Underneath It All

The foundations I’ll be reviewing in my foundation overview will be:

STILA One Step

MUFE High Definition

Rimmel Clean Finish

Lancome Teint Idole

Inglot Cream Foundation

Chanel Pro Lumiere

NARS Sheer Glow

Estee Lauder Double Wear

Estee Lauder Double Wear Light

Laura Mercier Tinted Moisturizer

Cover Girl Nature Luxe

Loreal Magic Smooth Souffle

Are there any others you think I should try?

What are the most important ascpets of the foundations that you’d like to hear about?

ETA

Thank you for your questions.Β  These reviews will start soon!

 

33 Responses to “Underneath It All”

  1. I’m really loving Almay’s Wake Up Make Up mineral foundation these days. It’s the only mineral type makeup that lasts over 16 hours (hell, over TWO hours for me) that doesn’t leave me itchy or suffering.

  2. Yay! I can’t wait for this. I’d love to hear how airbrushed/flawless you feel the foundations make you look. I’m so glad you’re reviewing Ana’s favorites, the Estee Lauder stuff.

    Hm, I’m using the Too Faced Flawless Liquid foundation lately (just a bit on my t-zone blended out), not sure if you’d want to try it or not but I’ve been pretty happy with it.

  3. Oooh, I’m looking forward to this post as well. I’d like to hear about how well they last, whether they look natural but still flawless, and how easy or difficult it was to find a real match to your skin.

    Most looking forward to the reviews of NARS and Stila. Have read some good things about those and have been thinking of going to pick those up. I’ll wait for your review!

  4. I like hearing the basics (coverage level, if it feels lightweight, how it goes with your skin tone/type) but I have recently developed an interest in knowing how well a foundation photographs! (Yes…I am looking for wedding foundation…ugh)

  5. Lily Lolo. I sent you a couple of sample pots, but the post ate them it would seem. They make a really nice mineral foundation that is actually pale enough for me and without a horrible orange tint.

  6. I am so excited to read your review.

  7. I’d really like it if you’d be able to toss in Revlon Colorstay in the mix to compare… I’ve been using it for several years now and I’d be curious to see how it would be in comparison to other foundations. Thank you for doing this, I’m sure it’s going to be very helpful to me and a lot of other people. πŸ™‚

  8. I too would like to know how you find a match for your skin tone. I have a hard time with that. I will blend a few colors to come up with one, that way i can still use some of the misses.

  9. The most important aspects to foundation I’d like to read about are:
    – The “feel” of it on your skin (heavy/greasy/light,etc)
    – Seamless (as in it doesn’t make you LOOK like you’re wearing foundation but has adequate coverage)

  10. The questions I want answered in a review on foundation are; the level of coverage it offers/can it be built up without looking cake-y, is the palest shade pale enough (for me), how easily does it blend, estimated wear-time, what kind of skin does it work best on- Oily, dry, etc., how other products blend over it- like concealer and blush- can you use cheek stain or gel/creme blush over it or does it only work with powder blushes, does it require primer underneath, the finish- is it matte, satin, etc., how best to apply it-fingers, brush-what kind of brush and are there any tricks to make the best of the product? oOf, Sorry, that’s a lot of stuff!!
    I’m psyched for this post because I’ve been curious about almost all the foundations you picked. The only one of these I’ve tried is CG Nature Luxe and I’m liking it so far but I haven’t been using it long enough to form a solid opinion. I do know it’s performing better than I expected for the price!

  11. Illamasqua’s light liquid foundation!
    (I can’t wait for this post)

  12. Since you & I have the same undertones, knowing how well something matches your skin in very important to me. Also, since I really only wear foundation if I’ve got something I need to cover, it’d be good to know how they interact with blemished or irritated skin, and whether it’s good at looking un-gross over problem areas. Not that I’m suggesting you try to pimple yourself up to test it out!

  13. I am happy that I ordered an extra helping of Aromaleigh’s foundations while I still was able to. However, at some point I will be running out so I am always looking for alternatives.

    For my sensitive skin, the biggest issue is ingredients. I have a hard time tracking down what they are sometimes and it does definitely prevent me from buying something if I don’t know what it contains.

    The second issue is weight. I love the mineral foundations because they feel almost weightless. If I can find that in another type of foundation, I would certainly be willing to give it a try.

  14. I’ve always been curious about the liquid foundation Coastal Scents sells… I need to order some samples. Currently I have been wearing Revlon Photoready, the finish is really nice but as always the color isn’t a great match. Loreal’s True Match in 1C is a good color match but not even close to being pale enough. I seriously need Sally Henson’s Complete Salon Manicure in Pink Slip as a foundation.

    I guess my biggest issue is color match, but we have different undertones so you probably wouldn’t be able to help me with it. Aside from that coverage is really important as I have very strongly pigmented and blotchy rosacea. It is VERY difficult to cover the triangle shaped blotch on my left cheek and the spider veins at the corners of my mouth.

  15. Jules Noctambule February 17, 2011 at 4:05 pm

    I’ll be interested to see if the pricier foundation really offer bang for the buck or if it’s just the name one pays for.

  16. Colour match/blendability are usually my two big questions when it comes to foundation, but I’d really love to hear your take on these foundations’ wear time and cake-factor. If I wear a liquid foundation, it really only looks good for a few hours TOPS before it starts to look patchy and gross. D:

    Also really curious to hear about the Stila One-Step!

  17. I’d like to hear about how difficult it is to take off, definitely. Also, how much coverage, how natural/cakey/done-up it looks, how reflective it is, if there’s glitter particles in it, whether it sets or continues to feel tacky, whether powdering it is essential, how long it stays looking fresh, the consistency of it, whether it oxidizes and how much, how blendable it is, how quickly you need to work with it, how other products (blush, concealer, eyeshadow) sit on top of it… and anything else you can think of :p

    The most important to me are probably: whether it oxidizes, how much coverage you get, how natural it looks, whether it sets or stays tacky, and how long it lasts.

    Also, if you happen to remember such details, how wide the color selection is may help, or if you noticed that they all seemed to have a certain undertone (they were all pink, etc).

    Thanks so much for taking the time to do this huge overview :o) I’m really excited to see how they all compare, and what your favorites are!

  18. I can’t wait to hear what you have to say about the LM Tinted Moisturizer. I think it’s important to hear about how the face makeup looks after 6-8 hours. Also, how it feels on the skin is something I’m interested in hearing.

  19. Hm, I think perhaps you should try SoBe Botanicals Liquid Foundation :3
    I’ve been using and liking it.
    To me the most important things are:
    – how long it lasts
    – how it feels on the skin (if I can feel i’m wearing foundation I’ll hate it)
    – if it looks natural

  20. Revlon Colorstay, for sure.

    There’s been much talk about it, some like it, some don’t, but I’m really interested in your take on it, since I trust your reviews. Sure, some things work for one person and not for someone else, but I think you’d explain why it did or didn’t and we could see if that would do it for us πŸ™‚ .

    Seeing how it compares to all those other foundation in one post – wheee!

  21. I’d like to know if they seem streaky, and if they cause break outs! Those are my two main issues with liquid base.

  22. What I’m most interested in knowing about a foundation is the level of coverage it has, whether or not it looks cakey/unnatural/oily, if it applies uneven/is difficult to build up/is streaky, and if it has ingredients that may cause irritation or breakouts (or if you have experienced either/or when trying it out…hopefully not). I’d also like to know what primer (if necessary) you would use for best results for each foundation and whether or not the foundation is worth the price tag it has. Added SPF is a bonus for me because using a moisturizer w/ SPF underneath the foundation can affect coverage or look greasy on me.

    I don’t know which foundations I’m looking forward to seeing reviewed, I haven’t done much research because I haven’t been wearing foundation for a while but I would like to find a medium-high coverage foundation that won’t cause or worsen breakouts & doesn’t look heavy. I’m sure your review will be comprehensive enough to help me! πŸ™‚

  23. I’ve been most interested in Tarte’s Smooth Operator. But I haven’t seen many reviews for it. The couple of reviews I HAVE seen have been good, though.

  24. coverage, staying power, does it make you break out, how does your face feel at the end of the day when you take it off? My skin is more dry now, but it used to be combo/oily.

  25. The most important thing for me is that it looks natural and secondly that it lasts. The foundation I use now doesn’t noticeably rub off when I touch my face, but at the end of the day I feel like a lot of it has come off my face.

  26. I would be interested in seeing what you thought of Kiehl’s tinted moisturizer. I’ve heard good things about it, but I really trust your opinion and am not sure I would purchase it without it!

  27. The most important thing to me is that I get coverage that looks natural without being heavy. I need it not to rub off, and to remain looking natural throughout the day with minimal touch ups.

  28. Ridiculously excited for this!
    πŸ˜€
    I don’t have any to suggest since I only wear tinted moisturizer… sorry

  29. I’d really like to know about the shade range in your reviews! I haven’t been able to find a foundation that matches me other than NARS Siberia, so I’m always curious to know if there are other companies that make deathly pale shades.

  30. I’d like to hear anything about oily skin & foundations. A lot of the gurus out there seem to have normal-dry skin, and my skin is *really* oily, so a lot of their tips/reflections don’t always help me. :\