DecalGirl – A Review

DecalGirl isn’t a cosmetics company, so you can just skip this post all together if you’re not interested.  I won’t mind.

I’ve ordered a variety of decals, mostly for my iPod/iPhone.  The first order I placed was for a skin for my original iPhone.  I found one that I liked that was a simple plaid and placed the order, just to try them out.  When it arrived it was easy to apply and to align, which was my main concern.  I’d actually tried one before from another company that stuck to itself and was ruined before I got to put it on.  It looked great.  What I LOVED about it was that the ‘kit’ included a code that you could redeem online for a wallpaper/screen saver that matched the skin so that the look of your phone was seamless.  All you do it go to the site, enter the code, download the graphic and use iTunes to upload it to your phone/iPod.

Just after that I ordered a skin for my friends iPod touch, sending it to her as a surprise.  She loved it and loved that it matched her ‘style’.

Since then I’ve ordered from them occasionally, changing my skin as the seasons change or if I was going to a special event, since I’m always with my phone, it’s literally like an accessory to me.

When I got my Kindle, I ordered a skin for IT, picking up something that I thought would be fun and yet not be distracting from the actual screen.  It was super simple to apply, the skin was die cut very precisely it matched up to all the little buttons perfectly and went on the first time I tried evenly.  I use my Kindle a lot (Phyrra loves me and keeps helping me feed it) and even handling it the skin doesn’t seem to have picked up or started to wear or peel.

A few weeks ago I ordered a whole wardrobe for my new iPhone4.  It’s a little different shaped then the old iPhone3 I had, different camera positions, etc etc.  I picked up a few new skins.

Ordering is really easy, you can navigate by design or by device.  You can then order the skin in either a glossy format or a matte.  Although I’ve ordered both, I really don’t prefer one over the other.  I usually order more intricate designs in matte, although not always.  Just like the Kindle skins they are easy to apply and durable, although I do use a partial case on my phone.  They remove just as easily with no residue and don’t mar the finish on your device.

Every time I order, I use Google Checkout, so it’s just a few clicks.  My orders are quickly shipped, usually the same or the next day, and I get my skins withing a few days.

Conclusion

Would I order from DecalGirl again?  Yes.

They are really great and well made decals.

They wear well.

There is a huge selection.

They are super easy to apply.

Uncategorized

17 Responses to “DecalGirl – A Review”

  1. Victoria Vague March 15, 2011 at 4:42 pm

    That Kindle skin is amazing!

  2. I love the idea of a matte finish. The skin I have on my droid is great, but the glare can be a bit much sometimes.

  3. I love this!! I just recently got an iPhone 4 too and I noticed that the same brand/type of case I had on my old iPhone 3g was too bulky for the iPhone 4. So I’ve really been looking into just getting a skin for it and maybe a thin clear plastic case to go around it. I also love the idea of a Kindle skin! I didn’t even know that skins for Kindles existed. Thanks for this website!

  4. I finally have something now worth getting skins for!! Yay!! I wanted to get a pink plaid one for my Wii a few years ago but the mister didn’t wanna look at that, and my DS has a Yoshi skin but that’s about it.
    But my new iPhone(actually old version) needs something to make it purdy! I have the Berry Blue Jelly Belly protector on it, but I want the actual face plate. Black is booooring. Needs plaid. Or stars. Or Plaid and stars. Yes.

  5. This is too cool! Thanks for sharing, these are neat- I might have to grab a couple!

  6. I want one for my Kindle but it’s 5$ more for matte finish and that’s what I liked about my kindle the matte finish! I am getting an Ipod (they actually sell 1st gen skins!!) and a DS skin, but I have to think about the kindle one.

    • They are having a 2 for 1 sale today so I did end up picking up a matte decal for my kindle 🙂 And one for my phone.

      • Thanks for mentioning this! I was dragging my feet trying to pick which one I wanted, but knowing they had 2 for 1 kicked my butt in gear. 🙂 I got one for me and one for the husband. Haha

  7. I haven’t been too fussed to dress up my other toys, but I’ve been thinking about getting a skin for my kindle. I’ll be sure to check them out :3

  8. I have a matte skin for my kindle. I like it. I especially like punching out the dots for the key board. LOL.

  9. Thanks for the heads up Grey, needed some of these for my Droid, was shopping around but didn’t know who to pull the trigger with!

  10. I heard about this company a while back and have been wondering if they were worth trying out. Thanks for this review Grey!

  11. I’ve been wanting to get a skin for my kindle but I was worried about getting it to fit over all the little buttons…I’m glad to hear it’s not as much of a hassle as I’d thought it might be 🙂

  12. I have the matte Angler Fish decal for my Kindle2 and love it! It gets so many compliments, and it always makes me smile to see that cute fish lighting up the octopus’ book.

    Just took a look at the iPhone skins and would love Ocean Rain for my new phone.

  13. Awesome! I’ve been looking for a new skin for my Zune and these ones look great! Thanks, Grey!

  14. I was looking at exactly those products – thank you for the review, I’m placing an order for my Archos 10.1!!

  15. I’ve actually ordered from Decal Girl quite a few times myself. I’ve used them for iphones, itouches, our DS’s, and psp. We love them 🙂