LIQUIF EYE

RSW Round 2 – Day 4

I walk passed the Milani Cosmetics display a lot, but I’ve honestly never stopped. I bought a nail polish from them last year and was so disappointed I’ve never looked back. It really was a challenge to try Milani Cosmetics – LIQUIF EYE Metallic Eyeliner Pencil!

I picked one up from Rite Aid for something like $5, having to look through for a black, though, they appeared to be all sold out.  One was hiding, though.

Extremely smooth eye pencil with the application and feel of a liquid liner that delivers true color payoff, in a metallic finish with a long-lasting wear.

I am not a fan of Urban Decay 24/7 pencils.  They do not work in my waterline.  I typically don’t wear liner anyplace BUT there, just due to the shape of my eye and my preferred smokey look.  So I really do like my liner to stay where I put it and also?  Not transfer.  Sometimes I want black on top and white on the bottom.  Or purple.  Or blue.  Or heck, even gold.  So for the longest time I’ve been looking for something.

It’s your average pencil, so nothing remarkable to comment about there. Well, maybe there is in so much as it doesn’t even feel like an inexpensive liner, it sort of seems more like the ones you might pay $20+ for.

I really love the black of it.  It’s not a dark grey, it’s not metallic, it’s not shimmer.  It looks like black leather when swatched on the back of my hand.  I compare a lot of things to leather, which is odd being a vegan, but it’s an unmistakable rich sort of characteristic.

From left to right : Milani Liquif Eye in Black and  Urban Decay 24/7 in Zero

You can see from the swatches how much more pigmented and dark it is from the MUCH more expensive UD pencil.  I discovered that the Milani pencil works SO much nicer, it’s SO much smoother, it lasts SO much longer and once in my waterline it stays.  It’s not as long wearing as my favorite gel liner, but it still doesn’t drift and wander away after an hour like the UD pencil does on me.

It still transfers.  I can put it on and blink and it’s on the lower lash, but if I put it on and keep my eye open it will eventually set and not transfer as much.

A couple of minutes after swatching the UD pencil is still tacky and smeared a little as I rubbed it while the Milani pencil is dry and SET.  I love to make a smokey eye base with it, but you have to work and smudge FAST.

The Milani pencil is an amazing find and something I will definitely pick up again once I’ve worn through this one.

 

 

43 Responses to “LIQUIF EYE”

  1. Looking good :3 Will hunt it down online. Thanks for the review!

  2. Hi! As I am looking for something that will last on my waterlibe I must ask what you favorite gel liner is? I love your blog and have followed it a while but I musted have missed it!

  3. I think the UD 24/7 liners are nice, for what they are. But like you I liner my waterline and don’t tend to line elsewhere, and the UD 24/7 liners are just useless for that. I’ll certainly take a look at this line of liners next time I decide to grab something from a site which sells them. Thanks for the review.

  4. I love the blackness of it. I’m one of the few who isn’t a huge fan of UD 24/7 liners. I’m usually a liquid liner kind of girl; even gel liners & I don’t get along too well. I’ll have to scope them out when I’m off my no-buy. 🙂

  5. Sounds good. A decent eyeliner is so hard to find.

  6. Wow..its a much deeper black than UD zero. I’ll have to check out the Milani display next time I’m in Kmart. I don’t really run into Milani much because the only place its sold in my town is Kmart, and I don’t really go to Kmart often.

  7. I love these pencils!! I have the blue one and get compliments EVERY TIME I wear it. I wish they had more shades!

  8. Wow! A good review on these pencils! Yay! I’ll have to try to find one next time I see a Milani display. I’ve seen that a lot of people do like them. But I just wasn’t sure what they were like.

  9. I Love Milani

  10. This eyeliner always seems to be sold out whenever I go to CVS! I have to pick one up, I think the brown especially looks very nice and rich. Too bad there’s not much of a color variety as Urban Decay.

  11. WOW. I’m actually one of those people that UD liners work really well with…though I will admit that I would love it if it stayed on my waterline a bit longer. I mean, at least it’s one of the few that won’t make my eyes all pink and watery if I do wear it on the waterline, but it has like a max of 2 hours there.

    However. I think I need to try the Liquif Eye. Need. A rich black liner that STAYS PUT on the waterline for 5 bucks. Helll yeah.

  12. Ahh this is my go to liner. I never understood the UD 24/7 liner hype. I tried it and was disappointed. This liner is one of the best if not the best I have tried. Its so dark and smooth, I love it!

  13. I use UD 24/7 pencils, and I agree Zero does rub and transfer and look like a mess after just 10 minutes. I think all the other colors of UD pencil have a little more staying power for some reason, so I use the other ones daily. But I definitely need a black that is 1. darker, and 2. doesn’t make me look like a raccoon shortly after applying. I definitely think I might pick up this pencil though. Did you try other colors or just black? 5$ each would be a whole hell of a lot better to spend for several colors than 20$ each. 🙂

  14. Thank you for reviewing this! I’ve been debating the black and the blue, but a good review is good.

  15. I will have to try this. The U/D liners are gone from my waterline and smudging all over my undereye area in under an hour when I use them there, and since I use gel liners for my upper lashline, that’s the only place I use pencil. Which makes them pretty much useless. But I almost always want to line my waterline, so I’ve been on the hunt for *something* that will bloody well stay PUT there. Here’s hoping Milani will be it!

  16. I’ve passed over Milani products so many times as well, but I am really impressed by your swatches! I think next time I’m at CVS I will have to get a couple!

  17. OH! I will have to try these! UD 24/7 liners are ok for me better than anything else I’ve tried but no where near HG status for me and SO expensive, especially here in Canada. I’ll have to keep my eye out for Milani.

  18. thebirdofparadise February 2, 2011 at 8:17 pm

    I am bummed that I have already spent the money on other products that work for me (UD 24/7 and HIP gel liner, but others, too.) because everything I have already purchased is way more that 5 bucks a pop. Oh well, live and learn. 😉

    I may be sending some make up gifts to 2 nieces who are a junior and a senior in their high schools this year. (Canadian equivilant = Grade Eleven and Grade twelve. Couldn’t resist.) They will have several proms, dances, etc. and I love to send them goodies. In that case, I really, really appreciate the lower cost of the Milani recommendation. Thanks.

    How are you feeling today, Grey? Sending you positive vibes, as always. 🙂

  19. Wow, now I’m excited to try these liners! I think my mom actually has a Milani liner somewhere…
    I own a 24/7 liner in a bright purple, but I rarely use it because I have VERY oily lids and it never stays put.

  20. Cheers for the review. Milani is easier for me to get in my little country locked away down at the bottom of the world then Urban Decay, and if the pencils work better then the 24/7 then WIN.

  21. PS: I just want to add that it is summer down here so the gardens arent sparse of plants but littered with pohutukawas and cheeky tuis (I ❤ tuis)

  22. I’ve never tried their nail polishes, but I know that I’ve been really impressed with their eyeshadows in the past. I’m in the market for a new eyeliner, so I’ll have to pick this one up!

  23. Wow the pigment on that is fantastic. I only use pencil on my lower waterline and the ones I’ve used so far really don’t last long. Will have to try one of these!

  24. This is pretty much the only black pencil I’ll use. It’s not PERFECT, but it’s certainly the best I’ve tried for the waterline, which is the only thing I use a pencil for. I’m glad you like it. And yes, it is a very rich black. Heck with Zero! It’s gray and everyone knows it. >:o

  25. Wow, that sounds so good!
    I love it when cheaper products outshine their more expensive counterparts
    Not like I can easily access either Milani or UD but what can you do 🙂

  26. A pencil liner that stays put in the waterline? WANT!

  27. OMG.

    I never use black eyeliner, because they either don’t stay where I put them, or they fade to a patchy grey/brown mess and I get all “meh”. I’m gonna have to hunt one of these down soon, to see if I can reconcile with black eyeliner. Thanks for the post!

  28. I have heard such great things about these eyeliners but I haven’t been able to find them anywhere near me…maybe I just need to look a bit harder. I love colorful eyeliner and the UD eyeliners work pretty well for me, but you can’t beat $5 for an eyeliner that works this well. I guess I’ll just have to keep looking!!

  29. Nice! They just started carrying Milani recently up here (or maybe I just noticed recently), so I’ll be on the lookout. Not a fan of UD eye stuffs, since anything glittery near my eyes just spells disaster.

  30. Wow it’s so black! We don’t get Milani over here of course 😦

  31. Yay, I just bought it, as well as two lipsticks (one for me, one for my girlfriend)!

  32. I am glad that you did this review!
    I don’t like UD pencils either. They smear too easily for me.
    I have been wanting to pick this up, now I might have to 🙂

  33. Thanks for the review! I actually just bought my first UD liner but I found a Target in my town that sells Milani so I’ll definitely have to check it out. Black eyeliner is a staple for me.

  34. I’m really happy to read this review! I wear my eyeliner much the same way as you, Grey, and I’ve been putting off trying this eyeliner as well, thinking that it was going to be too similar to the UD pencils that I have been less than impressed with. I can’t wait to go out and pick this up and finally give it a try! Thanks Grey!

  35. omigoodness gracious! I’m so glad i read this, so i can pick up this eyeliner at my nearest Rite-Aid!!! And so i can ditch my Smashbox Limitless in oyx!

  36. Just out of curiosity- is Milani actually a Vegan-friendly(ish) brand? I read some places that they don’t do animal testing or use animal by-products, but I haven’t been able to find much else to confirm those claims. (Plus, I was just at their website and one of the products, the “Buzz Worthy” glosses, apparently have honey extract in them, maybe it’s the one product that doesn’t fit the bill? I don’t know…) Does anyone know anything abut this? Because I would love to be able to get some veg-friendly cosmetics that I don’t have to A.) pay shipping for, and B.) pray is the color I think it is, plus is readily available locally, and doesn’t cost me out the nose. Plus that liner looks totally awesome. Totally toally freaking awesome.

  37. I picked one of these up yesterday and after testing, I am rather impressed! It still doesn’t seem to want to stay as long as I might like, but it lasts much longer than anything else I’ve ever used, and for about $6, I think I’m good here!

  38. I love Milani. I was so sad when our local Walgreens stopped carrying it. But I went in today and to my surprise the Milani display was back up and fully stocked! You should’ve heard my squeak of happiness. haha. :p

  39. I have the aqua one and the gold one. I really love the formula, though I tend to reach for my loose kohls more often when I want gold on the waterline.