Counter Attack

I’ve recently had the good fortune to have trained with Clinique, Estee Lauder, and Lancome.  I found a few products that I was interested in enough to pick them up.  For the next few weeks I’ll be reviewing higher end things.  I realize not everyone can afford 50$ shadow palettes (let alone three), but so many people have asked for me to share more about ‘me’ and what I do.  Being a stylist of course doesn’t mean you need to buy high end things ALL the time, but in my particular case… I do use them a lot.

I’ll be reviewing things like:

  • Lacome Foundations
  • Chanel Foundations and Blushes
  • Clinique Foundaitons
  • Lancome Color Design Palettes (Coral Crush, Sienna Sultry, and Taupe Craze)
  • Nars Shadow Duos
  • Nars Blushes
  • Estee Lauder Double Wear Eye Products
  • Estee Lauder Facial Care Products
  • Lancome Lip Glosses
  • Givenchy Blush
  • Guerlain Metrorites
  • Laura Mercier Tightlining Cake
  • Tarte Amazonian Blushes

Now, I need your help.  I’m really interested in new INDIE brands that I can try and review.  So… let me know if you’ve stumbled across any!

35 Responses to “Counter Attack”

  1. There are a few that I’ve tried and liked, and some that I’m sure if they repackage? I won’t give away which is which, but instead just give you some names. I’d love to know what you think of them! All of the following are on Etsy:
    Harlot Cosmetics, Spectrum Cosmetics, The Copper Bee, Sweet Pea & Fay, and Rock A Betty Beauty.

  2. Ever try Raving Beauty cosmetics?
    There’s Eco Glo minerals as well.
    Riche Cosmetics.
    Dramamamaz.

    Many people have said that Strobe Cosmetics is repackaged but I am not sure. Maybe you can tell us
    ^ – ^

  3. I’d like to know how some of the higher-end stuff stacks up to drugstore brands! I’ve tried something by CoverGirl, and then have gotten samples from Shiseido, Estee, and Lancome, but the Lancome and Shiseido both made my skin feel super-heavy and oily. Estee Lauder is great, but it tends to be too sheer! x.x

    I’m glad you’re doing foundation reviews, since I’m out of them now. I’ll have to look back through your posts about concealers.

  4. Ooh, sounds interesting! I think sometimes there are some things worth splurging on… I got the Estee Lauder Double Wear powder foundation recently and I’m in love with it. I’m testing one of their lipsticks too, and it’s pretty good.

    Looking forward to this!

  5. Ah the days when I used to be able to afford makeup from a counter! I agree with eight’s comment that some things are worth the splurge because in the end they seem to save money.

    They are bigger than some but I still consider them indie – ever tried Alima Pure?
    http://www.alimapure.com/

  6. I second Sweet Pea & Fay, and then there’s Antoinette’s Revolution Cosmetics [https://www.facebook.com/AntoinettesRevC ], and soon (May 1st I believe) Rockeresque Beauty [http://www.rockeresque.com/ ] will have its grand opening too!

  7. Rock a Betty Beauty is a good one. High Voltage Cosmetics isn’t really new, but they have a new Norse Mythology collection that’s really nice.

  8. I’d love to see you review Venemous Cosmetics or Lost In Makeupland.

    I’m really glad you’re doing a foundation series, I seem to have no luck with face products! Either it doesn’t work for my skin type, or it doesn’t match my skin tone 😦 I was thinking of going down to Estee Lauder and getting matched to some DoubleWear and just cough up the exhorbitant Australian prices, that’s how desperate I am :/ I found an OK match in Sassy Minerals’ foundation, but my skin gets so oily it doesn’t always last very well when I’m at work.

    On that note, are there any bloggers with olive and/or oily skin you could reccommend? It would really help me with my concealer/foundation searching 🙂

    • I honestly don’t read many beauty blogs to know. I tend to stay away so I’m not influenced by anyone else.

    • The one beauty blogger I know of with olive undertones is the Non Blonde, she also writes beautifully and like taking pictures of her cats. Good luck!

  9. Well, while I can’t afford them (and probably won’t for the good part of my life, since taxes here are a b*tch) I am interested in knowing your opinion on this products.

    I haven’t been buying much eyeshadow and most indies I come across sell mostly that, so I have nothing to suggest. :/

    • (Oh, and I’d love to know what you think of SoBe’s foundation, too. I’ve been using it and really liking it, but it would be nice to hear the opinion of someone with more experience ^^)

      • I think Lex might be sending some with my latest order!

        • Yay! ^^ Both the loose powder and the mousse one are loved by me. 🙂 I recently bought the liquid one as well! Yaaay! Can’t wait!

          (Oh, thanks for linking to my post on the last Friday I’m in love! ^^ I forgot to thank you!)

          Ok, I’ll stop flooding hahaaha!

  10. Oooh, you’re getting all fancy on us, eh? This’ll be fun to watch- thanks for allowing us to live vicariously through you ❤

    Curious to see your opinion on Bokeh Face and Dark Heart Designs (both MMU co's on Artfire as well as Etsy), also maybe Black Rose Minerals or Moi Minerals (the former on their own website and the latter on Etsy)? Not sure how "new" they all are but they're so new to me I haven't gotten round to ordering from them yet! I'm also getting a LOT better at this whole "no buy" thing! 😀

  11. Jadore Noir cosmetics on ETsy?

    • Sorry also VOX cosmetics, perhaps? I’ve sampled only a couple things from each and would like to know what others think.

  12. One that I’d really like to know about it scardey cat cosmetics–I got a sample of an eyeshadow, and it looked nice, but the texture of it felt….squeaky? Sheer? I’d like to think that they don’t repackage considering how gorgeous their packaging actually is, but I’m having a hard time justifying an actual purchase based on the sample I do have.

  13. It’s awesome that you had that opportunity Grey. I look forward to all your upcoming reviews, as always;-)

  14. I have never heard of Laura Mercier tight lining cake. I want to know more! Good good x

  15. I was a MUFE-aholic for most of the 90s, and wore Stila for awhile back when it was a newer brand, then discovered NARS. Ironically, I dropped all those brands (except for my brushes and my MUFE concealer) for indie ones.

    The one area I suppose the indie brands can’t quite touch is the aura and packaging of some of those big brands…though I’m sort of over the black and white thing (overdone at this point!). I won’t spend the money on them now, but I still admire the simple beauty of a Chanel product, and the classic feel of Estee Lauder compacts, especially when they roll out the commemorative ones. I just can’t, in good conscience, pay money for their cosmetics.

    Skincare is another matter – I will pay for that, but I try to stick to more naturally-oriented brands – for awhile it was Ren and Ole Henriksen (both of which are pretty pricey, and while Ren was pleasant to use, it wasn’t that effective, and Ole is even MORE expensive, though I still like a couple of their products) – I’ve since switched to Juice Beauty and actually REALLY like it, and it’s somewhat less pricey than those brands, and not as hard to get in the EU as I had thought it would be.

  16. I would love to see you review PBLC http://portlandblacklipstickco.com/products/ The products look really awesome, but I never see any reviews or anything. They have an etsy shop too, but only a few products http://www.etsy.com/shop/pdxblacklipstickco?ref=seller_info&show_panel=true

  17. I appreciate your high end reviews. I think low end is fine for some things, but I can’t get over the gross horrible smells of low end lip products. This puts me off of buying more. I LOVE Estee Lauder lipsticks — the new crystal infusion lipsticks are so moisturizing. Lancome’s lipsticks are drying and smell bad, too. You’d save me money from having to try out these products. I do like Indie lip products.

    • Have you checked out the Silk Naturals lip products? I find they don’t really have any scent at all (I’m not keen on scenty stuff either, as a rule) and the textures are lovely! 🙂

  18. Herbolution on etsy. They make these fantastic soap-free facial cleansing grains. 🙂

  19. Unfortunately i haven’t seen any indie companies that I’m interested in…although i admit, I haven’t been looking since there are so many I already love, so I’m not really interested.

    I’m really excited to see what you have to say about Clinique products. My mom worked part time at Macys when I was a teen/pre-teen so she was always getting sweet discounts at the makeup counters. Her favorite brand was Clinique then so whenever there was some “spend $$ get free gift” deal she always brought me along to pick something out. My favorite HG blush was Mocha Pink up until a few years ago. I found that their face products have always been wonderful, ESPECIALLY on troubled skin, which nearly everyone has at that age.

  20. Hi,
    Long time lurker, first time commenter (lame I know). Sadly I have no indie companies to suggest b/c I find them all through you & phyrra but I had did have 2 questions off topic. On the high end note have you tried/what do you think of Illamasqua? 2. Can you give any words of advice (for or against) starting a beauty blog or point me to any pages? I would like to be helpful but want to make sure I can do it, my concerns are time (how long does it take weekly/ or on a post basis) & taking pictures, how to & how expensive of a camera/what features do I need. If you have the time to reply if its fine & you can consider this a long rambling delurker hello lol!
    Thanks Jen
    Ps obvs I think you do a great job here & look forward to your upcoming reviews both high end & indie

    • There is a little search thing up top, you can type in Illamasqua to get my ONE and only review on them. I do have a few more things I plan on reviewing, but so far I’m not crazy about them.

      I honestly have no advice other then just to write. I personally work on my blog a few hours a day, either writing, researching, or actually playing with makeup. It’s something I probably spent at least 20 hours on a week, if not more if I’m testing something or looking into a company.

      I have a really expensive Canon Rebel and well as a Canon 14.1. I use both, but it’s the one thing I would NOT scrimp on. I think it’s something every blogger and indie company should have.

      If you have any other questions, please email me!

      • Thanks for the quick reply to my rambling questions, bummed to hear illamasqua isnt all that as i ordered some things recently but oh well if it doesnt work thats what returns are for. thanks for the advice on blogging i think i will do as you suggest and practice whilst saving for a camera and keep it offline for now. thanks again jen
        ps sorry for the all lower case i seem to be having a caps fail

  21. I really like Just Pure Minerals concealer (used as foundation) and Moi Minerals foundation (though it’s very sheer). They’re rather unknown brands though probably not new.

  22. I hope its not too late for suggestions!

    http://www.carmindy.com/ – this is not indie, but it’s a newer company. Carmindy from what not to wear’s make up line that I believe you can find in drugstores.

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/BadHabitMinerals – they seem inexpensive even by indie standards, I’d love to get a professional’s opinion.

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/BokehFace – Seen this around…I have no clue how to pronounce the name!