Bare Minimum

I was having an intense debate this morning about what the bare minimum we would wear makeup wise to leave the house was.  Up until a year-ish ago I wouldn’t leave the house without putting something on my face.  Now, honestly, I can just jump out of the shower slap on some SPF and head out, no problem.  Back when I used to over-shape my brows, I didn’t feel comfortable leaving the house without defining them, now that I’ve grown them in much thicker as long as I keep them groomed (shaped, plucked, and tidy) I can just about leave them as is even WHEN I do a full face.

Still, what is my bare minimum or ONLY FIVE products I like to wear if I’m going out to run errands?

Moisturizer with SPF

I never ever ever leave the house without an SPF.  I have pale skin and I want to stay pale.

Idealist

This stuff is like a miracle in a bottle and I will review it later.  If I use this my face looks just about perfect, even without foundation (although foundation does even out my skin tone nicely).

Mascara

No matter what, I like to wear mascara.  Even if I don’t do anything else to my eyes, mascara defines my eyes and really opens them up.

Gloss

Bright or subtle, does matter, I love to wear a good gloss.  My preferred neutral shade is Lucent Nude from Lancome and my preferred bright is 42 or 51 from Inglot.

Powder

I like to dust on a little mattifing powder over my t-zone, especially during the warmer months here is So-Cal, just to look a little more polished.

What would your ONLY FIVE products be?

59 Responses to “Bare Minimum”

  1. It has to be said, I’m notorious for neglecting my face. I actually had never owned foundation of any kind previous to last month, and to be honest I can’t say I care for it- I’m pale, pink and proud! xD

    I always moisturize my face whether I’m leaving the house or not- flakiness suits noone, sadly. Other than that, I usually slap on some mascara and tightline my eyes, and the obligatory coat of vaseline to stop me gnawing at my lips.

    Alright, so that’s only four, but shamefully I can’t actually think of another xD Noone judge the lax lass!

  2. Victoria Vague April 11, 2011 at 3:25 pm

    1) A shadow to define my brows (whilst I’m trying to get them to grow out nicely) – usually Natural Collection Midnight pressed shadow.

    2) My Olay moisturiser with SPF 15 (or on extra sunny days, my SPF 50 sunblock)

    3) Mascara

    4)Black eyeliner – at the very least along my upper waterline

    5) A light dusting of my Lily Lolo mineral foundation or a loose powder to matify

  3. Oof, now I feel so lazy, because I’m pretty sure I don’t do most of that. My bare minimum is usually: SPF + mascara. If I’m feeling adventurous, I might slap some lip stain on, but mostly not.

  4. I always use fewer than 5 products (unless I want to really go all out–a rarity as of late because I now wake up at 6:00 am to get to class at 7:30 am).

    I use
    1) MAC Face Protect
    2) Mac Studio Fix Powder Plus OR MAC Pro Longwear
    3) Either lip gloss or balm (maybe).
    4) Blush, if I feel like it.

  5. I have to wear sunglasses or tinted reading glasses so i can skip the eyes as most people will never see them.

    My five products would be
    Moisturiser. I don’t bother with SPF, naughty I know but the huge hats I wear and my general light aversion means I can get away with it.
    Meow foundation
    A hint of Blush
    Lip balm.
    That’s it for the face but I always put a small amount of perfume on.

  6. If I’m in a rush and not particularly fussed, I’m happy with just lip balm. As long as I have that in my purse, I can survive anything.

    If I am feeling fussed, but in a minimal manner, my fab five would be:

    1. MAC Golder’s Green Pigment (packed densely on lid for color, lightly pulled up to browbone for highlight)
    2. Rimmel Exaggerate Eye Liner in Noir
    3. e.l.f. All Over Cover Stick in Apricot Beige
    4. Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder
    5. Burt’s Bees

    I should really trade out the eyeliner for a moisturizer… or at least use a powder with spf :/

  7. 1. Moisturizer with SPF, since I’m pale and burn in like 5 minutes outside.
    2. Fyrinnae Velvet-Gel Silica face primer.
    3. a mineral foundation like Meow’s Pampered Puss foundation in Inquisitive Siamese.
    4. Mascara
    5. a brow pencil.
    I typically also grab a lip balm with spf, but the above will keep me looking good, if natural, all day.

  8. Good question! I hardly ever wear makeup during the day. I am probably more comfortable without makeup than when I am wearing it because I always worry if something is sumdged or looks funny.

    1. brown eyeliner
    2. black mascara
    3. lip balm
    4. taupe eye shadow
    5. moisturizer

  9. Lately I haven’t been wearing makeup daily, but I like to at least wear bit of 50 SPF sunscreen (here at the south of Spain a high spf is a MUST, sun starts burning around March). If I have the time my minimum is:

    1- Vichy Oil Free SPF 50 Sunscreen
    2- Lost in Makeupland Finishing powder or Sephora’s matte powder foundation to set, depending on how my skin looks that day.
    3- Too Faced Lash Injection mascara
    4- MAC Fluidline in Blacktrack (or a purple/blue gel liner)
    5- Deliplus repairing lipbalm

  10. 1. Bare Minerals Matte Foundation

    2. Bare Minerals Flawless Definition Mascara

    3. Meow Top Cat Finishing Powder

    4. Bare Minerals Blush in Pink Ribbon

    5. Bare Minerals Lip Gloss Strawberry Shortcake

  11. 1)SPF cream (Ole Henriksen at the moment but switching to Badger Balm as soon as that runs out. OH is so overpriced and Badger has a superb reptuation for safety in ingredients.)

    2)If I can only have 5, I’d skip foundation and primer and go for undereye concealer – either Meow’s yellow one, or depending on weather and how the skin looks that day, MUFE’s extra coverage applied with a teeny brush.

    3)Meow Crystalline Cat glow in “Quartz” on cheekbones, around temples in a “U” shape, along length of nose, a bit on upper lip area and chin. It’s almost invisible and gives a pretty glow. If I don’t wear foundation I don’t need blush, and this helps sort of “reverse contour” my face. It’s really pretty!

    4)A one-shot eye look – usually something either grey, green, or purple, applied with a pencil taper brush quickly across the whole lid and into the crease, then blended out as needed with the fingers right into bare skin. I’d probably reach for Silk Naturals “Storm Cloud”, Fyrinnae “Mephisto” – both of them look fine on their own.

    5)A touch of mascara, doubled up on brows (cheating, but works!) if I can’t pick my usual (Sephora) brow powder.

    I didn’t do anything to my lips but I tend to define eyes over other features….lips without eyes done looks strange on me, but the reverse works okay.

  12. Hm…

    Moisturizer
    Sunscreen (separate for me. Not only am I pale, I’m genetically predisposed to melanoma. Yaag.)
    Mascara
    Complexion primer
    One color eyeshadow (as a wash), usu. something neutral

  13. If you were also asking about skincare, I would need black magic for sure!

    Funny thing: I rarely use mascara. I don’t like how it makes me look hahaha!

    1) Under eye concealer. I need it. Without it, people ask me if I’m sick. Everytime. Really. (After I started using make-up, of course. They were used to my unhealthy look before hahahaha)

    2) Cream Blush. I know most people skip it, but I don’t get pink unless I am embarrassed and if I get embarrassed my whole face turns red, so… yeah. I always add a bit of blush. Without it, people will also ask if I am feeling well…

    3) Foundation. It could either be SoBe’s liquid one or Mineral Foundation, but I like how it makes my skin looks.

    4) Lip tint or Lip stain. I love lip products. I think Shiro Intertubes or maybe Epically Epic Stains are perfect for this! ^^

    5) Actually, I would normally stop at 4… but I guess SoBe’s Oil Control on my T-zone is nice. Or maybe their primer. Still, the top 4 are fundamental.

  14. I don’t really notice how many products I use every day until I’m pressed to think of my top three, or just one! or in this case five. The five I couldn’t go without, though, would probably be:

    1: Moisturizer w/ SPF (KMF Facial SPF 50)
    2: Foundation (Meow Pampered Puss in Sleek Korat)
    3: Mascara (Clinique High Lengths in Black)
    4: Brow powder (Brazen’s Submission is my best match these days)
    5: Blush (my face just looks washed out without it–Meow’s Pink INC in Slip or the Balm’s Hot Mama are my favourites)

  15. 1. Moisturizer
    2. Face primer
    3. Concealer
    4. Foundation
    5. Powder

    I don’t mind wearing a natural look (and normally do), but I have really bad acne that I’m embarrassed by, so covering that up is a must. The house could be on fire, and I’d be there frantically trying to get some concealer on!

  16. 1.) Rimmel’s Sexy Curves mascara. Seriously, I NEED it.
    2.) Tinted foundation. My skin’s a bit uneven at times XP
    3.) Eyeliner. I need to define my bottom lashes.
    4.) Eyebrow liner. The beginning of my eyebrows are very light, so I like to darken them a smidge so they’re more defined.
    5.) Powder. I have VERY oily skin, so I need stuff to keep my skin dry. I’ve been using the cheaper NYC pressed powder, but it only seems to lasts for like, an hour on me 😄

    Is there any specific way you’re supposed to apply powder &/or could anyone suggest some other brand names that have really good powders? Please & thanks 🙂

  17. 1) Tinted Moisturizer – Evens out my skin and keeps it from getting dry.
    2) Concealer – I have a scar on my face that’s permanently discolored so I always need a little concealer to hide it.
    3) Mascara – Like you said, defines my eyes and makes them pop.
    4) Blush – My skin has a tendency to be kinda yellow so I look a little sickly (esp in the winter) so blush is a must to liven up my face.
    5) Bright Lipgloss – The brighter the better when I am going minimal everywhere else!

    • Oh I forgot to add something! A tinted moisturizer WITH SPF. I never leave home with out putting on something with sunscreen in it (I’m pale and I want the least amount of wrinkles as possible when I’m older).

  18. 1. Moisturizer and primer (I don’t really consider a moisturizer as makeup, but I listed it anyway since others here have).
    2. Sunscreen (spf 100, I’m genetically predisposed to melanoma and I prefer it separate from my moisturizer).
    3. Powder foundation.
    4. Mascara.
    5. Lip color/eyeshadow (either a stain or tinted lip balm; I usually forgo lips for eyes and vice versa).

  19. Bare Escentuals Primer, Pink Quartz Minerals foundation, Mascara (because it helps define my eyes), eyeliner (because my eyes seem “lost” without it), and blush . . Hmmm I feel like I’d have to add a gloss or something too. . darn I can’t do only 5 . .. I forgot about my moisturizer. . 🙂

  20. 1. Moisturizer (..need to get one with SPF D:)
    2. Foundation
    3. Mascara
    4. Blush
    5. Gloss or lip balm

  21. 1) Tinted moisturizer (usually Laura Mercier)
    2) Neutral eyeshadow from Urban Decay’s Naked palate
    3) A touch of concealer
    4) a touch of powder, for my T-zone
    5) lip balm/gloss

  22. My bare minimum would be:

    1. SanRe Organic’s Supple Sunshine SPF30 moisturizer
    2. SobeBotanicals mineral foundation
    3. Physicians Formula Organic Wear mascara
    4. Physicians Formula Healthy Wear SPF 50 Bronzer
    5. Epically Epic Soap lip tint

  23. 1. Boots Mattifying Moisturizer with SPF.
    2. Cover Girl Advanced Radiance foundation (Winter) or Physician’s Formula mineral foundation (Summer). (My skin is really combination- my cheeks and chin get wickedly dry, while my nose and especially my forehead get overly oily; hence the combo of a mattifying moisturizer plus moisturizing foundation. Weird, but it works!)
    3. Hot pink blush lightly applied to the apples of my cheeks.
    4. Mascara; for the fast 5, I choose a lengthening mascara like Lash Stiletto, rather than a plumper.
    5. Sheer Raspberry lipgloss.
    The long lashes, pinked cheeks, and raspberry lips help me look fresh and awake when I have no time for makeup. If I have time for just ONE more item, I line just the inside rim of my eyes with a dark turquoise liner. I’ve found it makes the whites of my eyes look whiter, and I look a bit less tired.

  24. Jules Noctambule April 11, 2011 at 8:56 pm

    SPF 25 moisturizer
    Foundation
    Powder
    Lipstick
    Perfume

    I have a lot of each of the above, so specific brands don’t really matter each day; I keep a rotation of no fewer than five lipsticks/glosses in my purse at any given time because I like to switch colour and finish around a lot. The only constant is the bottle of my favourite L’Aromatica perfume that stays in my purse wherever I go!

  25. I can, have, and probably will again in the future leave my house wearing nothing but concealer and mineral foundation/powder.

    In the winter, I also need face primer sometimes.

  26. 1. Mascara. I wear glasses, so I’m a bit obsessed with defining my lashes.
    2. Lip balm. If my lips get too dry, they turn red and feel horrid, and it doesn’t take much to dry them out. If I’m feeling adventurous I’ll use gloss!
    3. Perfume. I have to smell good. Always.
    4. Moisturizer. I used to be obsessed with high SPF moisturizers but I’ve noticed that after years of using facial products with whitening properties (I was a very insecure high schooler), my face actually doesn’t tan as quickly as my neck/collarbone area (which looks SO AWKWARD argh), so I haven’t really been consistent with it. I balance it out by staying indoors at all times 😛
    5. um. I really don’t know. I’m pretty low-maintenance, haha. Nail polish? My nails are almost always decorated.

  27. It depends. Other than foundation, I’ll feel fine wearing just one thing (just lipstick or just mascara etc.) but for a “bare minimum” face that I still consider a FULL face:
    moisturizer (several in rotation)
    foundation (lately Maybelline Dream Mousse Liquid)
    black volumizing mascara (lately Last Blast Fusion)
    dark brown brow pencil (Maybelline Define-a-Brow)
    cream blush or tinted balm that functions as both (lately NYC cream blush sticks or Nivea kiss of cherry lip balm)

    I usually also wear winged black liner. Can I switch liner with moisturizer, since that’s going to be a part of nearly everyone’s list anyway? :p

  28. #1-Mattifying Moisturizer+SPF (Paula’s Choice brand)
    #2-Powder Foundation (Either Meow or Physicians Formula Healthy Wear with SPF50)
    #3-Mascara (whatever drugstore brand I’m using at the moment)
    #4-Blush or Contour (MAC or a Meow/Aromaleigh sample)
    #5-lipbalm with a hint of tint (Epically Epic!)

  29. 1. Moisturiser or a moisturising primer
    2. Concealer
    3. Blush
    4. Eyebrow pencil
    5. Mascara

  30. If I simply canNOT be bothered:

    1) Moisturiser
    2) Sobe’s Oil Control powder
    3) Lip balm

    If I’m a little bit bothered:

    1) Moisturiser
    2) Sassy foundation in Neutral Medium
    3) Lip balm
    4) Mascara
    5) Tart OR Apparition blush from Sassy

  31. I’m basically almost always late for work every night and never have time to do makeup. But you named off everything that I always put on.

    Moisturizer, always.
    Gloss.
    Matte Powder.
    Mascara, if I have enough time.

  32. For me, it’d have to be:

    1. sunscreen with a high SPF. I burn very easily.
    2. Eyeshadow primer
    3. Eyeshadow
    4. Powder
    5. Lipgloss

  33. Eyebrow powder, mattifying powder, eyeliner, mascara, lipbalm. Though I can leave the house without any makeup.

  34. I honestly can count on one hand the times I’ve put on full makeup in the last few years. If I decide to put on makeup, though, it’s mostly centered around my eyes. I don’t like foundation on me.

    Moisturizer and lip balm are my only “musts” before leaving the house, so I’m not dry and flaky.

    Tinted brow gel, shimmery champagne eyeshadow and mascara if I feel like I want to look “prettier” that day.

    If I have a special occasion, I usually use really bright, fun eyeshadow colors:-)

  35. 1. Moisturizer + spf (Pale and proud!)
    2. Meow Pampered Puss foundation in Inquisitive Chausie
    3. Lip balm / gloss / stick
    4. sunglasses – I’m super light sensitive
    5. vanilla perfume oil

    Do you happen to know where I can find that pink bag? Pink + cats = <3!

  36. It seems I either go out with no make up on or use about 10 different products 😀 I had difficult time choosing just five but here they are:
    1) moisturizer with SPF
    2) mineral foundation
    3) blush or bronzer
    4) mascara
    5) lipgloss

  37. I always wear eyeliner, so it’s difficult for me to skip it!
    So
    1- I have dry skin, so moisturizer, in summer with SPF

    2- Liquid eyeliner, black or bright if I don’t wear anything else (NYX studio liquid eyeliner in extreme blue, for ewample)

    3- Concealer, as I have rednesses (but if I have NO time, that’s the step I skip)I useone from Essence,or a stick from Bobby brown.

    4- A bit of powder to mattify, I use mineral fondation or the T. Leclerc one (Love the retro packaging)

    5- Tinted(epically epic)lipbalm or MLBB lipstick, works better for me than blush to brighten my face. I recommand the shiseido twist lip crayon, you can easily apply it walking, or in the bus/car/metro !

    🙂

  38. Ooh la, excited for the idealist review!
    For me I always want to have: sunscreen, concealer, mascara, brow (pencil/powder) and lip balm.
    Pretty boring haha

  39. Some days even the thought of wearing foundation makes me itchy and uncomfortable! However, I usually wear a tinted moisturizer with SPF20 to work, sometimes only Olay SPF15 facecream, usually mascara and brow powder or pencil, but sometimes crazy eyeshadow, eyeliner, the works!
    I guess I’d summarize it this way – if I don’t feel like wearing any make-up then I simply don’t – sometimes even no mascara. I’ve never had a problem with that, infact I enjoy not wearing any.

  40. I hardly ever wear anything on my face, but the five things I wear for quick out-and-have-to-look-tidy-look would be:

    1: Moisturizer (I’m looking for a tinted one, thinking maybe I should just make my own)
    2: Coraline’s Kiss lipstick
    3: Mascara
    4: Concealer (Meow’s under-eye concealer)
    5: A wash of a shimmery brown on my lids

  41. Moisturizer
    Sunscreen
    Foundation
    Shadow (just white highlight shade under browbone)
    Mascara

    That’s my 3 minute face.

  42. I don’t even think I have 5 products. D:
    I’ve got my moisturizer with SPF, eyeliner, and lip balm. I typically don’t have time for a “full face”, so that’s it for me. Only 3 products. :p

  43. I normally use more than five products, because I like to use makeup. If I have to pick only 5, those are.

    1. Moisturizer
    2. Mineral Foundation
    3. Mascara
    4. Blush
    5. Lipgloss or Lipstick

  44. I don’t really wear a lot of ‘base’ products, so when I use more than 5 things, it’s because of different eyeshadows. I haven’t found a primer that my skin liked so far.

    1. Moisturizer
    2. Mineral Foundation
    3. Powder
    4. Blush
    5. Mascara

  45. The only things I normally wear are:

    1. Physician’s Formula concealer just on blemishes
    2. A dust of Jane Iredale mineral pressed powder in Light Beige
    3. Ganache for Lips balm (prefer the vanilla or lemon flavors)
    4. Dabbed on lipstick in a dark brick red shade (just enough to stain the lips and add a flush of color)
    5. And I do like mascara when I have time but often times eye makeup will irritate my contacts so I don’t often do shadow, liner, mascara etc. though I do have lots of eye goodies to play with when in the mood. If I wear shadow it is usually some type of neutral earth tone as it looks best with my complexion. Shades like Bacio, Seed Pearl, Foxglove, soft sage greens, creamy browns, etc. are usually best though I’ve found light frosty rose/mauve like Inglot 399 to be good too.

  46. i never wear much makeup, just some colorful lipstick and a little mascara when i’m going somewhere nice. I am fine leaving the house no matter what I look like, as long as I’m not wearing pants. But if I have time, I like this:
    1. this awesome moisturizer http://www.lushusa.com/shop/products/face/moisturisers/cosmetic-lad
    2. whole foods lip balm, or metallurgy lip color from portland black lipstick company
    3. my hair dyed (ok, so that’s not really face, but I don’t really feel a need to wear makeup that much).

  47. 1. Moisturizer with SPF
    2. Dusting of Meow Pampered Puss Foundation
    3. Aromaleigh You’re a Doll finishing powder in Parfait
    4. Blush (usually Aromaleigh Breathless or Firewoman)
    5. Mascara

    That is my usual on the go natural look! I only really wear more than that when I want to look fancy, but usually i’ll add on a bit of black winged liner on my upper lashline!

  48. 1.acne cream..sweat and dirt wreak havoc on my pores at work
    2. Facial moisturizer..it has retinol and an software even though I work indoors..it also prevents the acne cream from drying out my face.
    3. mascara..if I don’t a bunch of dudes ask me what’s wrong? Was I crying? Did I have a fight with my fiance? Why do I look so tired?did my fiance keep me up all night?
    4. Lipbalm.
    5. …..Pepsi Max..caffeine is Good for your skin!

  49. 1) Moisturizer w/ SPF

    2) primer

    3) concealer – I have sinus problems from the dry climate here, so there are areas around my nose that are perpetually red

    4) brow powder (I was a teenager in the 90’s and unfortunately, would pluck my eyebrows very thin. Some parts never grew back. Also, they’re kind of pale and sparse.)

    5) balm or gloss, whichever is in my pocket 🙂

    If I could add a 6th, I guess I would also include mascara. But since I tend to wear glasses 80% of the time, this is only a must if I’m wearing contacts. Otherwise, mascara will leave a black film on my glasses.

  50. 1. Lip Balm

    2. Eyeshadow primer

    3. Matte brown shadow for my brows

    4. My Kat Von D pallette.

    5. Hand lotion.

    Yay!

  51. I’ve been known to leave the house only with sunscreen and lip balm on, frankly. Sometimes I add more product, but usually only mineral skincare powder (like Aromaleigh Nocturne) and a gloss. I have the tendency to go all-out if I’m not being lazy, it’s hard to catch me looking “inbetween”. ^_^;

  52. Hm. I typically don’t do much of anything, though I spend a lot of time on concealer.

    1. Biore Moisturizer
    2. Concealer (Chromographic Pencil NC30/NW25 or Bye Bye Under Eye)
    3. Maybelline Dream Matte Powder

    And it seems that a defined brow is very important to many people, but I actually don’t like the full-brow look. I have short brows, but I don’t mind it. They don’t make me look old due to sparseness, I will always look young because of my crazy Asian genes . . . I don’t know. I don’t tend to like thick brows on anyone else, either. They tend to look bushy, or like rectangles, too controlled, to managed, and filling them in is always a danger. I just have better luck leaving them alone altogether.

  53. 1. Origins Vitazing Moisturiser

    2. MAC Studio Fix powder

    3. Korres Lip Butter

    4. Blusher

    5. BPAL Perfume

  54. I’m one of the lip balm crew, too – that’s about all I really need. I slap on some moisturizer in the winter and fall, maybe some SPF in the summer. 🙂

  55. Only 5 ouch!

    1. An spf
    2. primer
    3. powder foundation
    4. tinted lipbalm
    5. a neutral shimmery shadow

  56. SPF moisturizer, mascara and blush. I stopped using eyeshadow since my eyelash extensions frame my eyes so well. I only use mascara for my bottom lashes. Loving the simplicity. 🙂