Lust

Lysa knows me.  SHE KNOWS ME.  So of course when she sat down to make a Valentine’s Collection for The Morbid the Merrier she clearly made the scents with me in mind.

Histoire du Professeur – leather arm chair, starched white cotton shirt, dusty books, a memory of sweet pipe smoke and a faint whiff of brandy kept hidden in a desk drawer.

The first thing I can smell in this is the glorious scent of leather, but then it’s quickly met with a clean woody sort of undertone.  It’s quite peculiar and I have to admit it’s amazing.

Histoire du Secretaire – mile-high leather pumps, skin tight wool pencil skirt, stacks of filing paper, steaming black coffee, a mahogany desk and a hint of musky perfume.

This is a killer scent.  It’s leather and coffee and smells like an expensive office, but one you want to be in so less like a Dean’s office or something like that (had a bad experience with one of those back in college) and maybe more like your cool and equally successful aunt’s.  It’s hard to explain, this doesn’t smell like a ‘perfume’ but like a place.

Histoire des Amoureaux – a little Eden, a little de Sade. leather, juicy red apple, a serpent slither of pepper and spice, green grass, and sweat.

I’m a huge fan of TMTM’s other apple scent, Voix de Ville.  This is similar, but different.  It’s like an orchard hayride in the Autumn where the horses have leather saddles and the apples have completely ripened.

El Corazon – like the heart, fickle and a bit deceptive. A heavy, dark, smoky scent with a taunting core of sweetness.

Wow.  I smelled this for the first time and said out loud to the cat (Ichabod) DANG.  It’s smoky, but a real honest ‘downwind from the fire’ smoke smell with something behind it like you’re making smores.  But it’s not a cloying sweet smell, it’s like the smell of a marshmallow caught fire.

Hasta la Muerte – the innocence of lily and carnation, sweetened with vanilla absolute, smashed and marred by an undercurrent of heartless black spice.

It’s the spice that makes this scent so amazing.  There is a twinge of a floral and a soft real vanilla scent that it just held together but a rich and yet not overpowering spice.

I’m completely in love with this collection.  Of course that would be a given since they are leather based scents, but they are all unique.  It’s so hard to fall in love with a perfume and then cheat on it with another, but there will be a lot of that happening this Valentine’s Day.

31 Responses to “Lust”

  1. I am looking for a nice fire scent and El Corazon sounds like exactly what I am looking for. 🙂

  2. Sounds hot! I recently got some perfume samples for my boyfriend! Everything smelled great! ❤ I might try some of those, too!

  3. leather based scents? that sounds like something that would fit me perfectly. I love the smell of leather, thats probably why i own so much leather clothing 🙂

  4. I’ve never worn leather based scents though they have intrigued me . . 🙂

  5. hasta la muerte sounds like something i would want! 🙂 i love softer, sweeter scents such as this!

  6. I literally *ran* over there and bought two. YAY!

  7. GAH. Lysa probably just cost me approximately $70. XD
    They all sound amazing, I want all of them. All. Of. Them.

  8. I already picked up Histoire du Proffeseur, I can’t wait to try it out. Looks like I may need to grab another scent or two when I get my paycheck!

  9. Jules Noctambule January 25, 2011 at 5:08 pm

    I wonder if it’s possible to try samples of these? I didn’t see any listed in the Valentine’s Day section, but nor did the sample listing indicate that those scents weren’t included in the selection options. The perfumes sound nice from the description, but sometimes leather scents go ‘WOW!’ on the spouse and sometimes they go a little not-so-great (me, I can’t wear them at all).

  10. I got a sample of Histoire du Professeur from a past order and I absolutely love it. It’s definitely a seductive scent. The leather scent fades to reveal the smoky and brandy scent. I would love to get the entire Lust collection if/when I can.

  11. I couldn’t help it, just bought the whole Valentine collection. They sound too gorgeous for me to resist!!

  12. Personally I don’t like the scent of leather so i wouldn’t wear most of them, but they sound amazingly cool and exciting!

  13. I love that packaging!

  14. I am loving their description for Hasta la Muerte! I may have to check that out.

  15. Wow 🙂 These sound kinda amazing! The descriptions take me somewhere…dreamy

  16. I have been so curious about these! I scored a sample of Histoire du Professeur with another order and I’ve been so tempted to go back and order the set!

  17. Awww…Grey. I do adore you. Like, IMMENSELY.

  18. These are the only kinds of scents I do… The interesting ones 🙂 I want to smell the one that smells like an expensive office!

  19. Want! You made these sound so amazing! I can’t wait till I can buy the sample pack. They all sound like such unique smells

  20. Stop it! Stop tempting meee! I just spend a load of money on books on sale and I must wait for the next payday to buy anything else! 😦

  21. wow I am going to be poor from reading this blog and all the awesome stuff I need that you review!

    I need the horsemen scent to live!

  22. Yay, thanks for reviewing them. I’ll be ordering samples of all the Valentines scents, but am waiting to see if there will be Valentines lip balms too. Wouldn’t it be great if there were? 🙂

    • I wouldn’t wait too long, I think these are gone on Valentine’s Day until next year or never?! Shipping is so reasonable for a lip balm you can always get it later….

  23. I received my package of perfumes from The Morbid The Merrier yesterday and I got those and more. I can not believe how wonderful they smell. Really amazing collection. Of the leathers, I liked the Histoire du Secretaire the most, but it was a hard choice being that they all were fantastic!

    Oh, the perfumes are so complex and delicious!

  24. I really need to hop on this company ~ their scents never cease to amaze me

  25. I like that their scents are so “grown up”. It’s literally a breath of fresh air after the mainstream trend toward disgustingly sweet, non-dimensional scents that are so popular these days.

  26. Histoire du Secretaire and Histoire du Amoureaux sound beautiful. I must get those!

  27. Oh my god, I want Hasta la Muerte sooo badly, but I don’t like perfumes that aren’t roll-on or spray-on. I might buy it anyway though, because it sounds heavenly!

    • They do have it and all the general and Valentine’s Day perfumes available as a spray on sample in both the Etsy store and the website.