oh Gosh!

Remember that amazing box of goodies I got from Eplefe?  In it was a bunch of Gosh nail polishes and a bunch of Isa Dora Graffiti crackle polish.  I freaked the freak out.

✶ Gosh is a Danish company that makes a wide range of cosmetics, more of which I will be reviewing soon.  It’s not available in the US, but I understand you can get it in Canada. There will be a more comprehensive post soon, so keep an eye out for that!

✶ Isa Dora is a Swedish company that also sells a wide range of cosmetics.  I haven’t been able to track down anyplace to purchase from them in the US, but I’ve heard rumors in the wind it is available.

My favorite combination is Miss Grey (594) from Gosh with the white crackle top over it.  It’s just amazing.  The Gosh polish is a nice opaque cream formula and you don’t need to layer it on for smooth even coverage and it dries easily and quickly.  I am really impressed with it!  The color is a medium grey, bordering more on a cool shade, and it seems to look good with everything I own.

The white crackle top was tricky.  It dries and then cracks SUPER quick so what I found works best is start with what you think is going to be too much!  Normally I swipe the brush of my polish off inside the rim, but with the crackle I just sort of let it drip off into the bottle a few times.  Don’t wipe the access off and quickly brush it over the grey.

Once it’s all dry (and it doesn’t take long at all) I seal the whole thing with Seche Vite.  From start to finish it took me under ten minutes to do my nails (both hands, and one is always trickier then the other) and it lasted forever.  Instead of chipping the tips wore, which I honestly don’t mind as much as my polish falling off in flakes.

What do you think?

27 Responses to “oh Gosh!”

  1. I love this look! Are there any crackle polishes available in the US? I can’t seem to find any!

    • OPI has a black one that’s supposed to be available right now, but due to high demand, they’re having trouble stocking everyone. China Glaze is supposed to be coming out with several colors of crackle soon. Maybe this month or next, I’m not at all certain.

  2. I loooove crackle polishes :3 We have a cheapo drugstore brand (with an awesome nail polish formula, though) that makes them in black and silver (both matte). I love them for a quick and foolproof mani.

  3. SO jealous. D:

  4. omg! i love this crackle polish. you say they don’t sell this out here in the US? Boo, I am really digging it now. You did a great job. I guess i gotta do some research for this. Thanks 🙂

  5. thebirdofparadise January 14, 2011 at 4:44 pm

    What do I think? I think that looks soooooo awesome. And I think you have very attractive nail beds/nails, Grey.

    Since I don’t like my own nail beds, I guess i have nail bed envy.

  6. I love that! Your fingernails look like birch trees :).

  7. I’ve occasionally seen IsaDora displays in my local Walgreen’s – but not regularly. They seem to pop up sporadically, then get taken down a few weeks later…and it’s months before another one reappears.

    The crackle nail polish trend just doesn’t appeal to me. Unfortunately for my wallet, there are other things catching my attention! (Why does that always happen?!??)

  8. I’m glad you liked them! I seriously love Miss Grey myself, though I normally put pink crackle on top of it to cute it up a little.

    Isadora and GOSH are seriously easy to get a hold off here, so if you want some quads/eyeliners and stuff, just shoot me a message on twitter or something and I’ll pick some up for you. ^_^

  9. Those look awesome! I could never get cracked nail polish to work for me! Thanks for the tip! I will have to try that next time!

  10. I LOVE Gosh!!! I have their primers and they are awesome, they really help my make up stick to my face!
    I am so glad that the Crackle polishes are BACK!!! I have the black Barry M and am anxiously awaiting the China Glaze series of Crackle polishes 😀
    More polish posts please!

    xoxo

  11. Ooohh, your nails look wonderful!

    I’ve been dying to try out crackle nail polish, just can’t seem to find it. This just makes me want to look harder.

  12. I remember when I was a little kid, I loveddd crackle nail polish. It’s really cool that it made a comeback. 🙂 Looks great on your nails!

  13. Ive never heard of crackle polish before (I’m so out of touch)…definitely have to keep my eyes open, it looks great! I’m a big fan of texture and layers.

  14. The nails are so cute on you!

  15. I love that! For some reason it reminds me of bones..

  16. I really like how that looks

  17. I live in Washington State and my local Walgreens used to carry Isadora, but it’s been years since they cleared it out. I have a mineral blush from that line. It’s funny, they were one of the first “drug store” companies I think I ever saw selling mineral makeup in their product line…long before it was the hot trend.

    • I just found some info online that says IsaDora was available exclusively in the US at Walgreens stores until Walgreens discontinued it in 2008. It can now be found at CosmeticMall(dot)com. Hope this helps!

  18. Hi! I love cracked nail polish. I have an Isadora Graffiti one in Black tag which is truly black but I think the white one looks great the way you put it, over grey. I’ve had the same experience with it as you, it’s tricky the first times but it lasts literally forever! I think the base colour shows off best if you wait about an hour before you put the crackle polish, I don’t know if you experienced any dragging of the base.

  19. Oooh! I love the crackle look! I do hope some can be found in the US; I’ve wanted some for years.

  20. I love your nails. They remind me of bark on a tree.

  21. Whoa! That is so cool! I think I wanna try it out one day!

  22. That’s neat! I think it looks like silver maple bark. Very organic. 🙂

  23. I have IsaDora eyeshadow in purple and gold from Walgreens! But they clearanced it about two years ago. Honestly, the mineral makeup eyeshadow was not as good as some others that I’ve tried. It was very, very sheer. I had to wear a LOT of it to get the colour to really show.

  24. OMG, I hate nailpolish, but I LOVE that effect. That’s amazing. I love it 🙂