Smokey Eye

What is your favorite way to wear a smokey eye?

What are your favorite colors?

Do you have a favorite YouTube tutorial?

What’s your favorite soft (and long wearing) kohl liner?

What lip do you pair it with (bold, soft, nude, etc)?

 

 

16 Responses to “Smokey Eye”

  1. What is your favorite way to wear a smokey eye?
    – I like dark brown smokey eyes and matte black/ burgundy smokey eyes. I think grey looks a little odd on me, and I’m not a huge fan of silver. I like my eyes to be really dark on the lid and well blended in the crease towards the brow, with some glitter maybe.

    What are your favorite colors?
    – Matte Brown, Matte Black, Burgundy/ Blackened Red, Purple.

    Do you have a favorite YouTube tutorial?
    – Pixiwoo’s Helena Bonham Carter look or her Pam Anderson redux.

    What’s your favorite soft (and long wearing) kohl liner?
    – I really like to use a base of black gel liner, with MAC Feline Kohl over the top, or MAC Intense Pearlglides.

    What lip do you pair it with (bold, soft, nude, etc)?
    – I tend to pair it with soft lips – like chapstick or almost concealer nude using NYX Honey and MAC Myth.

  2. What is your favorite way to wear a smokey eye?
    -I usually like to wear my smoky eye the same way, but sometimes I change up the colors. I like for most of my eyelid to be a lighter shade with the medium shade in the middle of my eyelid and in the crease. Then I like to put the darkest shade on the outer V and under my eyes. I also like winging out my liquid liner on my upper eyelid.

    What are your favorite colors?
    -My favorite colors for the smoky eye are probably light beige, greyish brown, and black. Most of the time I like these to be shimmery colors that really pop! I also like to vary the colors, like sometimes I like a purple hued smoky eye or navy blue.

    Do you have a favorite YouTube tutorial?
    -Not really, if I look at make-up on youtube it’s usually for more outrageous looks, not just a smoky eye.

    What’s your favorite soft (and long wearing) kohl liner?
    -Ok, my favorite black eyeliner for my waterline is Prestige pencil liner in Black. I LOVE IT. I have been using it since around 2004. It will definitely stay in your waterline. A few years ago I went to get my make-up done at the MAC counter and they had to take off my make-up. The guy was like, “Wow, that’s some really good eyeliner. It won’t come off.” So, yeah it’s my have to have item.

    What lip do you pair it with (bold, soft, nude, etc)? -Whenever I do a smoky eye I always try to do a more subdued lip. My eyes are usually the main feature anyway because they are kinda big, and my lips are kinda on the medium side. When I wear dark lipsticks, they tend to make my mouth look small, so I’d rather wear lighter ones like NYX Circe with some gloss over it.

  3. What is your favorite way to wear a smokey eye?
    – Always dramatic as hell 😀 I have a bit of a funny eye shape (slightly-droopy almond, almost?) so I compensate with make-up to straighten it out a bit… or leave my eyes bare. Anything apart from quite dramatic make-up (apart from standard shading) looks silly, so aye. Parallelogrameyes!

    What are your favorite colors?
    – Black, blue and white; black and gold; blues and greens

    Do you have a favorite YouTube tutorial?
    – Not really =\

    What’s your favorite soft (and long wearing) kohl liner?
    – I honestly still haven’t found one. I don’t use kohls very much anymore. Barry M Jumbos sometimes, though.

    What lip do you pair it with (bold, soft, nude, etc)?
    – Usually very soft. I have quite full, very pink lips so I just stick a thin coat of something on to even out the colour, give it a bit of depth, and leave it at that.

  4. What is your favorite way to wear a smokey eye?
    Black, but mixed with another color; usually red.

    What are your favorite colors?
    Any really. I’ve done a smokey eye with pink eyeshadow even.

    Do you have a favorite YouTube tutorial?
    REally, I don’t use tutorials anymore, I used to get inspiration from doe deere’s tutorials though. Not so much now though

    What’s your favorite soft (and long wearing) kohl liner?
    Really I don’t use eyeliner very much the only ones I still have are from hottopic lol

    What lip do you pair it with (bold, soft, nude, etc)?
    Usually bright pink or red, both are revlon

  5. What is your favorite way to wear a smokey eye?

    I like to concentrate the darkest color on the outer corner and close to the lash line for an everyday look. Most nights I’d go for a very dark lid and smoke it all out til the brow bone.

    What are your favorite colors?

    Mostly black, greens, purples and reds, though I keep looking for the perfect red eyeshadow.

    Do you have a favorite YouTube tutorial?
    Not really.

    What’s your favorite soft (and long wearing) kohl liner?
    Stila Kajal Eye Liner in Onyx, hands down. That’s a true black. It stays all night long when it sets. You have to be really careful, though, cause it’s too creamy and soft and it can be a little messy.

    What lip do you pair it with (bold, soft, nude, etc)?
    I’ve done it all. I tend to use very colored lip glosses, for a not so nude not so bold look.

  6. What is your favorite way to wear a smokey eye?
    Heavy I guess? I like really deep colour at the lashes (upper and lower) and in the crease with a moderately dark colour on the lid

    What are your favorite colors?
    Matte Black, Sparkly Black, Purples

    Do you have a favorite YouTube tutorial?
    Not for a smokey eye.

    What’s your favorite soft (and long wearing) kohl liner?
    I think soft and longwearing is a bit of an oxymoron
    I like the Stila Kajal liners but there wear isn’t great, Prestige liners wear quite well but they are not nearly so creamy

    What lip do you pair it with (bold, soft, nude, etc)?
    Mostly nude, that being said I have naturally pink pigmented lips so a colour like MAC Snob is a good ‘nude’ for me. Also glossy!

  7. I like smokey eyes with violet or blue based shadows best. Petrilude has a nice tutorial. I have yet to find a kohl liner that doesn’t go all smeary and blah on me. I use a cream liner from Quo or a black eyeshadow with Too Faced’s transformer liquid. I’ll generally wear it with a gloss that’s close to my real lip color, or Urban Decay’s Revolution (red).

  8. What is your favorite way to wear a smokey eye?

    These days, a lot lighter than I used to. I don’t pull the shadows out away from the lid nearly as far as I used to. I’m 56 and I’ve come to the point where it’s aging rather than sexy.

    What are your favorite colors?

    Purples and burgundys and bright pinks. With an occasional foray into bronze.

    Do you have a favorite YouTube tutorial?

    My connection is too slow for YouTube, sadly.

    What’s your favorite soft (and long wearing) kohl liner?

    I’m still using Revlon ColorStay liner. I have trouble finding a liner/kohl that’ll sit still on my skin.

    What lip do you pair it with (bold, soft, nude, etc)?

    Most of the time, nude or light, non-frosty pink. But occasionally I say to hell with it and go full on drag queen goth and use something like Vamp.

  9. What is your favorite way to wear a smokey eye? I tend to do a very dramatic smokey eye with winged liner.

    What are your favorite colors? Lately I’m fallen in love with using tkb virgo on the inner eyelid, tkb moonstone on the middle of the eyelid, and tkb swiss chocolate at the end up the eyelid and blending up above the crease. My go to colors though are usually green with black, red with black or purple with black.

    Do you have a favorite YouTube tutorial? I will have to get back to you on this one. There is one girl that I adore on youtube but I simply cannot think of her name right now.

    What’s your favorite soft (and long wearing) kohl liner? I use the 99 cent eyeliners from Sally beauty. They are fantastic and don’t smudge on me.

    What lip do you pair it with (bold, soft, nude, etc)? I never wear lipstick or lipgloss. So natural.

  10. I’m still learning how to master a smoky eye *sheepish grin* I’d like to learn the classic and some neutrals with some light pink

  11. What is your favorite way to wear a smokey eye?
    I like doing a really dark black/gray on my lid, concentrating the darkest portion on the crease and outer v, and then blending a really bright matte color on the very edge of the crease color so it pops and then softens into the highlight. It’s my twist on the traditional smokey eye. It’s a fun unexpected look.

    What are your favorite colors?
    I love a smokey blue and smokey pink/purple eye.

    Do you have a favorite YouTube tutorial?
    I like the Soft Smokey Eyes and Glossy Nude Lips by monroemisfitmakeup (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mqqxYk0LWw8)

    What’s your favorite soft (and long wearing) kohl liner?
    I am not really a fan of kohl liners…too messy! I do like Urban Decay’s 24/7 Liner in Zero or MAC’s Blacktrack Fluidline.

    What lip do you pair it with (bold, soft, nude, etc)?
    Depending on what I’m going for I do a soft pink/nude/coral lipgloss, a matte natural, or a shocking bright red lip.

  12. What is your favorite way to wear a smokey eye?
    If I’m doing a dark/smokey eye, I pretty much always do it with black and one color mixed in there with it. Usually purple or green.

    What are your favorite colors?
    Green is my fave color of all time, but I love purple on my eyes the best because it makes their unique color stand out like crazy.

    Do you have a favorite YouTube tutorial?
    I don’t have one favorite but Petrilude does amazing tutorials. I also enjoy Xsparkage’s older videos. She used to come up with really fun looks.

    What’s your favorite soft (and long wearing) kohl liner?
    I honestly can’t wear kohl liners because they move all over the place on me. I’ve tried all sorts but my eyes are just too “hooded” to wear creamy/pencil type eyeliners:-(

    What lip do you pair it with (bold, soft, nude, etc)?
    I like a soft nudeish lip with a dark smokey eye. If I’m getting dressed up to go out I like to do sort of a 40’s look with a simple natural eye and bright lips.

  13. It varies, anything from nude-ish/taupe/peach shimmery lid colour with a light handed black shadow smudging out the black liner, to dark bold lid colours with darker smokey-ness… But I always have shadow on the outer third atleast of my lower lid.

    Purples and Greens, because they suit my eyes best, but also peachy/nude colours (Fyrrinae’s rapunzel wears extensions or sugar skulls for example)

    Anything by Petrilude, he is practically a make-up god. In fact, if there were a make-up god it would be Petrilude.

    I have a terrible confession to make, my favourite kohl type liner, is one I have had from when I first got into make-up. It’s the Styli-Style, Flat Eyeliner Pencil, in black. I can’t read the name anymore because it’s rubbed off completly. It’s about 7 or 8 years old maybe. (Gross that’s terrible) But, in that time it hasn’t ever smelled weird or worked differently, has never hurt my eyes ever, and it’s a “flat pencil” so it makes applying super easy.

    Lip colour depends, usually the lighter smokey eye with a bold lip and the bold eye with a neutral type colour, or none at all.

  14. What is your favorite way to wear a smokey eye? I like to use a light to medium color on the lid — like a pale gray with a white under my brow. In my crease, I like to use a medium gray and I like to darken the outer corners of my lid/crease and blend a a bit inward in the crease. Then, I line with black and make my line heavier on the outer corners. If I want to switch it up a bit, I will use a lilac color for my lid color.

    What are your favorite colors? I like purples, black, greens, darker blues alot.

    Do you have a favorite YouTube tutorial? My favorite is the one — I don’t recall her name — of the girl does the comedy. She has one where she is an emo, and another where she is a ho. Hysterical.

    What’s your favorite soft (and long wearing) kohl liner? Bobbi Brown’s denim or ivy are my favorites.

    What lip do you pair it with (bold, soft, nude, etc)? usually soft or nude lips.

  15. What is your favorite way to wear a smokey eye?
    – I like to use a black shadow and soft smudgey black pencil liner and use a gentle purple or green wash over the lid for some interest and some white/silver/gold in the inner corners

    What are your favorite colors?
    -BLACK!

    Do you have a favorite YouTube tutorial?

    What’s your favorite soft (and long wearing) kohl liner?

    What lip do you pair it with (bold, soft, nude, etc)?

  16. What is your favorite way to wear a smokey eye?
    – I like to use a black shadow and soft smudgey black pencil liner and use a gentle purple or green wash over the lid for some interest and some white/silver/gold in the inner corners

    What are your favorite colors?
    -BLACK! However, I’ve done some lovely smokey eye looks with purple, and dark green and brown too!

    Do you have a favorite YouTube tutorial? No 😦 I just use a magazine clipping or one of my make up books for ideas/guidelines

    What’s your favorite soft (and long wearing) kohl liner?
    Bonne Bell or Gosh

    What lip do you pair it with (bold, soft, nude, etc)?
    Both! I know you’re not supposed to pair a bold eye with a bold lip or vise versa, but I do anyways because I love my hot pink MAC and MUFE lipsticks!! If I’m doing a “nude” lip then I just layer my nude 2faced lipgloss with this adorable LORAC glitter lipglosss to add some interest.

    xoxo

    (sorry about the double comment, I hit enter by accident!)