Make Up Forever HD Creme Blush

My blush hording knows no bounds.  Last time I was into Sephora I poked around.  I really try to stay away from MUFE, but after watching a video from Lisa Eldridge I was very curious about the ‘new’ HD blushes they had.

HD Microfinish Blush combines mattifying and reflecting powders to create a soft-focus effect for a radiant complexion. Its ultra-fine, second-skin texture blends seamlessly, imparting a healthy glow that’s hard not to notice.

Normally, MUFE goes by numbers, rather then shades.  I was under the impression that that was the case with these blushes as well.  I sat and swatched a few of them and ended up really liking #5, which looked like a fairly lovely and clear pink, not too dusty and not too bright.  It wasn’t until I got home and sat to look things up on the Sephora site that I saw that they’d actually given the collection names.

#5 has the unfortunate name of Nip Slip, there are a total of 14 shades.  The blush comes in a small pump jar and contains0.33 ounces for 25$.

The blushes themselves are very concentrated, so even though I knew that and that I would only need a very small amount, I was still unprepared for how VERY little I did need.  It took a bit, but I experimented a little with a dab on the back of my hand to see how much gave what sort of application.  It’s great because you can go from very sheer to more dramatic easily.  I would say, though, that it is not for the blush novice.  If you make a mistake and apply too much, there really isn’t a good way to tone it down other then to redo that area of your foundation, etc etc.  You can blend a little foundation over it to tone it down, however, that is only if you’ve only slightly over done it.

I found the creme easy to work with, that is it blended easily and didn’t set too quick.  Once it is set it’s good for hours and on my basically normal cheeks it lasted all day without fading or creasing.

It was a bit of trial and error for me application wise.  Dotting it on with a finger and then patting it on carefully works really well.  I then buff over it with a Sigmax brush to blend the edges and buff it into my foundation to make it look more natural.  Since the finish is a cream and there is no shimmer or glitter the end result is a natural looking flush.  There is a common misconception that creme or liquid blushes aren’t suitable for oily skin, and this simply isn’t the case.  My cousin who has very oily and problem skin loves this blush, it doesn’t migrate and it looks natural.

Conclusion

Would I purchase this blush again? Yes, even though I know it’s going to be impossible to use this little jar.

The colors are clear and there is a wide variety of shades.

The blush looks natural.

It’s easy to use and to blend.

15 Responses to “Make Up Forever HD Creme Blush”

  1. Victoria Vague April 13, 2011 at 3:43 pm

    I don’t usually wear blush, even though I’m always told that I should, so I look less pale, sickly and dead. I quite like the look of number 9. I’m not sure the more pink ones would suit my skin tone, but I’m generally clueless on these matters.

  2. Looking at the swatches, I chose the same shade you did. I’ve never had any luck with non-powder blushes, though. I’m fair, and with the rosacea, I already look like I’m blushing, so adding more to it makes me look like a third-rate news anchor. (Women news anchors always go for that REALLY red blush – it looks like they’ve just been slapped.)

  3. Who the heck came up with / approved that name?! I could never buy it for that reason alone. Sheesh.

  4. I wonder if they were “inspired” by NARS’ blush names?

  5. I’ve recently gotten curious about creme blushes (like, literally, I was the store this morning looking them over), so this review was just perfect! Thanks for the info, especially about how it was a little difficult to use. I think I’ll stay away from this.

    I have to admit, the names are a little crass for my liking.

  6. I like the shade “Walk of Shame” and, like you, I’m not crazy about the name either. Actually, almost all of the names sound like they were chosen by a 14 year old trying to be “edgy”.

  7. I like the shade you chose. It looks pretty on your skin.

  8. The shade is a classy pink and very soft, it looks nice!

  9. Just curious, why do you usually stay away from MUFE?

  10. Such a pretty colour! I’ll never be able to shake my affection for this brand, if any non-indie brand still tempts me, it’s this one.

  11. I know it’s not the same, but I recently purchased Inglot AMC Face Blush and I love it! I hope one day I’ll try MUFE HD blush, it looks gorgeous! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Daily Cookie - April 16, 2011

    […] Gothique shows us a beautiful crème blush that would look just perfect for summer! […]

  2. Greyscale | Gothique - November 21, 2011

    […] like how the pink looks, even if it’s not exactly believable.  In this case it’s MUFE’s HD blush in #5, I love cream […]