That Old Black Magic

Ella is amazing, I couldn’t resist.  What an amazing voice.

My skin is driving me crazy.  All in all it’s rather just ‘normal’.  It’s never overly dry or overly oily.  It’s not acne prone.  However, I started on a Retin A treatment, Tretinoin, back in August to help with some issues left over from something.  It’s been really effective, PLUS I’m basking in the fact that the longer I use it the younger I’ll look in the long run.

For now, though, it’s left my face sort of a crazy minefield.  I’ll wake up in the morning and my skin will look amazing and my makeup will be flawless and then after noon I’ll look in the mirror and all of a sudden I’ll have either odd dry patches or a ubershiny t-zone.  Out of nowhere.

I’ve tried to compensate with oil control primers, but then if my skin wants to be dry that day my face is tight.  If I use moisturizing primers, my skin will want to be oily.

Most days I’m fine.  Perfectly fine.  But on the days I’m not Black Magic is my savior.  I’ll wash my face with this stuff and it’s like the problems disappear.

I’ve raved about OHWTO in the past, and for good reason.  I really think Becca does a good job of testing her formulations and actually getting them to do what she says they will.

Absolutely LOADED with ingredients long used for toning, healing, and clarifying the skin: Tea Tree oil, Peppermint Essential Oil, Grapefruit Essential Oil, Lemongrass Essential Oil, Rosemary Essential Oil, Vitamin E, Glycerin, French Green Clay, Rice Bran Oil, Apricot Kernel oil, and Activated Charcoal. In addition, the soap is made after I infuse the rice bran and apricot kernel oils (and then filter them) with a heaping handful of healing Calendula petals, long known for its skin-loving qualities.

Black Magic comes in an unique oval shape and is $6 for 2 ounces.  Might seem a little expensive for such a small size, but IMO it’s worth it.  Even when my skin is dry this soap soothes it and stops it from peeling or getting itchy.  When it’s dry out here (although not recently since SoCal is trying to wash away) I sometimes use this on my elbows and hands when they want to be red and angry.  When my skin is oily and misbehaving I love that I can wash my face and know that it will be calm and clean for the rest of the day.

It’s literally a black cream (well, it’s more of a very dark grey).  It rinses clean with no residue.  It has an almost mentholy/lemony scent that isn’t overpowering and doesn’t linger.

ETA:

To use it I use a very little water and massage it into my skin before I wash it off with a soft washcloth.

Would I order Black Magic facial soap again? Yes, I actually just did.

  • It does what it says, it calms and clarifies the skin and helps heal it.
  • It’s well formulated, I know it wasn’t just thrown together.
  • It’s an affordable alternative to name brand ‘refiners’.

Overall: /5

22 Responses to “That Old Black Magic”

  1. I love Becca’s Black Magic creme soap! I use it when my skin is having a case of the “horribles” – like right now.

  2. I so want this!It’s Summer here now, with 40ºC days and my oily skin is not liking it at all. If I over wash my face (which I feel I need every 2 hours) it gets really mad.

  3. I’ve been wanting to try this, now thanks to your review i’ll be ordering some soon. My face has some major issues and is overly sensitive. So trying new stuff on it can be difficult.

  4. I haven’t tried the Black Magic creme yet. I did try her Deep Black bar soap at one point and did like it. I’m assuming the menthol/lemony fragrance is the same that was in the bar soap! I did really like the fragrance!

  5. The ingredients sound great for my super oily skin. I just hope it does a good enough job of getting rid of excess oil. I haven’t had much luck with most cream cleansers in that department. I’ll give it a try when I run out of my current face wash.

  6. This one sounds really interesting. Hmmm…

  7. This does sound amazing! I really need to get an order in OHWTO!

  8. Those ingredients sound amazing. The climate here forces me to moisturize constantly, leaving my skin ultra sensitive and prone to scraping, rashes and bruising. The only other alternative is to not moisturize religiously and be dry and itchy all day long, and, ew.

  9. I had this one in a bar and worked wonders! I ordered 2 cream ones but it’s taking really long to get her

  10. Oh, I love the Black Cream, and the Black Magic. My fiancee uses the bar-version, and I prefer the cream version.

    Eveything Becca makes seems so well made and wonderful. Oh, I wish I had money in my account now, I want to order more soap and… other stuff in Dark Kiss because I got a full-sized solid perfume and the scent is amazing.

    I love how people who google OHWTO’s Black Magic gets up these wonderful reviews! ^___^

  11. I’ve had similar dry/oily problems with my skin lately so it’s great to hear you’ve found a solution. I’m going straight to OHWTO shop from your blog. Thanks for the review!

  12. That Sounds. ..well magical..Want!

  13. ^____^ Thanks so much for the super-sweet review, Grey! You’ve no idea how much seeing this brightened my day ❤ Also, I am happy to hear Black Magic's working so well for you! Huzzah!

  14. I love both the bar and the cream version. I mostly keep the cream version for travel and going to the gym though as it’s easier to bring around with me 🙂

  15. Love the bar, will try the cream as soon as it runs out!

  16. Wow, this sounds fantastic. I think I have a small sample bar that I need to try.

  17. i MUST get this! i use the bar version and love it, but this sounds super. i’ll add it to one of my OHWTO weekly orders. seriously, Becca is the best!

  18. Ooh! Sounds great!

  19. Wow, I really need to try this stuff! I really like the fact that it’s in a tube and not just a bar like some similar black soaps out there. I personally like bar form for body, but not for my face. It’s just easier and less messy to use when it’s in a tube.

  20. I can’t believe I missed this post! I’ve been raving about the Black Magic creme for about a week now. Becca has achieved the balance between true cleansing and true moisturizing — and it’s the only product I’ve ever found that does that! And the process in the shower is almost joyful, with the peppermintyness and grapefruityness and the pull of the clay. I’m totally bare faced, and my skin is mad toned. MAD TONED!!

    • Well, good thing the comments are here – Black Magic just crossed over from ‘interesting’ into ‘gotta-try-it’ territory 😀 !