Darling Girl Cosmetics – A Review

RSW Round 2 – Day 7

Ordering

I’d never heard of Darling Girl until it was suggested.  The first thing I ever do, and I’ve mentioned this before, is Google the company.  If there are enough negative reviews or bad experiences, I’m not going to waste my time and money (I know, that’s what you come here for!). Darling Girl seemed to be fairly highly recommended.

I went over and poked around.  The website was confusing and hard to navigate.  Although ordering is closed now until April, I just went back to see if it was the same way, and it seems a bit improved.  It had been really tricky to navigate the categories and to find things.

The listings are comprehensive, they contain a nice picture and in many cases a swatch as well as a description, the ingredients and the weight.  The prices are fairly competitive.  You can order either a full sized, a mini (called a Petit), or a sample, samples are only $.60.

The names and colors are cute.  I was sort of surprised that they had so many ‘suggestive’ names when the image of the shop is so sweet and ‘darling’.  It was tastefully done and not at all IN YO FACE! (except for Painted Whore, I’m just not so crazy about names like that).  They sell shadows, blushes, primers, lip glosses, and balms.

They have an integrated cart, but no running totals are available until you click on your cart page.  They only accept Paypal for payment, which I never really care for.

I ended up ordering:

BFF Eye Shadow

Sex Kitten Eye Shadow

Ethereal Eye Shadow

Gloom Eye Shadow

Fantasia Blush

Stay the Day Eye Primer

Strangelove Lipgloss

Shipping

Shipping was $2.00.  That’s it.  I ordered on a Tuesday and despite a holiday and everything in between, it was mailed the next day and I had it by Friday.

Packaging

My order was shipped in a plastic bubble mailer.  Inside my items were wrapped in festive tissue and carefully packaged.  Included were some small samples, my invoice, and a personalized thank you.

Products

Stay the Day Primer

I’m going to just jump in and get this out of the way.  This primer was a huge disappointment.  It comes in a little tube just like Fyrinnae’s mini lustres.   It’s labeled with the company name, the product, the weight, and the ingredients.

Just looking at it through the tube I could tell there was going to be issues.  It’s not blended well at all and the dry ingredients have separated into chunks.  I shook the living daylights out of it, doing my best to work it all back together, but the tube is just too freaking small for it to work.  In the end this product was a complete waste.  It ended up just being a tinted watery mess that didn’t work.

The Shadows

I was over all really pleased with the shadows.  Although they are not complex, they are well made and well blended.  They were vibrant on a base and lasted without creasing.  The shades I ordered seemed to have the same shimmery finish, although they make over 120 colors including some mattes.

The full sizes come in the standard 5gram jar with a sifter.  They are labeled with the company name and the shade, as well as the ingredient.  The label is printed on a plain white sticker and unfortunately a lot of the info on my labels have worn off or were printed too lightly to see.  The petits come labeled with the company name, the shade, and the collection it’s from.

From top to bottom, left to right : Sex Kitten, Legacy (free GWP), Gloom, Fantasia Blush, Ethereal, BFF, and Strangelove Lip Gloss

The Blush

I love this.  Fantasia is described as:

Fantasia ♥ Is a kind of a neat color because it has a slight duochrome finish. It’s a gorgeous peachy shade with a very subtle violet shift. This is what I would call a satin finish. The pic looks shimmery but it’s just the violet duochrome. It’s more of a sheen. Just and FYI for the wary the violet and peach combine to look kind of rosy…gives it just a touch more pink.

If you are warm to neutral you should at least get a sample. I get such a fresh faced look with this blush. 🙂

I LOVE this blush and I’ve definitely used most of my Petit up.  It’s a bit more matte (she calls it satin) and these days I really love that in a blush.  No matter what I did I couldn’t seem to get a great picture of it to accurately show the shift.  It’s subtle and yet ‘oh so amazing’.

It wore well, although not all day, but it faded evenly which is all you can really ask for.  It didn’t streak or get funny looking.

The Gloss

I only got to wear this gloss once, it was borrowed and never returned, however I am assured it is lovely.  It was in the same sort of tube as the primer, since I ordered the Mini Kisses size and was labeled with the company name and shade.

From what I remember of it t didn’t seem to wear very long, although it was moisturizing.

Conclusion

Would I order from Darling Girls again? Probably!

Everything was carefully packed and quickly shipped.

The shadows were nicely made and custom blended.

The primer was either a really bad formulation or my order lacked quality control.

Overall: /5

35 Responses to “Darling Girl Cosmetics – A Review”

  1. The silvery shadow looks pretty.

  2. I ❤ Darling Girl!!

  3. Glad to hear you like the majority of what you bought! The blush looks so pretty 🙂 Shame about the primer though.

    • Not everything is going to work for everyone and it doesn’t strike me that this is the sort of shop to just put something out to sell it. It just didn’t work for me.

      The blush is amazing, I bet you’d like it!

  4. I really like Legacy, Gloom and Fantasia but the primer is pretty offputting, indeed.

    • I just wonder if that one ingredient doesn’t blend, maybe not include it? Since I formulate MM myself, I still think it’s great they are working on a primer at all!

  5. Hi Grey

    It’s Susan, aka Darling Girl Cosmetics… I just wanted to thank you for your honest review. I always read these and look for ways I can improve upon what I am doing, so I really appreciate feedback.

    Regarding the primer, it does work for me however, I realize that primers are different for everyone. The zinc I put in it is really hard to blend, so I have been playing with a formula that is a little thicker and clear rather than tinted. Hopefully it will be an improvement.

    I am glad you are enjoying Fantasia, it’s one of my favorite blushes. 🙂 Thanks again

  6. Jules Noctambule February 7, 2011 at 2:55 pm

    Too bad ordering is closed! Those are some pretty shadows.

    • I was writing this and it took forever because I was making a list of new things to get.

      • Jules Noctambule February 8, 2011 at 1:24 pm

        I can imagine! I’m already marking my calendar and making my list, much to the dismay of my wallet and my remaining makeup storage space. 😉

  7. I really want to try out the blush now! I’m happy to hear that they have petite sizes, since i usually like to use a little bit of everything! thanks 😀 !!

  8. Darling Girl quickly became one of my favorite companies, and I’ve ordered multiple times now. If you order again when the shop is reopened, I would suggest the tinted lip balms! Those are my favorite products, hands down. I also really enjoy the cream blushes and the aqua liners Susan makes. The fact that she makes such a variety of products, not just eyeshadows, is something I really like.

  9. I’m glad you liked most of the products! Darling Girl is by far one of my favorite newer MMU companies! I haven’t tried the primer, since I am content with TFSI. However, I love Susan’s shadows, blushes, and glosses! Her customer service and shipping has always been fast, friendly, and excellent. And Fantasia is a great blush 🙂

    • I really like the primer I use from SoBe, it just seems to work best, I never really got on with TFSI.

      I agree, her customer service seems spot on!

  10. Great review. I love DG. The blushes are my favourite, I’m wearing Fantasia today, in fact! Sucks about the primer, though, but if you go back you should try more blushes, I love mine!

  11. Great review! I’ve got to try that blush now.

  12. Gloom is really pretty, I might need to pick that up when they start taking orders again.

  13. I love the Fantasia blush! It looks and sounds amazing.

    Thanks for the review!

  14. This sounds really good, but to be honest, the site navigation really puts me off.

  15. I expect that DG will have its own website later, you can’t do much at Ecrater. But I didn’t find it difficult to navigate.

    I haven’t received my first order yet, so I can’t comment on the products.

    • I’m sure they will. I realize that they are limited to the program or host they are using, but it was still quite tricky in general, I actually hear that from many people.

      • I suppose I didn’t find it difficult to navigate because I browsed her shop several times before I placed my first order (and I am probably the only person in the world who quite liked Earthen Glow Minerals’ website). I do prefer Etsy though.

  16. If you haven’t already, be sure to check out DG’s Lip Balms, glosses, etc…. I’m HOOKED!! I ordered several samples and have really gotten only as far as Tease because it’s such a beautiful color! — so beautiful in fact, I ordered 3 full sizes… 2 for me and one for my mom! I need to try all the other colors because they look just as gorgeous!!

  17. I love DG, I’ve found the eyeshadows to be some of the most complex I’ve tried! The blushes are lovely, I’m wearing one of the cream blushes today which 🙂 There are swatches are such on my blog if you’re curious about any colours 🙂

  18. I’m one of the people that the DG eyeshadow primer really works for. I have oily eyelids and after trying a few different primers I learned that anything with oils, waxes, or silicones are a no-go with me. I’ll get creasing in anywhere from 5min. to an hour! Pixy Epoxy (not technically a primer) was the best thing I’d tried until the DG primer, and I’d still only get 3-4 crease-less hours out of it. I can get at least 8 hours of crease free vibrant eyeshadow with Stay the Day, so I’m very happy with it. 🙂