It’s Friday, I’m in Love

Hey!

Grey’s Anatomy

For those of you following along on Twitter, I’ve had a series of blood tests this week testing me for a congenital blood disorder that apparently runs in my family.  Most of my cousins on my mother’s side of the family have it, and yup… me too.  While it isn’t why I’ve been sick, it has no doubt been contributing to why I’m not recovering.  I’m moving into the treatment phase and I’m looking forward to feeling better!  It’s nothing serious, but it does effect how my doctors react to OTHER things.  I’m not trying to be intentionally vague, it just alters he landscape in ways I’m not sure of yet.

Reviews

There are such an odd combination of things I do, products I use, places I order from.  I always wonder if you’d be interesting in hearing about them?  Do you want to hear about the place I order my iPhone skins and cases from?  Do you want to know about Japanese magazines I read each month?  Should I post more jewelry making tutorials?  This isn’t a blog about me/veganism/etc.  It’s a beauty blog, but still, it sort of counts, huh?

Inglot

The super massive Inglot post is coming today.  Minutes after you see this in your inbox, you’ll see that, I’m going to run through it one more time doing edits.  I would love your feedback on it.  Also, there is going to be a Giveaway posted right after that.  There has been a lot of buzz the last day or so about the company, so for once maybe my timing is good.  It took a a while because, as you’ll see, I tried a LOT of products and I usually test things for 7-10 days.  It was exhausting to have to play with make up all the time.  Hee hee hee.

Giveaways

Don’t forget to enter the Product Body Sexy Valentine’s Giveaway.  Don’t forget, everything is vegan!   I’ve been slacking on the giveaways, but I’m running out of things to actually give away!

The Links

Cry Havok, indeed.

I never did get my 50% back.

I cannot wait to see this movie.  And oh look, JBD is in it.

Your Turn

My links suck this week, but I spent to much time at the doctors or writing nearly daily reviews!  What about you, do you have any links you want to share?

Do  you have a favorite foundation brush?  The one I have now is poke-y.  But not one of those fiber optic ones, those don’t work for dry skin.

23 Responses to “It’s Friday, I’m in Love”

  1. Hey!
    I’d love to see jewelry making tutorials.
    Hope treatment phase goes on smoothly and you feel better soon.
    🙂

  2. Sounds strange, but I’ve been using this brush to buff in liquid foundation: http://www.eyeslipsface.co.uk/product~prodID~136.htm

    I read something about buffing in liquid foundation with a clean, dense, kabuki; I tried this one, and it works great. Not scratchy at all, and I don’t get the streaks I always did using the Sigma travel-size foundation brush.

    My only complaint is the rather long handle which I keep hitting the mirror with but then I’m so short-sighted I need to be within about 2 inches of my mirror to see what I’m doing!

  3. I’d be interested in the other stuff, definitely. I’d be pretty useless at jewellery making though.

    Thanks for the link – you were the “she didn’t get her refund” person I mentioned. RE: Product Body, I was a little disappointed, I sent them an e-mail asking a question about shipping on the website and they never responded to me, then weeks later I ordered on the Etsy store and left a personal note in the comment box, and I’ve never had any kind of contact from them. Nothing thanking me for my order or answering my question or confirming dispatch or anything. Maybe I’m spoiled by indies who take a personal interest?

    • That is a little odd. I know Jo is pretty quick to reply to me on Twitter and stuff and usually gets back to my emails quickly. I do really like the personal replies, it’s honestly what keeps me going back to the few same companies (Whimsy, EE, OHWTO, Fyr (who draw bats on my invoices) and people like that).

      JO, ANSWER ANA!

      • Yeah, it’s one of the reasons I like indies so much. The question isn’t even relevant any more since I ordered on Etsy but I didn’t get a great impression by the total lack of communication, I admit.

        Still looking forward to trying sexy laundry day though. I completely love OHWTO Fresh Snow so I’m hoping I’ll also love SLD.

  4. As I said – take care 🙂 .

    Do you want to hear about the place I order my iPhone skins and cases from?
    Nah.

    Do you want to know about Japanese magazines I read each month?
    Yeah!

    Should I post more jewelry making tutorials?
    You did that? It must’ve been before I found your blog. Yes!

    This isn’t a blog about me/veganism/etc. It’s a beauty blog, but still, it sort of counts, huh?
    It interests me, but since it’s a beauty blog – maybe like an addendum to a post?

    Looking forward to the Inglot post 🙂 .

  5. Since you mentioned it, I’d love to hear about which Japanese magazines you read. I’ve got quite a few at my apartment and would love to hear about more!

    Hope you get all the health things figured out. Good luck 🙂

  6. I don’t have an iphone so I will have to pass on this. Although, have you heard of the “deco den” craze? (not sure if it’s one word.) It isn’t a new trend, I’m just a little slow at finding about things.
    I love Japanese zines!! There’s only one kind I read, so I would definitely like to know about more. 🙂
    I would enjoy the jewelry making as well. Sounds like a hobby I wouldn’t mind getting into! Definitely excited for the Inglot review(whoooot!!)

  7. I really love inglot! Can’t wait to read your review!
    It’s sadly difficult to find in Europe, I bought mine in Poland years ago 🙂
    Hope your health trouble are not too bad, and I wish you a good day !
    C.

  8. Hope you get well soon. I think it’d be interesting to read posts about non-beauty stuff. I like the jewelry making tutorial idea. 🙂

  9. Do you like decoden? I’ve recently got into sweet decoden and am now addicted to another expensive hobbie. Urgh.

    I’d personally enjoy seeing jewellery related anything, phone and iPod cases etc. It’s all good.

  10. I’m not too interested in gadgety things (especially iPhone/iPad), but Japanese magazines? Heck yes!

    As far as foundation brushes go, I’m still using the flocked sponge Aromaleigh sold, but I also stick to loose powder foundation.

  11. I’m interested in reading it all. I like variety 🙂

    Thanks for the link, I thought you’d be amused!

    So I have a few ‘foundation’ brushes. I have my kabukis which I haven’t been using lately since I’ve changed my technique. I have a Laura Geller brush that’s wide and flat. I have a few powder brushes. However, for the way I apply foundation right now (sparingly, only to t-zone and under eyes), I use a fiber optic, so that’s what I like.

  12. I’d love to see jewelry making tutorials and other beauty related things 🙂
    I don’t use a foundation brushes. But I did order a dual fiber from ebay. I’ll see how that fairs…
    Hope you are feeling better and get well soon!

  13. Take care of yourself.

    I like to see reviews on pretty much anything.

  14. I actually really liked the post you did that showed the cute shoes you got from Target. And I’d love to see where you get your iphone cases and skins, also. I love makeup, obviously, but it is a really nice change of pace to hear about other things as well from my favorite bloggers.

    I’m excited for the Inglot review, I’m about to read that after I comment on this.

    I really hope things get better for you soon, health-wise!

  15. I like reading anything you post. I don’t read any Japanese magazines anymore, but I do have an iPod and I can always use more good suggestions for cases. If for whatever reason you had an entry I didn’t care to read about, I have a scroll wheel on my mouse. It’s your blog, and what you want to put up is just as important as what your readers what, in my opinion. Without you, we wouldn’t be here. So I say write about whatever you want.

    Personally, I really like hearing about your health. I have some health problems too and I like knowing that other people have these problems too. It’s nice that somebody who knows about and cares so much for beauty products is just the same as I am.
    For the most part, that is. Of course our health problems are different sorts of problems but I hope you know what I mean.

  16. I giggled at the “Grey’s Anatomy” headline. I do hope you’re all right!

    Regarding the not-so-related-but-sort-of-related posts, perhaps you could do a once-a-week thing? The content would be a bit more personal but probably still something interesting enough to share, and I for one would love to know more about the lady behind the honest and practical reviews in this blog 🙂

  17. I love the ecotools foundation brush. I find about 99% of brushes tickle and itch my skin and these ones don’t.

    And I am SO ALL OVER that Inglot post.

  18. I’m sorry to hear about your blood woes Grey. I really hope it doesn’t become too big of an inconvenience or problem in your life:-( I’m really excited for that movie too! I can’t get enough James McAvoy lol! Thank you for all your hard work that you continue to put into this blog. It doesn’t go unnoticed. I always look forward to your posts:-)

  19. Sorry to hear about the testing and blood disorder diagnosis, but happy to hear that you got some sort of answer so that you can heal.

    I love to hear about your style… So jewelry and craft tutorials from you would be awesome, and I would love to read them.

    My current (mineral) foundation brush of choice is a jumbo buffer brush that I purchased from Aromaleigh a while back. It feels better on my face and I think easier to control than the kabuki I used to have.

    And that was one heck of an Inglot review… Wow. I hope they go online… You have piqued my interest.

  20. I use a kabuki brush to wear my mineral powder foundation.
    Inglot is exciting!
    Get well soon!!!

  21. I am going to be starting to make scrabble tile pendants. I’m a little excited, but yes, jewelry making tutorials sound amazing!