It’s Friday, I’m in Love

So Sakura!

Finally!  We have some winners!

The winner of the So Sakura look contest is Nekku!

The runners up are Rai and Karoliina!

Congratulations everyone, please email me at – contact [.] gothique [at] gmail [.] com and comment here!

Stila

The winner of the Stila palette is:

Real Techniques

I got the opportunity to get some of the Real Techniques brushes from Sam of Pixiwoo, along with enough to host a giveaway.  I’ve never really reviewed many brushes before, though.  So I’m working on a method. It’s going to be slow and… methodical.  Hopefully I can start reviewing more brushes, because it seems to be a very commonly requested thing!  I’ll start with the Real Techniques and move on to the Sephora synthetic airbrush series.

Easter

Hoppy Easter!  Being a Catholic, Easter is one of my favorite times of the year.  I realize that the holiday has been trivialized and turned into an opportunity for the more vapid to claim it’s nothing more then an day to wear a pretty dress, but to me it’s a serious celebration so I hope you realize how very honestly I wish you a very happy weekend, no matter what your religion or lack there of!

The Links

Jim explains British slang.

This is crazy.

My everyday look.  For reals.

Phyrra uses the Estee Lauder pencils I love.

I don’t eat Jell-o, but you should.

These are cute, but I would never buy MAC again.

Veganized this and it was good.

Must.  Decorate.  Peeps.

Cacau does more lip swatches!

Your Turn

So I got myself a Clarisonic.  Do you have one?  What sort of products do you use yours with?  Do you like it?

Sephora had a nice 15% off sale this week. I was shameless.  What did you get if anything?

37 Responses to “It’s Friday, I’m in Love”

  1. Yay congratulations to the winners! All of your looks are soooo lovely _>

    Happy Easter to you too, Grey! 🙂

  2. Grats ladies! I absolutely loved the shading and flowers in Nekku’s look. So perfectly executed.

    I saw Sam’s brushes in my latest Ulta flyer. Awfully curious about those 🙂

  3. Victoria Vague April 22, 2011 at 1:21 pm

    Congrats everyone, beautiful looks 😀

  4. Congrats to the winners! Such lovely looks!

    I got a Clarisonic in December and I can’t imagine how I ever survived without it. I use the sensitive skin brush heads, and use it with whatever my cleanser-of-choice happens to be at the time (which right now is the SUPER Acai). It gets off every last fleck of makeup and leaves my face super super clean, and I feel like my serums and moisturizers penetrate better after using it. (Though I will say, I wish I had held off buying because now they make it in WAY MORE COLOURS.)

  5. Gratz to the winners 🙂

    I too, was shameless with the Sephora 15% off sale.
    Tokidoki, Urban Decay, Too Faced…. things came home, and some were gifts.

  6. Yaaaay! I knew she would win, her make-up was perfect! 😀
    Congratulatiooons! 😀

    I loved the elevated cat-eye look. Shame I can barely wear eyeliner in my everyday life hahaha XD

    Also, a very very happy easter and passion day! ^^ I hope you have a great time with your loved ones!

    Thanks for the linking! ^^ Hahaha, I’m a lip swatcher Muahahaaha! XD

    Many many hugs!

  7. Yay congrats to the winners! I loved this contest and really enjoyed checking out everyone’s creativity. Perhaps one day, in a galaxy far, far away, I’ll get up the courage to throw in an entry myself.

    I’m excited to read your review of the Real Techniques brushes. I’ve heard mixed opinions so far and am curious how you feel about them.

    I almost took advantage of the Sephora sale but then saw the Zoya sale and spent all my money there. Love.

  8. Don’t have sephora in the uk but Debenhams department store has a 10% sale on all make-up right now and I bought a clinique chubby stick and the UD 15th anniversary pencil set (which was actually more than 10% off!) yay! x

  9. Congratulations winners!! That was some of the hardest voting I’ve ever done.

    Okay I actually have laughter tears from watching that British slang video. “Why do I keep having a pretend gun?”

  10. Those looks are all gorgeous 🙂

    I have a Clarisonic – I really like it, too 🙂

  11. Congrats to the winners!

    Hehe just watched Jim’s hilarious video and I think I’m going for the South West Scottish one next.

    Happy easter!

  12. Congratulations Nekku!
    You had my vote all the way- very well done!

  13. I managed to restrain myself during Sephora’s sale! All I got was Kat Von D’s concealer (because they had a promo and I got a free brush when I bought it). I am proud of myself 8D

    Happy Easter, Grey!

  14. w00t, all three winners were amongst my favourites 😀 !

    Happy Easter to you, too!
    It’s one of my favourite holidays (I love all family-centric ones when you create something) – I’ve enjoyed painting eggs today.
    And this year, the catholic and the orthodox are at the same time, so it’s an extra happy occasion around here 😀 .

    Rainbow eggs, so much fun!

  15. so glad you liked the Bunny Bait…and thanks so much for the link!!!

  16. This is really only in regard to the English Alphabet video….

    I was really amused by this, mostly because, I actually knew most of these. Although I’ve never been to the UK, I’m a big soccer fan, and a big fan of various shows on BBC America (Ab Fab, The inbetweeners, anything with Chef Ramsey, etc) and listen to a lot of music that originated there. Between all the English soccer movies,British TV, and music I’m very familiar with Cockney rhyming slang.

    I found it disturbing how much I’ve picked up from media.

    However….try listening to a person from Birmingham or Liverpool speak. It’s completely different and somewhat difficult to understand. I bet there will be a video for every UK dialect popping up now

  17. Clarisonic, I did buy a Clarisonic and loved it at first. However, after awhile, it made some of the pores on my chin bigger, and it gave me skin tags on my neck and body. So, I don’t use it anymore. I did use Philosphy’s Purity Cleanser with it.

    I did take advantage of Sephora’s 15% off sale, and I bought the 4 oz size of Algenist moisturizer (they use a new algae ingredient that a tech company discovered). The problem is that I had just used a sample, and I thought it would be great because some people were saying they had great results. So, I sampled it for 2 days, ordered online because the 2 oz size is $95 and 4 oz size is $130. 4 oz is a better deal. And, after I ordered it, I started breaking out. I have 4 or 5 cystic acnes on my face, and I only had one little one before that. So, as soon as I get it, it will be going back. I was also looking for a cheaper alternative to my La Prairie Skin Caviar and Concealer Foundation. I bought Paula Dorf foundation. It’s not bad, but I don’t love it like I love my La Prairie. So, it has been a cosmetic fail for me lately. Everyone think good thoughts for my skin for the next 2 weeks.

    On a better note, I will be in Las Vegas in 2 weeks for a technical conference, and I will be staying at Harrah’s. I realized there is an Inglot in Las Vegas and it is right across the street from my hotel. I’m hoping to get a bit of time to run over there and check things out!

  18. I just bought the clarisonic. So far it’s working well and really gives me a deep clean.

  19. Congratulations to the winners, and may you have an excellent weekend as well.

    I showed restraint and did not get anything from Sephora this time. Didn’t even go near a shop. 🙂 I already have enough beauty products to last for a long while after I grabbed a few limited edition Philosophy shower items from Sephora last month (Salt Water Taffy set and Sugar Chick — lucky as they sold out fast) and took advantage of recent Body Shop and Bath & Body Works super sales.

  20. Jules Noctambule April 22, 2011 at 5:03 pm

    I’ve celebrated both Passover and Easter in the past during this time of year, and I have to say I’m much happier now that we celebrate nothing! So much easier not to deal with all the events and food restrictions. My husband’s family celebrates Easter, being Catholics, but we’ve turned down the invite to brunch because of a death in my family.

    No Sephora binge for me this week; we got hit by a tornado last weekend and I’m happy just to have electricity again, never mind makeup!

  21. Congratulations ladies, gorgeous work.

    I’ve been really interested in seeing reviews on these brushes before they go on sale internationally, and hoping that the international shipping wont be killer. So I look forward to hearing your thoughts on them.

    I don’t celebrate Easter, as I don’t believe in celebrating things which have no meaning to me as I consider it disrespectful to those who do. But, it’s so truly refreshing to see someone say that Easter holds a special meaning for them, that it is still a sacred celebration. It saddens me how much culture is forsaken in these modern times. As someone who comes from a culture which was quite nearly destroyed, I can say with absolute certainty that people do not fully understand just what they are losing when they are robbed, or rob themselves, of those things they once held sacred. Holidays are not a time of pretty dresses or even the passing on of a fantastic pie recipe, and I do love me some pie, these are special times, times of a deeper more meaningful connection with not simply those we love, but the wider community. The passing on of history, the creation of memories, those precious moments held dear for a life time. And with this I say, I truly hope you have a fantastic weekend.

  22. Runaround Sous April 22, 2011 at 7:23 pm

    Lovely looks from the winners. Congratulations!

    That elevated cat eye tutorial was very inspiring. I learned some things that i can use from it… Thanks for posting.

    This Polish Catholic girl loves Easter, too. I’ve got babka and kolacki dough resting in the fridge, sausage… (pretty non-vegan, I know… But traditional for me. And I look forward to making them at this time of year.) looking forward to coloring eggs and going to Mass with the family.

    Easter blessings to you and yours!

  23. Congrats to the winner and the runners up! All VERY gorgeous FOTDs 🙂

  24. I love my Clarisonic. I’m currently using Yes to Blueberries restoring cleanser. I really like the Yes to… lines.

    I used my 15% off to get another Benefit creaseless shadow in Birthday Suit. I’m really loving the satiny finish of Benefit’s cream eyeshadows, but they tend to skew toward brown/tan in their regular color lineup. I wish they had a nice medium pink. I’m going to try Estee Lauder Double Wear very soon.

  25. I adore Easter. Not just because I get to wear a pretty dress (I’m not ashamed, it’s gorgeous. JC Penney’s had some vintage- looking dresses, and even though my little sister’s is better, mine is still pretty, darnit!) I love getting to go the the Easter church service and spending time with my family.
    I was quite shameless regarding the Sephora sale. I purchased Clinique’s “Pretty in Pinks and Plums” kit and a couple Clinique lippies. It was my first Clinique purchase and even though I haven’t got the chance to play with everything properly, I think I’m in love 🙂

  26. Congrats to the winners! It was so difficult voting, everyone’s looks were awesome!
    I went a little nuts at Sephora ;D I plan to have a swatch and review-fest now that I have the camera and my own computer set up, yay! I did want to say I got samples of a couple MUFE HD blushes because of your review- they look great and I can’t wait to try them out.

  27. Yay I voted for Nekku 🙂

    Happy Easter Grey!

  28. Congrats to the winners!

  29. I took advantage of the 15% sale!! I bought Yves Saint Laurent Teint Resist in 03 Opal, and Tarina Tarantino Pearl Glow Primer in Pearl Nude…. even with 15% off I still almost spent $100 on those TWO items! Talk about shameless… I told my boyfriend to look away while I paid for it, lol!

  30. Yay congrats to the winners!

    I bought something from Sephora but only stuff for a CP for someone!

  31. Congrats Nekku 🙂

  32. Oh I’m so happy Nekku won! I know I voted for her ❤
    Happy Easter!

  33. Oh, such wonderful news! All entries were so wonderful, I’m honoured. 🙂 A big thanks to everyone who voted. I’ll e-mail you asap.

    And thank’s for the link to Jimmy’s video, it’s superb. 🙂

  34. The Lenten fast is over, and I’m gonna make me some decorated Peep pops for Easter! Everyone, have a beautiful weekend!

  35. congratulations! The looks were amazing 🙂

  36. Everyone had such lovely entries, thanks for the nice contest and congrats! I dropped you an email, Grey.

  37. These looks were so pretty!