Double Double

Toil and trouble?

Animal Style?

No, Double Wear.  I’m completely entranced with Estee Lauder’s line of Double Wear cosmetics.  The foundations, both Double Wear and Double Wear Light, are among my few HG products.  I had been meaning for a very long time to try other things, but it wasn’t until recently that I have, falling in love with the lip liner as well.  That stuff does not budge.  I figured, heck, let’s see if  some of the other stuff is as amazing!  You know what? It is.

Double Wear Stay-in-Place ShadowCreme


Creme eyeshadow delivers intense color that lasts up to 15 hours and goes on fast.

Long-Wear, Stay-True Color
It’s stay-true color at your fingertips with matte to demi-pearl finishes.

* Creamy formula goes on smoothly, blends easily.
* Seamless coverage won’t crease or fade.
* Can be worn alone or layered under powder eyeshadow.

For all skin types and ideal for mature skin as it minimizes pulling and tugging of the delicate eyelid

The first one of these I got was in Pink Blush a gorgeous and very light baby pink.  I loved it so much that I went out to see Desiree to get another and she mentioned a lot of shades were discontinued and that there were a lot of new ones available.  Curious, I asked if she had any of the old stock left and I was lucky enough that she had Precious Jade left over, which I had seen used in a Pixiwoo video.  I love the gold based green hue.

Left to right : Pink Blush and Precious Jade

Each shadow is $17.50 for a .17 ounce/.5 gram jar.

I really like the texture of these, which are a little softer then say… a MAC Paint Pot.  They set quickly, so you have to blend them or work with them quickly, but the wear is superb.  I really like applying it as a base to build with, but it also works GREAT on it’s own.  One of my favorite ways to wear it is on the lid blended with a bronzer (or a blush) into the crease for depth and a little on the lower lash line.  Even without a liner it’s a great look!

The box claims ’15 hour staying power’, and I might be inclined to agree.  While I’ve never HAD to wear it that long, it’s never worn off or creased on me during the day.

Possibly the simplest thing that I appreciate about this shadow is that that jar closes shut tightly so you never have to worry about the product drying out.

Have you tried these?  What did you think?

12 Responses to “Double Double”

  1. Oooh, pretty! I’ve never tried any of these.

  2. Never tried them out, but I looooooooooooove those colors!

  3. I think I am going to need to take a trip down to my Estee Lauder counter and check these out!

  4. I have a serious cream eyeshadow fetish that is making me want to check these out now, both are beautiful. I picked up the DL light in a box deal thanks to your post & am impressed. Also got the pink/teal double ended shadow stick which is amazing, comporable to the Urban Decay 24/7 shadow sticks but a wayyyyy better deal IMO. Thanks for the review 🙂 Jen

  5. I haven’t tried these, but I’m really impressed with the EL products I bought recently. I think the Double Wear Powder Makeup is my HG!

  6. Pink blush is so cute!

  7. Oh man. My mom left me two small shadow trays. They were either Clinique or EL (I can’t find a picture online, the packaging is nearly 13 years old anyway). They weren’t these exact shades, but very close: a soft & pearly pink, and a more matte moss sort of green. I wore them TO DEATH, I want to run out and get this right now!

  8. I’ve been loving EL recently. I just got their Radiant Peach blush and it’s awesome. I didn’t know they had these cream shadow though. Benefit’s are my HG but the are (a teensy bit) cheaper!

  9. I tried Double Wear Light foundation based on your review and love it! So now I guess I will have to go get some of these Double Wear Eye creams – I am digging the Precious Jade.

  10. Omg! Do want! It sounds so amazing! Ahhh! I wish I could try Estee Lauder here, but there are no stores of it x.x

  11. Precious Jade is gorgeous. Is that one of the discontinued shades?

  12. hi,

    first time commenting on a beauty blog … hi hi. i love EL shadowcreme. it has the nicest texture and so easy to apply. i also have some MAC, BB, MUFE, the Balm and Benefit. my most fav would be EL, Benefit and MUFE and my least fav is MAC (mine dries out really fast in its pot) and application is not as smooth though the color is lovely.