Top 10 of 2010

1 – Favorite Moisturizer

Oil of Olay Definity Deep Penetrating Foaming UV Moisturizer

I bought this the first time on accident.  I had meant to put the moisturizer next to it in my cart, but I was distracted by… something.  When I got home I was upset, but I opened it and figured I might as well try it out anyway.  I was even more upset to find out it was some sort of odd foam in a mouse sort of dispensing can.  I only needed to wear it a couple of times to see that it was actually a great moisturizer.  It’s completely nongreasy and I don’t have to sit and wait for it to sink in (dry) in the morning before I can get on with things.  Since I’ve been on Tretinoin I get the occasional odd dry patch and this really does a great job of soothing things.  It also has an SPF, although it’s not very high (I stack SPF products anyway) and I really think it’s helped to fade the odd decades old sun spots from when I was a kid.

It ranges in price from $18 to $22  for 1.7 ounces and is often on sale.  I think it’s actually a great value because I find I don’t use as much and a little foam goes a long way.

Reader’s Picks:

  1. Clinique Dramatically Different
  2. Philosophy Hope in a Jar
  3. Mark For Goodness Face

2 – Favorite Primer (face or eye or both)

L’Oreal Studio Secrets Magic Perfecting Base

I hate that I love this so much.  It’s a great and affordable alternative to Primed and Poreless and is exactly like NARS Skin Smoothing Face Prep.  I’ve extolled it’s virtues before, so I’ll spare the repetition.  I’ve been wearing it on and off for over two months now and I find that on it’s own it’s fabulous and under foundation it’s completely effective.  I’ve heard from some people that it made their foundation ball up or pill.  I wonder if it’s because they’ve used too much primer or didn’t let it set first, because I haven’t had any of these issues at at all.

It ranges from $8 to $12 for .5 an ounce.

Readers’s Picks:

  1. L’Oreal Studio Secrets Magic Perfecting Base
  2. TFSI
  3. Pixie Epoxy

3 – Favorite Foundation (liquid or mineral)

Estee Lauder Double Wear

It would be hard to pick between DW or DW Light, I love and wear them both daily.  They are truly my Holy Grail foundations.  The service I got from the Estee Lauder counter was superb and I really feel like Desiree paid attention to my concerns and took the time to really match my shade.  I can put on the DW and dust it with powder and be done for the rest of the day, literally, with no worries or touch ups.  In fact it doesn’t even need a primer.  I love the DW Light as an alternative, it wears just as well, although it’s much more sheer.  With a little primer I still have near perfect skin, and really I can never complain about that.

DW is more of a full coverage liquid foundation where as I think DW Light is more of a light coverage liquid that’s actually a bit thicker then the DW.  They both have an SPF of 10, which is my only complaint, I wish it were higher.

DW is about $34 for an ounce and DW Light is about $34 for an ounce, but I’ve often seen it on sale both at the counter and online.

Reader’s Picks:

  1. Meow
  2. Nar’s Sheer Glow
  3. Estee Lauder Double Wear

4 – Favorite Powder

SoBe Oil Control

I discovered this product late in the year although it’s always sunny and outlandishly intemperate here in SoCal.  I’ve really put this stuff to the test.  I don’t have oily skin, not really, but again since I’ve been on Tretinoin my t-zone sort of argues with me.  I dust a little of this on in the morning, often over my DW, and that’s all I need for a fresh and near perfect face.  It may be made from simple ingredients, but it’s certainly well formulated.  Even on it’s own or over a little primer this powder is a must have for me.

It’s less then $8 for 10 grams or under $15 for 30 making it a great deal.

Reader’s Picks

  1. Fyrinnae Fluff
  2. Aromaleigh High Resolution
  3. MAC Mineralize Skin Finish

5 – Favorite Blush

NARS Orgasm

This is a tricky one.  I love Orgasm and I have it in many forms (blush, stick, luminizer, gloss) but I also have in in an endless amount of dupes of the same variety.  I love the color, it’s very flattering on me and works for a wide variety of look and moods.  So while I’d say that NARS Orgasm is my favorite shade, there was a few different companies that do it more affordably.

The NARS blush itself is $26 for .16 an ounce but it’s many dupes range in price and are typically much cheaper.

Reader’s Picks:

  1. NARS Orgasm
  2. Hard Candy
  3. Fyrinnae Glow

6 – Favorite Eyeshadow

Sugarpill

I was so happy when I got my first order.  Everything just exceeded my expectations.  I’ve already hit pan on Bulletproof and Love+, which is something I rarely do.  They are amazingly pigmented and wear like iron.  On top of that, Amy is just amazing and Sugarpill’s customer service is exceptional.  Sugarpill really stepped up the competition for a lot of companies out there hoping to get by on repackaged product and ‘cutesy’ packaging.  I’ve written about Sugarpill quite often, and don’t intend on stopping.

Sugarpill shadows are $12 for both the pressed and the loose versions.  The pressed shadows are a generous 4 grams and the loose a full 5 grams.

Reader’s Picks:

  1. Sugarpill
  2. Aromleigh
  3. Fyrinnae

7 – Favorite Eyeliner

I don’t have a favorite eyeliner pick.  I still haven’t found my favorite, but I can tell you without a doubt that I cannot stand the UD pencil.  I certainly ‘like’ a few, but still I end up using some mineral shadow wetlined more then anything else.  I’ll get back to you on this one.

Reader’s Picks:

  1. Urban Decay 24/7
  2. Milani Liquif’eye
  3. MAC Fludline

8 – Favorite Lipgloss/Tint

Stila Lip Stains

This is tricky, I’m really inclined to go with everyone in this and say that Fyrinnae just about takes this category.  But I’m going to have to admit I end up wearing Stila lip stains more often.  I like stains because they don’t require touch ups and I can usually wear then all day with maybe a little gloss on top.  I love that they also double as blush, I’m sort of into this matching lip and cheek thing these days.

Stila stains are about $24 for .08 of product, but they’re often on sale at Sephora or on the Stila site (which I get 20% off on).

Reader’s Picks:

  1. Fyrinnae Lip Lustre
  2. MAC Dazzleglass
  3. OHWTO

9 – Favorite Lipstick

Morgana Cryptoria Vegan Lipsticks

Go ahead and Google Morgana’s Minerals or Morgana Cyrptoria and the number one thing you are going to find are the glowing reviews of her amazing vegan lipsticks.  Available in a growing range of colors I am never disappointed in their wear, their creaminess, their opacity, and their pigmentation.

That’s all I’m going to say because I have an Indie-vs-Corp lipstick battle coming up the end of the week that features these amazing lipsticks and I don’t want you to get tired of reading how amazing they are.

They vary in price from $9 to $10 and are often on sale.

Reader’s Picks

  1. Morgana’s Cryptoria Vegan Lipsticks
  2. MAC
  3. NYX / Evil Shades

10 – Favorite Scent

The Morbid the Merrier Horseman, followed closely by I Love Lychee, Prudence Payne, and Sugar Skulls

This one was probably the hardest pick for me to make.  I started out the year wearing only one scent and that was more then enough for me.  Now I collect scents as memories and love them all.  It’s like trying to pick one happy thought over another.  It’s impossible.

Reader’s Picks:

There is no way to pick the top three, there were SO many different responses!

ETA: Comments are closed.  I want to remind everyone to please read my commenting polices.  Thanks.

7 Responses to “Top 10 of 2010”

  1. Aah, my lovely fiancee uses Horseman all the time, and I can’t decide wether I love him for using it and smelling delish, or hating him for taking it away from me (it would be … awkward if we smelled the same…)

    Awesomely compiled list, Grey. I’m impressed by the thoroughness of this, and your dedication to your blog. You’re my blogosphere-heroine!

  2. I see a lot of stuff I’ll have to give a try at some point. Great post 🙂

  3. Unrelated question, but do you happen to know if Morgana is selling lipstick samples? I’ve ended up with several orange lipsticks for now that are too reddish for my taste and I’d hate getting another one that is almost the same colour as well :/

  4. Yay I love the results 🙂

  5. Great list! I see a few things I’m now going to have to try.

  6. very awesome list! there’s tons of stuff i wanna definitely try out! 🙂 thanks forthis and happy new years , grey!

  7. Curses, I didn’t realize lip stains & sticks counted in the gloss/tint category! (Dunno why, it seems obvious now. I always think of tints as slightly colored balms.) None of my products made it to any top three! I finally got ahold of a Sugarpill palette, so I know what the fuss is about. If I hadn’t screwed up the lippie thing, Morgana or Fyrinnae would’ve been my pick. I’m going to have to budget for Fluff, Studio Secrets (can’t wait to pit it against my Soothing Care gel), and a new foundation. Last but not least, I know what you mean about perfumes being like happy memories. I have dozens and love them all; I once tried picking a “signature scent” because the magazines told me I should have one, but it didn’t work out.