It’s Friday, I’m in Love

This week was slow.  Slowwwww here at Gothique.  I haven’t been writing much, and yet I have a TON of things to review.  I’m still not up to speed, and I did have a dentist appointment that threw me off (nerves).  I also slept in today, so this post is going to be late.

Lipstick Club

The first rule of Lipstick Club is don’t talk about Lipstick Club.  But I am.

Anyway.

Morgana’s is starting a club, which I am super excited about.  I’m going to do a review on all of the recently released 2011 Morgana Shades and host a giveaway.

Giveaway Winners!

The winners of the Milani Liner giveaway are:

Black and Silver

Black

The winners of my Inglot giveaway are:

Congratulations, please email me at – contact [.] gothique [at] gmail [.] com

Don’t forget to enter my Aromaleigh giveaway.  Once again, if any companies are interested in hosting a giveaway, please let me know!

Foundation

The next couple of weeks are going to focus primarily on foundation reviews.  If you haven’t already, please visit this post and leave your comments!  This round is going to cover liquid foundations, but I hope to be able to get an overview on mineral foundations going soon as well.

The Links

ManWomanFilm.  I love this YouTube channel.  Everyone should.

I love trumpet mushrooms.

I admire the use of a dagger.

Am I crazy, or is this cute?

More macaroons.

The many misadventures of a poorly run PR firm.

Your Turn

I’ve been looking into adding a Vitamin C serum to my regime.  Do you have any suggestions.  I’m trying one from Origins now.

That blog sale thing I was talking about.  Anyone still interested in me having it?  Payment would be via Google Checkout, I don’t have an actual Paypal account (and do not want one).

I’ve been thinking about adding small videos into my reviews so you can better see the products.  Like close up of, say, mascara wands or the viscosity of products.  Good idea or no?

Does anyone else watch Portlandia and love it like I do?

Cacao.

39 Responses to “It’s Friday, I’m in Love”

  1. The ruffle shrug is cute 🙂 I think Blix has made those before?

    What’s Portlandia?

    I’ve used the Vitamin C Skin Boost Serum from the Body Shop and liked it. I also think I used one from Etsy.

    • It’s a TV show, like a sketch thing, about Portland Oregon. It’s hilarious.

      Do you think the Vit C made a difference? I’m coming off of Retin A and want to keep my skin healthy.

      • I felt like the Vit C made my skin smoother. I still use it from time to time (and in fact I have some in my bathroom currently 🙂 ).

  2. BICYCLE RIGHTS! BICYCLE RIGHTS!

    My best friend lives in Portland, and when she heard about this show she thought it summed up Portland pretty accuratly.

    WOWSERS so ridiculous and funny and at times….a little weird. But just my taste. I love it.

  3. Congrats to the winners! I say yes to adding videos to your reviews! I think that would be awesome! And blog sales are always fun! No, I haven’t been watching Portlandia. Even though I’m an Oregonian, I am extremely disappointed in one of the other shows filmed in Oregon. So I won’t be watching Portlandia.

  4. Mushrooms! I’m in love with Chanterelles. Someday I will try Hen In The Woods mushrooms and that day will be fantastic.

    The ruffle shrug can either be adorable or hideous. I’m not a fan of the top she paired it with.

    Videos would be neat :).

    I love ManWomanFilms videos, but the most recent one drove me crazy-bananas when she only drew on half of her eyebrows.

    And I haven’t watched Portlandia yet. Hope you are feeling better, lady!

  5. For skincare, I use Silk Naturals or Garden of Wisdom. For vitamin C, my primary concern is stability so I buy serums with magnesium ascorbyl phosphate (MAP) instead of other forms of vitamin C. Some tips for optimizing vitamin C treatment is to search for a product with at least a 10% concentration, an acid pH of around pH 3, and combined with vitamin E. With the abundance of rave reviews on the Internet, I would love to try SkinCeuticals C E Ferulic, but it’s more than I’m willing to spend.

    I would be interested in a blog sale except that I’m inexperienced with Google Checkout.

    Videos are a good idea!

  6. Whoa I won!! 😀 I want to use a Vitamin C serum too, but everything breaks me out. I tried the Avon one and it was really nice for a few days, but caused pimples and clogged pores for me. It also smells like odd, like dirt?

    I moved to Oregon from Arizona about seven years ago and find Portlandia hilarious!

  7. Eek, I love Portlandia! Freaking hilarious! My friend and I planned to set up a sham etsy selling random stuff we slapped a bird silhouette on to see how fast it got on regretsy.

    ManWomanFilm is one of my favorite youtubers, I think I found her because you mentioned her channel before.

    Psyched for all the foundation reviews coming up!

  8. I am all for a multi -media blog!

  9. When I used Vit C serums, I liked the one from DHC and the Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum from Paula’s Choice.

    While I thought they worked fine and were nice on my skin, I stopped using them because I think that I am getting better results with the CVS store brand version of RoC MULTI CORREXION™ Skin Renewing Serum, and it cost much less, too.

  10. I love manwomanfilm ❤ !

    It seems that bad customer service reports have gone up in the last… week or two. What's up with that? It's too early for Santa Ana winds 😀 .

  11. Would be very interested in a blog sale. Short videos sound like a great idea!

  12. Blog sale sounds a great idea.

    Also, Cacao has fast become my sister’s go-to “stop” word. Music too loud? “Cacao.” Asking her repeatedly to do something? “Cacao.” I’m more tempted to start asking waiters for the bios of my dinner (though a salad’s life has got to be way less interesting than a chicken’s).

  13. I love manwomanfilm! It still shocks me how few subscribers she has in comparison to other inferior YT “gurus” Her videos always manage to put a smile on my face.

    I’ve heard good things about the Silk Naturals Vit. C serum. I might buy it soon to see how it does with my clogged pores…

  14. I’d love to see a blog sale 🙂
    Videos might be nice, but honestly I don’t really care too much either way. Do your thing!

  15. I’m delurking solely to say:

    Grey, I think you need to add a bird to your reviews.

  16. Morgana’s lipstick club may be evil – it’ll make me buy more than I should.

    Hope your dentist visit was ok. If you get very nervous about it, have you looked into sedation dentistry?

    • Oh, I actually LOVE my dentist and don’t have any issues at all with dentistry. It was just sort of an odd thing, I was getting something done that I wasn’t sure my insurance was covering and more freaked out as to how much it would cost!

  17. I’ve been meaning to make (or attempt to make) one of those kinds of shrugs myself. It looks pretty simple. I saw one on Etsy or Ebay that looked really cool- it was black with red ribbon and had some extra detailing…anyhow, they are cute and I don’t think you’re crazy for thinking so!

  18. I trust you. I’d happily brave google checkout. And OMG let me get my hands on your stuff.

  19. The lipstick club looks fantastic, would love to hear more about it, like what kind of things can be expected as a members only perk.

    Congratulations winners!

    I’d love to see videos, I think it’s a great idea.

  20. I totally live in Portland, it is exactly like that here. They haven’t done any shows about food carts or strippers yet, so I’m waiting.

  21. Try Pure C Crystals by Cosmedix. You tap out some crystals and then you mix with a serum. It is supposed to be the most stable form of Vitamin C. I have used C-Esta by Jan Marini as well. I feel like my face is a little firmer and I don’t have as much sag going on.

  22. I use the vitamin c serum from the body shop and my dry skin LOVES it! Also yes for blog sale!!!!

  23. I adore ManWomanFilm!
    I’m so glad you like her too c:

  24. I read some raving reviews of Silk Naturals Vitaminc C serum. I used it a few times but I’m not sure that I see a difference.

  25. I havent tried any serums but I have tried the vitamin c scrub from the body shop once. It was pretty good but I never bought it again for some reason.

  26. Silk Naturals Vitamin C Peptide Serum without a doubt!!!!! I am LOVING this stuff! I have acne prone skin and this has done wonders. Also helps control oil without drying my skin out.

  27. The blog sale sounds like a great idea and a chance to try new companies. I’d be interested in having a look and would be willing to learn how to use Google Checkout for it.

  28. I recommend Silk Naturals Vitamin C Peptide Serum. I started incorporating it into my routine several months ago and see an amazing difference in my skin. You should try samples first, there is enough in a sample to get a good feel about how it will work for you. The skin care at SN is all I use now.

  29. I would like to see videos!
    I’m interested in a blog sale! I’ve used Google check out and have never had any issues with it. 🙂

    I’ve never used a vitamin c serum, but Derma E makes an oil free vitamin c serum. Some of their products are vegan and are all cruelty free. I sell the line at my work and it does very well and I enjoy their acne line 🙂 I’m not sure which shops carry it in the states, but I’m assuming you could probably find it at Whole Foods or other health food shop.

    xoxo

  30. I’ve heard that Vitamin C is better for your skin if you eat more of it, not so effective if you add to your topical skincare routine…? But this was along the grapevine, so I can’t back its validity.

    I’d definitely be interested in that blog sale, and adding videos would be a great idea!

  31. Yes please to the blog sale! 🙂

  32. I’d still be interested in you doing a blog sale!

    Small videos would be great.

    My friend recommended Portlandia, I’m not a huge Fred Armisen fan…

  33. It’s a pity I’d have to buy nine lipsticks a year for the membership to be worth it. As it stands I can hardly afford to buy the one. Alas alackaday etcetera must go seduce a wealthy wo/man/queer 😛

    I think videos can definitely add information that can’t be described in words! You won’t be switching to primarily putting reviews in video format, right?

  34. Just started reading your blog and love it.

    And: OMG Lipstick Club!!!! ::fainting::