About Me.

A lot of people have asked me the same questions.

Are you a MUA?

Actually… yes.  I’m a licensed/certified Make Up Artist as well as a certified (and bonded) aesthetician.  I completed a two year course and have logged countless hours so far working counters, most recently at Macy’s (Estee Lauder, Lancome, as well as MAC) and I’ve contracted at Sephora and Inglot as well.

Do you work as a MUA?

No.  I do work as a MUA, but I’m actually a Stylist.  For a time I worked at Nordstroms as a Personal Shopper.  I also work as a freelance writer.

If you don’t accept items for PR, how do you afford all this stuff?

For one, that’s none of your business.  But I have a degree (or two), I have a good job, and I work my ass off.

24 Responses to “About Me.”

  1. Thanks for sharing this with us! I’ve been a little in the dark about what exactly it is you do. But I think this clears it up!

    Your blog is one of my favorites because you buy all of the stuff you review yourself. I feel that I get a more honest review from you, since you are not “being compensated” to do the review!

    Thanks for keeping it real!

  2. Victoria Vague April 1, 2011 at 5:02 pm

    I have 2 degrees too *highfives* and have a good job, but not for long as we got told we’re being made redundant today, yay…

    We can tell you put a lot of hard work in and we are very privileged to have you 🙂

  3. “For one, that’s none of your business”

    LOL. I love it.

  4. Thanks for sharing. I always thought it would be fun to be a personal shopper.

  5. I haven’t been visiting this site long, but I like knowing about the person who writes what I’m reading. This helps me to formulate impressions. Thanks for the mini-bio!

  6. heh, you tell ’em!
    I’ve been reading your blog for a few months and I really enjoy it. thanks for all of your hard work and time that you put into it.

  7. I wish I could “like” this post, but it’s too much trouble, lol. You’re right, it’s NO ONE’s business what you make!

    On another note, do you think you could write sort of a “guidance” post for those of us who are trying to reach your level in the career world? I’m so far off schedule it’s not even funny (altho the cause is way worth it.)

  8. Yay for working your ass off! I try but my ass stays the same size, unfortunately. 🙂

  9. I’d totally have you as my stylist! ❤

  10. I like your way to tell that.
    Its honest and direct.
    Thanks for your blog!

  11. You are a mad woman! I have no doubt that you bust your butt considering how many certifications you have and the great effort and detail you put into this blog. Seriously lady. When do you sleep?!

  12. I love your bluntness!

  13. I can’t believe people ask you that. My Grandma always told me it was uncouth to ask people about money or to brag about how much you make. ❤

  14. i’ve been reading your blogs since late last year, and it never crossed my mind to ask where you get all the $$ to purchase your makeup, but like you said its none of our business. i just appreciate the hard work and dedication you put into your blog. its really nice to know a little bit about you, though, so thank you for that! 🙂

  15. If this were a post on FB or tumblr, I’d like or heart it. 🙂

  16. Wow! That was rude of them to ask you how you afford stuff. Very rude. Very well written!

  17. You would be my dream stylist! 🙂

  18. Plus, you don’t seem excessive to me in your posts and ordering. This is something that you obviously love. I sometimes wonder how temptalia is able to obtain so many high end items; however, I would NEVER ask her how she makes her money or affords the product.

    • I know Temptalia gets a huge chunk of the products for free for review purposes. “Disclosure

      This review contains a sample product sent for consideration by PR. Our priority is to you, and we honor that commitment by being honest! We don’t do paid reviews or guarantee reviews. We promise to remain truthful with you.”

      Lucky, lucky woman 😀 Although I’d go nuts swatching as much as she does, my arm would probably fall off.

  19. I agree, that’s really nobody’s business. However, it was fun to learn a bit more about you, Grey. ^_^

  20. I’d love to see some of your looks, since I remember you mentioning you are camera-shy, on models 😀 .

    Go, Grey, go!

  21. I can’t quite word right what I want to say but mostly thanks for being honest and god damn YES, it is nobody’s business but your own your money affairs! If people have time to bother you about your affairs then they should be spending it on managing their own.