blog sale the first week in January.  It’ll include Tokidoki, Urban Decay, MAC, and lots of minerals.

The Links

Still haven’t finished your holiday shopping?

Someone needs to stop me from finding new food blogs.

This is gorgeous.

I’m sucked into reading these comments.

Cacau reviews some Lip Whips and shows off her man.

Mai reviews some lashes.

Is it silly to want one of these and I live in SoCal?

Someone make this and tell me how good it is.

Your Turn

What did you ask for for Christmas?

Should I break down and try Guerlain Météorites?  How you tried them?  Got any dupe ideas?

What sort of designs would you be interested in seeing for my Inque collection?

 

30 Responses to “It’s Friday, I’m in Love”

  1. those cookies sound awesome =O
    and I look forward to your sale! Hope to see some cool stuff.

  2. If you make some sort of cute poodle, I’m in for the nails.
    I’m looking forward to your pressing series. I haven’t pressed in a while and I look forward to seeing your results. I keep wanting to press some of my loose stuff. For the Meteorites, I keep thinking I saw a dupe of them mentioned somewhere but I can’t remember what brand it was. I think a dupe would be neat 🙂
    I asked for some makeup books for Christmas and Gossip Girl on Blu Ray.

    • I thought I saw one, too, but when I Google it’s not what I thought I saw, if that makes sense.

      I could do poodles! I’m working on a theme, but I could figure out how to work them in 🙂

  3. Thanks for the linkage :D!

    I honestly don’t get how GS’s customers can keep going back! They’re honestly sheeple with the way they’re acting. Lela keeps admitting that she willingly did this and willingly did that and tries to pull off the remorse card. It’s sickening how these people can be so blinded.

    Thanks to the Amazon wishlist browser add-on, I was able to ask for lots of Etsy goodies :D! Only 18 more hours until I get to open presents & see the significant other

    I’m not sure if you’re much into decorating baked goods as you are into making them, but these two are my favorite! http://www.cakejournal.com/ http://thefrostedcakencookie.blogspot.com/

  4. That cookie recipe looks so good! I don’t think I’ve ever had candied cherries before, so this is going to be interesting 😀 Also looking forward to your blog sale!

  5. Cookies: I’m pretty simple when it comes to them so I only do the standard double chocolate chip ones. Mhmm, yummy!

    I’m really lookin forward to your pressing tutorials! I never tried that before because I was afraid of screwing up x/

    Inque designs: Something Damask. When I think of your blog, your background pattern is the first thing that pops up in my head.

    Merry Christmas to you :D!

  6. Merry Christmas, Grey!

    Cacau, you and your boyfriend make a darling looking couple!

  7. YAY I WON!!!! I sent you an e-mail Grey, thanks again!

  8. Hahaah! Yay! Nothing like showing off your man! ^.~

    I’ve asked for money. I really need to save up. I want to buy an apartment someday…. I only have 4% of the total I need yet hahahaha!

    What’s meteorites?

    Also, thanks for the cookies recipe! ^^

    Many many hugs! Merry Christmas! 😀

  9. That recipe looks yummy, I wish I was better at baking! I’m looking forward to the pressing tutorials, since I’m curious about that.

    For christmas, I asked for books and makeup.

    Merry Christmas to you as well Grey!

  10. Merry Christmas miss lady!!!! 🙂 I hope you get everything you asked for.

    I didn’t ask for much, just Epic Mickey. I’m not hard to shop for so they can hand me a baggy of gummie worms and I’d be set 😀

  11. I love your Friday posts!!

    I’d love to learn how to make full coverage vegan mineral foumdation since I’ve started making my own blushes and shadows.

    I asked for the idiots guide to making natural beauty products.

    Have a wonderful holiday!

  12. Mmmmmm cookie goodness!

    Merry Cjristmas!

  13. For the pressing, I get so confused by videos and tutorials that talk about how sometimes you need rubbing alcohol but other times you need mixing medium. WHEN, I ask, is it ok to use alcohol and when do you need the medium? I mean, most of my mineral shadows have a base and are not just mica, does that mean they don’t need the binder? >.< It's all so confusing :`(

    I've been reading all of the drama on GS too – it's amazing how many idiots know how to use the internet!

    What? People have been leaving angry comments here?! :O

  14. Merry Christmas!

    The cookies look awesome… i’ll bake them tonight 🙂

  15. I didn’t ask for much this Christmas, as I’m getting to the point where I really don’t need or want much. My Christmas wish was to have a healthy baby when he came along {I was due January 14th} but he decided to come 3 weeks early. He’s perfectly healthy and very content sleeping on the couch with momma or grandpa and grandma 🙂

    Best Christmas EVER
    Hope yours is just as merry

  16. Wow! congrats to Myssi! 🙂 thats probably one of the greatest gifts, very happy for you and your family. merry christmas, Grey! Ii’m looking forward to your blog sale.. and baking those cookies!

  17. Merry Christmaaas! And yeah, the GS drama is going D O W N. Or something like that. We made these almond-chocolate cookies at my best friends place that are traditional in her family, but we ate like.. half of them as soon as they were done. :<

  18. I really love the Meteorites I broke down and bought ages ago. They’re really pretty! I can’t think of a dupe offhand.

  19. I look forward to seeing the goodies you’ll have up for sale.

    For Christmas, I asked for the Heat Ultimate Elixir limited edition perfume by Beyonce. I got it. 🙂

    Merry Christmas to you too and hope your holiday was great!

  20. Oh, don’t get me started on food blogs – I have a special folder in my Bookmarks for them and it’s overrunning!
    Love ’em!

    It’s still not Christmas here (Gregorian vs. Julian calendar XD ), but I asked for nothing. Not “I haven’t asked for anything”, but really “I have asked for nothing”.
    I have too much clothing (once you stop gaining height, the turnover of your wardrobe slows down), too many trinkets, and I’m not all that much a trinket kind of girl, and I’m more into savoury snacks than sweets.
    Decluttering and all that.

    Ooh, pressing theory – that sounds interesting!

    Merry Christmas to all who celebrate it now!

  21. Ooh, I’m so happy you are going to cover pressing! I love your blog!

  22. I got too excited while reading your blog and commented too early. Then, I went back and re-read the questions. I usually just buy whatever I need so I don’t ask for anything. But, this year, I asked for a kindle. My husband got me a color book nook. I absolutely love it. It has the android OS on it, and you can browse the web, watch youtube videos. It is backlit, and you use the touch screen to turn your pages. I have never tried guerlain eyeshadows, but I did get a smoky eye palette from Bobbi Brown that I really love.

  23. Didn’t ask for anything in particular, but was thrilled to receive a cruz book reader/tablet.

    The Meteorites from Guerlain look so intriguing, I always wonder if they really to perform as magically as everyone who loves them says they do.

    I’d like to suggest this blog: http://desertculinary.blogspot.com/

    They’ve some creative sweets and they also produce vegetarian meals once or twice a week. Really fun to read about their culinary journey.

  24. http://www.physiciansformula.com/en-us/productdetail/face/pressed-powder/07043.html

    I’ve heard good things about it, and makeup alley seems to like it too.

    For Christmas, I asked for some Aromaleigh and Shiro shadows and an Acekard so I can play homebrew on my DS 😀