Monkey See, Monkey Do

I am terribly addicted to Pixiwoo.  I will watch a tutorial and then get up, DROP what I am doing, and go try it out.  I watched an overview on Estee Lauder lipsticks and sitting there, ordered Crystal Baby lipstick.  Ok, I ordered that, a matching Double Wear lip liner and an eyebrow pencil, because I am obsessed with my eyebrows.

Crystal Baby Pure Lip Color

Color so incredible, it leaves your lips wanting more.

True Vision™ technology takes ordinary color and makes it extraordinary.

In a seductive spectrum of sheer, brilliant shades, from sublime to vivid.

TRUE VISION™ COLOR

  • Maximized color impact
  • Magnified vibrancy, clarity and dimension
  • Amplified brilliance

INDULGES YOUR LIPS
In 2 seductive finishes:

  • Sheer, Crystal Creme
  • Brilliant, Crystal Shimmer

Sheer-to-medium, buildable coverage

  • Wears for hours
  • Stays color true

Enriched with lip-loving ingredients, including apricot kernel, shea butter and murumuru butter that leave lips soft and creamy smooth.

EL lipsticks come in really lovely square golden tubes with a clear bottom so that the shade peeks out.  It’s one of the nicer feeling lipstick tubes I’ve seen, it puts MAC to shame (lots of things do, though).  You get .13 ounces/3.8 grams of product, which is about the typical sized tube.  The little clear part on the bottom isn’t the best representation of the shade, though, it looks a little off.  When I first took this out of the box I was a little worried it wasn’t the right shade.

I really like this formula.  I wasn’t sure I would, I’m sort of stuck on the Morgana’s lipsticks and I find myself thinking everything else is too dry or greasy.  The Estee Lauder formula is actually very creamy and moisturizing.  It even lasts long enough that I’m able to swipe it on instead of balm before I run out.

My MAJOR complain with it is it has a funny smell.  I actually went to the EL counter to ‘sniff’ other shades to make sure this one wasn’t off.  It’s a peculiar sort of scent I cannot really describe.  It’s not all that off putting, it’s just odd, and it really doesn’t linger.

The color is everything I’d hoped it would be.  I was hoping that it was a very good pinky-natural shade for me, and it is.

Tawny Double Wear Lip Pencil

Glides on effortlessly for precise definition with 12-hour staying power.

Lightweight, creamy color helps extend the wear of lipstick without feathering or bleeding.

Flip the pencil around and use the integrated lip brush to apply your lipstick or gloss for brilliantly defined color and shine.

Removes easily with Take It Away makeup remover.

These Double Wear pencils are long, you get about .04 ounces or 1.2 grams of product.  One end is a traditional pencil and the other is a really nice lip brush.  I’ve paid quite a bit for lip brushes half as nice as this one, so I’m really pleased.  It has a nice thin and pointed tip.

I chose Tawny because it seemed the most like my natural lip shade, or as close to ‘nude’ as I could fine.  I was pretty disappointed to see that this pencil was actually shimmery and has a sheen, rather then being a creamy satin like most lip pencils are.  It’s still a great shade, but it’s not exactly what I was hoping for.

The formula is great, it’s soft and nondrying and STAYS FOREVER.  I can put it on and fill my lips and throw some balm on and it’ll be on hours later.  All I would need to do is reapply balm, and even then the liner didn’t come off on the balm.  This together with Crystal Baby is an amazing combination.

Soft Brown Automatic Brow Pencil Duo

Versatile, double-ended brow tool with twist-up browcolor on one side and styling and blending brush on the other.

Now you can line, define and accentuate brows with ease, balancing your eyes and framing your face.

Comes with an initial color cartridge plus one refill. Additional refills available.

Brow Basics

  • Use the brush end first, brushing hairs down to find your natural brow shape.
  • Then use the color end to fill in sparse areas, using short, feathery strokes to shape and even out the contours of your brow.

This automatic pencil actually comes with a refill, so you’re getting quite a bit of product.  I’m pretty sure each cartridge is .01 ounces or .02 grams of product.  One end is the twist up pencil and the other is a stiff brow brush.  I’m never crazy about the brushes that come with products like this, but I find myself using this one a lot!

I chose soft brown, rather then a dark brown or a soft black, because I’m growing my brows out.  AGAIN.  But this time they are out of control.  They’re getting much thicker and fuller and it’s been killing me not to pluck.  If I fill them in dark they look… just not good.  So with this lighter pencil I can get them to look polished and not really draw attention to them.

I wasn’t sure I would like the formula, I typically don’t care for ‘twist up’ sort of pencils, for some reason the ‘lead’ is always  a little harder then their sharped cousins.  This was great, though.  It’s easy to get a nice feathery line and it blends in really well.

Have you tried Estee Lauder?  What do you think?

26 Responses to “Monkey See, Monkey Do”

  1. I’ve never tried Estee Lauder, although I am in love with Pixiwoo. Each tutorial they do is so amazing, never boring at all.

  2. We must be on the same page. I bought a lipstick in Tiramisu — a beautiful color — probably quite similar to that color. So far, I really like the feel of the product. I have a lipliner that I bought as well, but it is too warm toned. I think I’ll exchange it for a nude/pink color. I’m liking EL. I also bought a Lancome Lipstick in Crystal Rose. I am waiting to get that in the mail cuz I used the Marchbday code online and get 5 free lipsticks from lancome’s website. I always get 2 lipsticks if I pick a color — one for the vanity and one for my purse.

  3. I REALLY really really really wanted to try estee lauder, but they don’t sell at Brazil and I have NO idea where to buy it from. Besides, I heard it is a bit out of my budget ;_;

  4. Estee Lauder is a bit out of my budget normally, but I might try that lip pencil. I ❤ low-maintenance lips, and if you could toss balm on top of it without the balm picking up the color…sold! Also I need a lip brush anyway, so since it's got both…

  5. The smell you notice is usually describe as “fig”. Some love it, some hate it. It never bothered me (and I can’t use Lancome lippies because the rose scent makes me nauseous.) I’ve been told that if you leave the lid off of the lipstick for a few days, the smell will dissipate, but I’ve never tried it, so I can’t vouch personally.

    I hated brow pencils until I started using this one- the soft brown is an awesome neutral brown and the pencil goes on easily but is hard enough that it wont smear and you don’t get overload of product sticking to your brow hairs! Also, the refill sizes are the same for all of the automatic pencils- on both ends- so you can take the brush off of the end and pop in a lip or eye liner for travel if you want to.

    And, yes, the brushes on the end are highly decent. I often grab for them during photoshoots, even if I’m not using the liner itself!

    • Fig. That is totally it. I personally don’t eat them, but now I do recognize the scent!

    • A delighted “thanks!” for identifying the smell – it’s always bothered me that I couldn’t quite put my finger on it. Maybe if I found a total HG shade in Estee, I could get over it, but the GWP samples that people have given me have always ended up in the trash because of the smell.

  6. “[…] it puts MAC to shame (lots of things do, though).”

    You don’t know how happy sentences like that make me! MAC isn’t sold where I live, so every time I hear someone raving over one of their products, I froth at the mouth.

    Estee Lauder IS available here, so I’ll definitely have to check out their products (maybe when they have one of those freebie deals….) That lipstick packaging (and colour!) is so gorgeous.

  7. Hehe! Lately you’ve been getting me to try all these brands I mentally wrote-off as old-lady brands (Clinique, Lancome, Estée Lauder). And you know what? I don’t know why I wrote them off in the first place. Old ladies know what’s up. Plus, now my makeup table is starting to look fancy.

  8. Oh, Plus, I got a lipgloss, too. It is beautiful and feels so nice on the lips. I am really liking these products. They feel less drying to me than bobbi brown lip products.

  9. Estee Lauder eyeliner is the best – especially their black’s, wonderfully smudgeable!

  10. Fig, that’s an odd scent!

  11. I haven’t tried EL, but I keep meaning to. Ana raves about the Double Wear foundation.

  12. I love Pixiwoo! They’re such a sweet pair and I especially like how they really focus on non-eye makeup just as much as eye makeup. Sometimes people forget that bronzer, hilighter, blush, contouring, lipstick, lip liner, foundation, and brows all play a big part too!

    I’ve never tried EL… too posh for me 🙂 I do like harder eyebrow pencils though. When a pencil is too waxy, it makes my brow hairs look funny.

  13. I’ve been really wanting to try the new pure color lipsticks. Those, the new Bobbi Brown rich lip colors and MAC Sheen Surpreme….there’s a lot of tempting lipsticks coming out right around now. I’m heading to the mall next week to have a swatchfest.(After Mardi Gras- it’s insane here right now!)

  14. i love estee lauder lip products!!! the liners and the double wear lip colors are the best. i have an inside source at EL that the newer lipstick formulas are cutting back on the fig scent and adding more vanilla.

  15. I have been using the EL double wear foundation for the past 6 months or so and I have to say that I love it. It goes on smoothly and provides amazing coverage. I like a foundation that provides a medium coverage with buildability, and this one does not disappoint. About 2 years ago I was on a medication that wreaked havoc with my face. I started using the EL Maximum Coverage Concealer and let me tell you – that stuff is heavy duty! It lasts forever though. I still use it on days when I have a blemish that refuses to go away. I apply my makeup around 6:30am and get home from work about 5:30pm, with the Double Wear foundation I find myself only having to do a slight touch up around 2pm, and my face looks great all day long. It’s totally an HG foundation for me.

    • I’m a HUGE fan of Maximum Cover- if the shade range was better, it would definitely be a HG for me. Unfortunately (maybe) they’ve recently changed the Maximum Cover, it’s now marketed as part of the Double Wear line. I’m not sure if they changed the actual formula or just the name & packaging- have you tried the new one? I’ll be devastated if it’s dramatically different 😦

      • I haven’t tried the new one yet…I’m still nursing a tube that I’ve had forever. The color range is quite limited, but if you’re lucky enough to find a match then you’re set! I hope they didn’t change the formula, but I know that they’ve had the maximum coverage for at least the past 13 years (and I’m sure longer) without it changing, so I’ll keep my fingers crossed!

  16. I love Estée Lauder. I think they were hugely underated for a long time. Lipsticks are lovely, I’ve had several over the years. I actually love the smell, but then again I love figs. Skin care products are also great.

  17. Any suggestions for a cheap brow pencil or powder? Ive never really attempted to fill in brows because I cant figure out what color to use so that it doesnt look crazy. I have red & black hair but my eyebrows are a medium/dark brown. So I would love to try something cheap before I put out the money for something like ES.
    p.s. I’m the same Hanna thats been commenting on here for a long time I got a new phone so I have a new email & needed to sign back up for the emails.

  18. I had the Tawny lip liner years ago and it didn’t come with a brush and it wasn’t shimmery or glittery! They must have changed it since I had it (urrr… late ’90s) 😦

    They changed the lipstick packaging too! They used to come in white,black or navy round plastic tubes that were ribbed! (urr no dirty jokes :P)

    I really want to try their new green nail varnish!

    • The ribbed containers still exist, in different formulas, though the color selection has been edited down a lot. I believe the pure color lipsticks launched and the lipliner formulas changed in 2000/2001. The new liners are a silicone base, so they glide on much easier than the older, waxier style.

  19. My mother has recently started using Estee Lauder products. She gave me a sample of their Sumptuous Extreme mascara and a little bottle of the pore minimizer. I definitely like the mascara, although it can be difficult to take off. The pore minimizer is nice, it makes my skin feel really smooth, but I don’t think I’ve been using it long enough to know if it will actually make my pores appear smaller.

  20. Make Up Monster March 8, 2011 at 5:16 pm

    EL double wear mascara is my favorite mascara ever! I haven’t tried any of their other products yet but after reading this I think I might take a closer look at their lipsticks soon.